We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #26 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lima - Peru
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed on October 2012, the hotel is only half a block off of 5th Avenue, but I would prefer to choose a hotel near to the beach.
The rooms were clean, but the furniture was old. The bathroom is small and has a few of amenities. The breakfast was OK, I didn't try the food at the Mayan Bistro.
Free wi-fi didn´t work in my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty_T_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Patti TS,

Thanks for your comments. We know people have many choices of hotels in Playa Del Carmen
and often do a lot of research to choose the right one. That's why we let people know we are
2 blocks from the beach, not on the beach. Other than our staff, guests feel our location is one of our best assets. Being just 1/2 block off 5th Avenue, allows our guests to retreat to an "oasis" away from the hustle and bustle of Playa.

We also know free wi/fi is an important amenity and because our hotel is constructed with concrete walls, our website explains that free wifi is available in all the hotel common areas.

Guests also enjoy our organic bath amenities that include shampoo, conditioner, after sun aloe, soap, shoe polisher and vanity kit (q-tips, nail file and cotton round) but we would love some specific feedback on other items that may make our guests stay more comfortable.

Thanks so much for your feedback!

Rob Smearing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    469
    84
    15
    9
See reviews for
379
883
88
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked Aventura Mexicana based on the great TA reviews. I thought that since we paid up for a deluxe garden-view room, it would be in the adult section and would be quiet. Unfortunately the first two nights we got a room that faced 24th St in the family section. We could hear people and music from the street and bars at night, and then in the mornings, kids running and screaming in the hallway. The third morning Luis at the front desk was immediately able to get us transferred into a smaller room on the adult side and it made a world of difference in terms of quality of sleep. As commented by others, the adult side's bathroom is not entirely enclosed (no door), so if you are not staying with your significant other, it can be a challenge.

I wrote up my dissatisfaction with our stay. Andy from the Aventura Ownership Group responded right away and gave us a very satisfactory resolution. I was very impressed and happy with his professionalism and commitment to the high quality of customer service.

The location of the hotel is great. Steps away from tons of restaurants and a short walk from the beach. Parking space was always available in front of the hotel though if more people decide to rent a car, it could be a problem. We always like the freedom to go see other places. As long as you watch out for Pemex gas station attendants scamming you (read my other reviews), driving around was great.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive about noise and want to stay away from kids during your vacation, confirm with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I read reviews, booked myself and a buddy into this place for 3 nights in December 2012. He had never travelled outside of the US/CAN, and I was nervous that his expectations for a smaller hotel would be too high. Both of us were exceptionally happy we made this choice. Was a good introduction for him to Mexican travel. The staff were fantastic all around, from front desk, Enrique I think?? was awesome, and Mark the restaraunt manager and his staff were fantastic.
It really is a great place to stay to use as a launching pad for great Mayan Riviera adventures. It's a good hike to the collectivo's, but it's 5th Avenue, so it's a great walk each way.
You can't go wrong choosing this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor, down from the computer area, and it was the corner room, waterfall out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centralblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I (both early 30s) stayed here for one week in February 2013 and we absolutely loved it. We didn't want an all-inclusive on the beach - having a nice little hotel and being able to take all of our meals at little taco joints is much more our style. The staff were incredible, the rooms were clean and excellent, the entire hotel was just quiet and relaxing and calming. It's less than a block off of 5th ave., but it lacks all of the noise of the main stretch. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajrmacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynbrook, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

the grounds of this hotel are stunning. the food outstanding and the staff all great!!
juliano (our waiter) just made our trip. what a great person. we stayed in the honeymoon sweet and loved it. what a really beautiful place!!! also such a great location for 5th avenue to the beaches. all within minutes away. great all inclusive!!!

Room Tip: i believe all the rooms are nice. we stayed in the corner room by the restaurant and thought it mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancym211_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Siutated just off 5th Avenue, the hotel is central whilst still being quiet at night. We had a great 2 bedroomed room with a huge bathroom, perfect for 3 girls sharing as the bathroom was big enough for us all to do our make-up at the same time! The room was also spotlessly clean and we loved some of the towel animals left on the beds by the maid, really mdade you feel special. Only shame was that we didn't have a balcony but there was plenty of communal outdoor space to make up for that. A simple breakfast was included which definitely helped set us up for the day. All the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful and all in all we had a wonderful holiday and didn't want to leave! Would definitely go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NalaBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We only stayed two nights in Playa del Carmen on our trip to Mexico last week but we were not disappointed and had wished we could have stayed at Aventura Mexicana a bit longer. First off, our room was an ample size, simple decorations, closely situated to the pool and restaurant and truly, very, very clean. The room had great towels and even offered a mini-fridge in the room and the air conditioning worked great. Though I didn't like the soaps and shampoos (I think the smell of them?), my husband and I liked the after sun bottle of aloe gel.

If you are planning on staying for a long time...they had plenty of closet space to organize your clothes and keep your luggage out of sight! We checked out beach towels at the front desk and received passes to Indigo Beach club, but by the time we made it out to the club, there weren't any chairs with umbrellas left and walked down to the Blue Parrot beach club instead. No cost to use their chairs if you spent $25 USD in food or beverage. We spent that easily on beers, water and appetizers so it was worth the cost.

The restaurant at the hotel (Mayan Bistro) closed earlier than posted (around 9 pm) but there are so many restaurants nearby (1 block away) you wouldn't go hungry. The second day of our trip, we asked Christopher (the fill-in manager) if they could chill a bottle of white wine for us down at the restaurant and they were very accomodating. After showering and refreshing ourselves from a long day at the beach, the restaurant had our table ready and they quickly brought our chilled wine and glasses. Their service was top notch and nothing but the best. We were able to enjoy an appetizer, which was the zuchinni sauteed in Oaxaca cheese...served with tortillas. Oh my gosh...fantastic and paired beautifully with our wine. Had a chance to meet Christopher on a more personal level that night. He is extremely pleasant and shared alot of information about his background, the hotel and all the services they were able to provide. He treated his staff with the utmost respect.

One of his best recommendations was to try their Aventura Mexicana breakfast. It was AMAZING. I love poached eggs and theirs were poached perfectly over lightly toasted bread and covered in an amazing cheese sauce made of crema fresca and manchego cheese. I'm sure there had to be some other secret ingredient because it was so incredibly flavorful!

This boutique hotel and restaurant were definitely quite the find! Their staff and the level of service they provided during our visit totally made our trip. We can't wait to go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing