We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost everything was good except the water all over the room for 5 days :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #25 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost everything was good except the water all over the room for 5 days :-(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

For a 5-star Hotel, water in the rooms coming from the ceiling should not happen. Unfortunately we never got it fixed and our clothes and shoes were all wet. The rest was very good! Overall, very clean, food was excellent at the buffet and employees very good. The theme restaurant were fine but expected a little more from "Guacamole". Dora at the reception was the best!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Aderga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,618
    1,197
    317
    127
    82
See reviews for
1,267
2,551
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic hotel, first class service, food excellent, friendly staff who went out of their way to help.

The hotel had its own private beach area with sunbeds and umbrellas.

Bar staff served you without having to come out of the pool, in fact everything that could be done for their visitors enjoyment had been considered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 248Bethany2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was our 2 time in Riu Palace Mexico. This time was special- honeymoon!!! We got an upgrade to the ocean view. Food was exceptional as last time or even better . Restaurants are amazing!!! Drinks were so good, will come back for Mojitos for sure. People in this hotel are so nice!!!!
It was the best two weeks ever!!!
Will defenatly come back!!!
Love Riu Palace Mexico!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Olgakiss75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been spoiled - I really like staying at the Palace Resorts specifically Moon Palace (black level). So in comparison, here are my pros/cons:

PROS: Playa has incredible white sandy beaches and pretty blue water. (Did scuba for the first time here.) We've been here twice over Thanksgiving and the staff is wonderful (attentive and amicable). I am not much of a drinker, but have nothing negative to report such as I have heard from others complain (from different all-inclusives) about water-down drinks, they have brand-name liquor. The last time we stayed, the room was renovated - trendy style. Riuland is great for my (then) 3-year old son.

CONS: Selected times to eat at the restaurants other than the buffet. At the Moon, you do not have to do that. I do not like having to plan my day according to when we eat dinner. If we get the earlier reservation, that means I need to watch the clock to go wash up/get ready for dinner plus my toddler. During my last visit the pool water was gross. Like too much sunscreen was washed off, not getting filtered properly. I like to swim - wear goggles - and saw too much "stuff".

Taste of the food... I could go either way. Nothing special to note, but never got sick either! I believe there has to be some give... this is Mexico. I do not know of any food regulations for Mexico. And from what I have experienced, none are Michelin-starred and some people think a fine all-inclusive should be.. Some items are better than others of course.

Entertainment/Activity level: It is okay. It gets lively in the pool area in the mid-morning and dwindles down towards dinner time.There's a show at night for adults and I think nightly live music afterwards. The complex is not that big to wonder around. I am not a "spring-breaker" type, but felt it is quite mellow (again, compared to Moon).

Room Tip: I forget which direction of a room you should request. For instance, a north facing room and not bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jillian852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby On. Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived and were given a room facing the Jungle. I went back to the front desk and asked for a room with a view of the Ocean. We where given an upgrade without question or cost. The rooms are cast in Marble with sunken living rooms, jacquosi tub/shower. fully stocked Bar, HD tv, and good service. The food and Restaurants were good and above average with a great variety available. My wife had a Birthday while we were there and last minute plans where given to the Maitra de, well did the Hotel outdo themselves. A specialty Restaurant of steak and seafood, Champagne, A Beautiful Flower Bouquet and more. When we arrived back at our room the Flowers where already on the table and Chocolates on the bed. I cannot say enough for this Hotel and our experience there, it was Great.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Hotel entrance can make for a long walk to the pool or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Owlie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having stayed at the Riu club in Playacar the previous year decided to splash out on the Riu Palace next door. We had a fabulous time, outstanding service from all staff and pool side drinks being offered non stop!

The food was outstanding, well presented and always looked appetising whatever time of the day you decided to eat. Usually buffet style food can look like a dogs dinner after the first 1/2 hour. You also had the choice of Al la carte restaurants which made a change to be waited on and made more of an evening although the standard of buffet and Al la carte were equal. The variety in the buffet was outstanding, so difficult to choose! There is also a very nice coffee bar in the lounge bar serving cakes, good coffee and savoury rolls throughout the day and evening.

The hotel was refurbished last year with a contemporary style, may not be to everyone taste but clean and fresh. Bedrooms open plan with bath and basins not very practical, some things you just like to do in privacy! Although it wasn't a problem for us but should be noted that the toilet is very small, almost have to back in sit down and close the door, Without getting too personal larger sized people would struggle, very poor planning really as the rooms are quite large.

Love the Playacar area, very safe, clean and a wonderful beach. All in all a wonderful holiday.

There were a few small issues with small children who appeared to be left to there own devices, god knows who the parents were (and they wonder why accidents happen with children around pools) probably stretched on some sunbed hoping someone else deals with them. We heard that the management were aiming to attract more families but I personally feel the Rui Palace should aim for adults, there are plenty of hotels around to cater for children.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hazydaysKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Most importantly, the food at this hotel is just not worth the "all inclusive". These restaurants on site are just.....yuck. They also don't take into consideration that you are on holiday, and if you want to try the restaurants you have to wake up early in order to book it every morning! 7:45am!
My husband and I came here on our honeymoon and have never done an all inclusive before, and didn't realise that it meant a club med style place.....not what we are into but thought others may like to know...
Bottom line, wouldn't stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,287 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,451 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,330 reviews
12.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???L. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing