We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,176)
Filter reviews
6,176 results
Traveller rating
4,174
1,377
376
145
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,174
1,377
376
145
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la bodega palm trees don julian specialty restaurants courtyard view pool bar beds pushed together musty smell buffet restaurant hour lounge scuba caribe lobster gated community main buffet other resorts plenty of chairs playacar area
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 6,176 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

This was our 3 stay at a Riu property in Mexico and we chose to return to the Riu Palace Mexico after having a fantastic time there last year. We try not to go the same resort twice but after much research on other hotels we opted to return. I agree with all the previous comments about the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel and pool beach. The food was excellent as last year with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. However as a returning guest and comparing it to last years visit there were some disappointments. The entertainment staff were a bit lack luster compared to the staff last year. The only one that stood out was Raphael he was engaging, funny and worked darn hard. Also one day we couldn't go into the swim up bar as a group had practically taken it over to play beer pong. They were loud and obnoxious and the hotel staff let this go on for a considerable time. If I'd wanted a "party hotel" I could have gone to one and paid a lot less. We had a good holiday but it certainly didn't live up to last years experience. However this would not put me off staying at a Riu property in the future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
9  Thank CEM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

My partner,myself & 4 friendshave just returned from staying at the Riu Palace Mexico for 2 wonderful weeks .
Do not know where to begin.
Firstly ,Eduardo at reception was so friendly when we arrived. Then for the next 2 weeks would alys greet us by our names and ask if we need anything.
The room was great and looked out to the Yucatan hotel . The bath is fantastic and shower is great.
The beds are so comfy .the cleaners work endlessly and always are friendly. Our room was spotless and usually came back in the afternoon to a new towel decoration on our bed.They even decorated our room with balloons on my birthday .
The facilities are faultless. The hotel is so beautiful to look at from the bar to the pool area. The fountains pools give the impression of a palace. Which we think it is.
The pool area is brilliant . So clean and organised . The waiter service is spot on. You look up and there is a drink on offer . A huge thank you to Lazaro ,Martin & Sergio. .We were never thirsty while you were around.
Even in the beach they were attentive and so polite.had some great cocktails . Must have a Miami vice once there!
The swim up bar is brilliant. And unlike previous hotels we have visited ,no idiots taking the bar over.
The Cubano bar is so relaxing and cool . Great atmosphere and a pianist in the evening. So it is nice before going for a meal.
The waiter staff in the bar are great. Maribel ,Reme,& Little Jeromimo we’re brilliant .we were always greeted with a smile and forever asking how we were.
The restaurants are amazing from the buffet to the select restaurants. The cuisine restaurant was so nice and the food was great. The steakhouse & Mexican were also great.
Now the buffet restaurant. We can fault this at all. From the selection of food to the service.
My say a huge big thank you to our favourite ever waiters ,Edward & Roberto. We love these men! We always had a little laugh with them. Edward would always giggle with us. We will never forget his giggle. Roberto was always smiling and the minute we got to our table we had drinks waiting.
It was my birthday whilst there and Noe,one of the waiters organised the other waiters to sing to me and decorate our table. Then gave me a birthday cake. Noe made it so memorable. Thank you Noe.
The manager of the hotel was always friendly and forever walking around checking everything was ok.
We went to the other riu hotels in the area whilst there. The palace was by far the best. Went over to the tequila to go to “Pasha” the niteclub. Wasn’t too bad. Best thing was the air con. So need with the humidity outside.
We was there from the 27th September and had 2 days of rain on and off but not bad for 14 days.
So if you can afford a little extra ,try to stay here . Thus hotel is amazing.
Once again a big thank you to all the staff at the Riu palace Mexico for 2 weeks of luxury .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Princess315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

As every Riu Palace is Riu Palace Mexico super in all belongings: pools, beach, restaurants, comfortable rooms, service. We enjoyed every moment of our holiday but especially the new year celebration - Raul made it from the balcony in more than 50 languages.
We also booked very many excursions direct from hotel, everything perfect organized.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Olga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This property is stunning and very tastefully modern. We stayed in one of the junior suites on the ground floor, and loved the layout. We didn't mind a room that faced the Riu Yucatan next door, as the hedges were high and it was quiet and private when sitting on the terrace.
There are a few Agoulis that roam freely around the grounds, but they are not a bother, and not nearly as numerous as the packs coatis we saw running around and through the Riu Tequila when we visited that resort across the road.
The food here is absolutely incredible! We didn't visit the a la carte restaurants, as we thought Don Julian's buffet was worth going back to again and again. You know when you go to an all inclusive, you are usually tired of the buffet after a couple of days because it all starts to taste the same, but not here. Every night, they change it up, and there is so much variety to choose from, you can't go wrong. The best service we received for dinner, was during gala night and we had Eduardo and Roberto as our servers. These two men are incredible at what they do.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and smiled and looked genuinely happy to be there and part of the guest experience.
If you want bottled water on the property, bring it from your room, or ask the front desk. None of the bars have access to bottled water. The coffee bar makes great lattes and we preferred those to the coffee served in the buffet. If you like strong coffee, then you'll be fine in the buffet and like the in room coffee as well.
Our room was always very clean, our mini fridge always stocked up.
Service around the pools and at the beach is impeccable! You will not go thirsty, as the staff is always around to offer another drink.
There are plenty of beach chairs around the pools and on the beach. This isn't the kind of resort that you have to get up at the crack of dawn and put your towel on a chair to ensure you still have one by 10 am.
The only real downfall to the pool and beach area is the lack of washrooms in this area to accommodate. There is one men's and one ladies washroom beside the Guacamole restaurant and that was the only one we could find. This washroom also has to accommodate the beachgoers that come from the Riu Tequila as well.
We had a couple of very rainy weather days when we visited, but this is the chance you take when you book a vacation during this time of year. It didn't dampen our spirits, nor ruin our holiday. There is an umbrella in every room, so you can still go out and enjoy your day. We were told the weather usually holds out until around September 25th, before the rains. Tropical storm Nate was supposed to hit us on Friday night. Although it passed us by, the hotel was great at taking all necessary precautions and advising each room on their safety procedures and expectations from the guests.
Overall, we had an amazing vacation, loved the staff, the drinks, the food and the cleanliness of this resort. I'm not entirely sure what some of the people who complained about this resort were expecting, take it in with a grain of salt. We would definitely come back to the Riu Palace Mexico!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Stayed here from September 19th for 2 weeks. Check in was nice and easy got given refreshing fruit punch drink (Tequila optional). Room was ground floor open plan Jacuzzi bath (may not be to everyone’s liking) large walk in shower, separate toilet room, but still very spacious with separate seating area and good size balcony. Fridge well stocked with water, beer and soft drinks. Best of all 4 x 1Litre optic’s in a cabinet, rum, brandy, tequila and vodka. Huge bed which was comfy enough.
Had problem with damp after couple of nights due to the humidity spoke to Han’s in reception and he was kind enough to move us to 1st floor room after 3pm due check outs and new arrivals. Hotel was spotless cleaners at it 24hrs a day, beautifully kept lawns and gardens even had decorators in touching up any paint work along corridors.
Pool and beach area clean and spacious plenty of loungers so no need to get up at stupid o’clock to get your towel out LOL. If I’m being picky the same loungers that are around the pool area would be nice on the beach as slightly more comfortable. Bar service around the pool area is excellent and efficient. On the beach bar staff come round with a tray of variety of drinks for you to choose from.
Food and restaurants. The main buffet and pool restaurant had excellent staff and service. Big thank you to Santoyo and Ana in the outside buffet restaurant looked after us superbly (rose spritzer got it right every time). My partner is picky with her food but there is so much choice even she found something to eat most nights. Didn’t eat in any of the specialty restaurants so can not comment. Plenty of hand gel dispensers be nice if people encouraged to use them bit more.
Entertainment team could try harder to get people involved in fun, games and dancing. (Thanks Ceasar and Raphael for the dances and laughter) but its not always every guest kind of thing. There is an interactive touch screen in reception with a ‘whats on’ page. However the foam party on Tuesdays soon had everyone joining in. Entertainment in some of the other Riu’s has a little more atmosphere as the guest seemed to join in a little bit more in activities. Best evening entertainment was the Latin band some other acts where a little old school and not to many peoples taste.
On the whole AWESOME hotel and flagship for the Playacar area and we would definitely return again and recommend to friends. 9.5/10 with a few tweaks definitely a 10.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor are better and don't suffer as bad from the humidity. Subject to availability of course.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews