We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,939)
Filter reviews
5,939 results
Traveller rating
4,014
1,325
359
141
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,014
1,325
359
141
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla bodegapalm treesdon julianspecialty restaurantsgala nightcourtyard viewpool barbeds pushed togethermusty smellbuffet restauranthour loungescuba caribelobstergated communitymain buffetother resortsplenty of chairs
Filter
Updating list...
2,914 - 2,919 of 5,939 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our 19 month old and other family and friends. It was an excellent price for the money. The were only a couple negatives. The beds are two double beds pushed together to what they call a king bed and the bathroom needs to be revamped. The fixtures for the sink, toilet, bidet and shower are old. The shower/tub area is very dark. They need to add a light in it. But those are all minor things for me. The resort is very beautiful and they keep it immaculate. The beach is very long and wide with lots of chairs and palm trees. The staff were amazing. They were very friendly and always made sure you had everything you need. The pool is a little smaller, but very sufficient. It has a swim up bar on one side and an identical pool on the other with no bar. The two pools are separated by a walkway to the beach. We ate at Fusion, the Japanese and Steakhouse. The Japanese was our favorite. They start off with an excellent sushi plate. We loved the tempura shrimp and veggie appetizer. For main course, the beef and shrimp dishes were the best. The tempura icecream for dessert was great. Fusion was our least favorite, but had a great steak dish. The steakhouse was also very good. The beef was VERY tender and cooked just perfect. If you order dessert, get the Baked Alaska. Very good and entertaining. The buffet always had a wide variety of food. The make your own pasta station was great! Don Julian is the main buffet and only place open for breakfast. You have a few options at lunch, but Don Julian was the best. The drinks are weak, but who wants to be hammered the whole time and if you do, just ask for more alcohol. The mini fridge had four different hard liquors, beer, water and soda. The drinks were prepared the best in the bar by the lobby. The entertainment wasn't that great. It was hit and miss. Not much to do as far as kids activities. They had a very small kids club, but never seen anyone there. Every night, they do have the kids come up on the stage to dance around 8. All the kids enjoyed that. If you like to shop, it is about a 5 min. ride to 5th Avenue for $5 or there are a few shops across the street. The resort and all the shopping is in a gated community and we felt very safe. There is free wi-fi in the lobby if you have your own laptop or you can also pay to use theirs. We love to travel to different areas, but when we come back, this will be the place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marhuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed at Riu Palace Mexico from October 2, 2010 through October 9, 2010. We were under the impression we booked Riu Palace Riviera Maya since the booking information said Riviera Maya, Mx- Riu Palace Mexico. We arrived at Riu Palace Riviera Maya and they advised we did not have a booking with them. They took a look at the voucher and advised us to go to the Riu Palace Mexico.

Once we got to our hotel- we checked in smoothly, and got to our room only to find two TWIN beds pushed together to make a large sized bed. Also, we had a beautiful view of nothing, basically trees and part of the neighboring hotels tennis court peeking through. The room was stuffy and not comfortable. We tried to upgrade (and of course, pay for the upgrade) but they told us they could only accomodate us for a good reason (like a honeymoon). That's funny since we went during off-season and the hotel was basically empty. So everynight I would end up in the gap between the two beds, pretty much pushing the beds apart and falling into the gap that was made!

The hotel was all in all was nice. The staff was amazing. The beach was incredible. There are a number of restaurants to eat at with reservations (which can only be made from 8 30-1030 am). If you dont have a reservation, you will be eating at a daily themed buffet for dinner. The food is edible, not great. I guess we expected to eat authentic Mexican food, and of course, there was only 1 night of mexican themed food at the buffet and we missed it. We ate out in town 90% of the time.

I'm not likely to stay at this hotel again based on poor quality of food and our room.
The all-inclusive was good for breakfast and drinks, however, with the money we spent eating out I probably would not opt for the all inclusive at this location in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angelicstarlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We just got back from a return visit to the Riu Palace Mexico. We were there almost exactly three years ago and loved it. This time, however, it didn't quite measure up. Sure, the grounds are spectacular - a more beautiful resort complex you'd be hard pressed to find. It was very well tended and extremely well manicured and shiny/squeaky clean. Great maid service and turn down service and extra towels - just like before.

The food, however, was not very good. I know, people complain about the food at the all-inclusives all the time. Or they get excited about the variety at the buffets. We tend to like the restaurants and always try to get our meals there. We were at the Riu Palace Negril earlier this year and the food there was FAR superior. The restaurants this time seem to just mail it in - the steak house was not good at all. The Japanese restaurant was probably the best - and I'm not a fan of Japanese food. The "Fusion" restaurant was the worst. All in all, pretty tasteless and uninspired. That's NOT what we had the last time we were here. Plus lunch was noticeably bland no matter where you got it.

The Beach:
One thing we remembered the first day at the beach that we had forgotten about - the huge dropoff as you walk out into the water. There's a huge step down and after 10 yards or so, you climb back up onto a sandbar where it levels off more gradually and proceeds to deeper water. It made many people have a lot of difficulty exiting the water - lot of them had to be helped up out of the ocean because they couldn't navigate the steep step out onto the sand. Just a cautionary advisory. We loved the trees and the shady areas all throughout the beach. You can be in complete shade all day long if you want.

The people are extraordinarily friendly and the atmosphere is still amazing. A great relaxing place - just don't expect really good food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Just got back yesterday from a wonderful stay at the Riu Palace Mexico in Playa del Carmen and it far exceeded our expectations. We have been to all inclusives Sandals resort and another one in Puerta Vartalla but this one was truly special. First, the grounds are absolutely breath-takingly beautiful. Every single time we walked down the courtyard to the beach we kept saying we couldn't believe how lovely it was. The palm trees, fountains, bridges, pools and views were out of a picture book!

The food was very, very good. Big variety, all types of ethnic foods represented, nicely presented, good service...really all you could want. We enjoyed each of the 4 specialty restaurants and particulary liked the Krystal and the Bodega. We also noticed they had a larger variety of cocktails and some more top shelf liquors than we had at past all inclusives. (Still, wished they had Sapphire Gin!). We were there at a time that wasn't very crowded so we easily got any reservation we wanted for the specialty restaraunts. However, they are not huge spaces so if it was a busy season, you would have to get there before 9am to get your choice I would think.

The beach was so nice---loved the many and lush palm trees that provided shade for our Irish skin! It was so nice to have continual drink service come around at the beach and pool. They even had a cookout on the beach for lunch. We did heed the others' advise and brought lots of $1 to tip the hard workers and were very happy to reward them in a small way for their smiling service.

We did do one excursion which was about 2.5 hours total snorkeling trip to Inah reefs. It was remarkable...both the type of fish you saw and the beauty of the reefs. In the past, we have done longer excursions to ruins, etc... but we lilked this one because it took off from the beach, was about a 15 minute boatride down the coast, snorkeling and then the ride back. It was very reasonable at $35 usdollars a person.

The room was very nice, but as others mentioned, it did have a hard mattress. We asked them to come up and put an additional pad on it and they did so quickly. That was helpful. It also had a very slight musty smell but I don't think you can avoid that in the Caribbean area or any tropical place due to the constant moisture. I do have pretty bad allergies and am happy to say had no problems and after a day or so didn't notice it at all.

Unless you are the pickiest type of traveler, I cannot see how anyone wouldn't just love this beautiful place. I told my husband that the day I find lots of criticism for a place like the Riu Palace Mexico is the day I need to get a better grip on what is really important in life! Of course, there are always circumstances that can make a stay anywhere frustrating or disappointing. But, I think for about 95% of travelers, they would be very delighted with a stay here.

Don't hesitate to go to the Riu Palace Mexico kingdom to be treated like Royalty!

Looking forward to visiting more of the many Riu properties!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irishlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

All in all this resort is great, but there were a few minor things that could be worked on.
First I will start with what needs to be fixed.
1) The hotel still has regular keys that you have to take with you everywhere. It is a real pain to keep track of the key when in the pool or at the beach. I have not been to a hotel that didn't have key cards in at least 8-10 years.
2) The "king" beds are 2 beds pushed together that slide apart throughout the night
3) The pool does not have steps to walk into it.
4) If you want to go to the night club or sports bar you have to go to across the street to Riu Tequila

Now on to the positive:
The service was spectacular. The food was very good. The beach was pristine.
If you are looking for a resort to relax at this is it. We went over to all the other Riu resorts in the area and this one was definitely the least crowded. FYI if you do go over to one of the other resorts to check out the pool or beach be sure to take your towel as we had a hard time exchanging our towel cards for towels while there.
We went to all of the specialty restaurants and my husband like the brazilian the most, I prefered Krystal, we didn't really like the Japannese. We didn't have any trouble getting reservations but it didn't really seem like the resort was at capacity so maybe that helped. The buffet was smaller than other Riu palaces that we have been to but still had plenty of choices for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bgarcia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews