We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Coppell, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location - right off of 5th and close to lots of restaurants and shops. The room was average for Mexico; we ate breakfast at the hotel which was good. Continental breakfast is included but the have a good menu selection as well. The beds are comfortable - they had a pillow top mattress. Only complaints were the water pressure and heat. The shower was Luke warm at best with low water pressure and we had to flush the toilet multiple times.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hola Kristy,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. I apologize that the water pressure and temp were not up to our normal standard. We did have a challenge with some clogged boiler lines that took us a few days to resolve. The system is back in order and operating properly.

All the best to you and your family and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Playa.

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    451
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
356
856
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Wonderful relaxing stay at this charming little hotel. If you looking more for the one to one homely feeling then this is the place to stay. Just an arms throw away from the main 5th Avenue and about 15mins walk to the beach and for the party animals about 10 min walk from 12th Avenue. Found it to be very centrally located without being bombard with the sounds of the buzzing little city. The beds however I could do with some renovation, but in generally the rooms clean and found them very spacious and comfortable. Air conditioning is a must in Mexico and always had a pleasant sleep only with the use of one.. otherwise unbearable! House cleaning comes every 2 days fresh sheets and towels, and there was always an abundance of hot water. Point don't bath too late at night i.e. after 12 found that water kinda runs out ! but not a problem...

The area within the hotel is very well designed and I found it extremely beautiful and relaxing.. if you look to do your morning work out in a swimming pool, you would be disappointed since these are pools (3 of them) just for cooling off... as we say a dip in the pool while sipping on your Mojito..

Its a good little place to retreat and relax without being totally cut off from the rest of the mayhem, its all up to you how you wish to play each day...

Finally I would go back there, the staff all very polite and helpful.. for the fit bunnies .. a gym right opposite and the juice bar next door a must!
Hotel good for all, couples, family friends and Solo!

Room Tip: opposite the pool on the ground floor found it convenient..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenitroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Aventura Mexicana two times in the last couple of years, always happy to have a calm, private place in the middle of the busy town of Playa del Carmen. The continental breakfast is included and you can sit outside on the patio and enjoy the beautiful bougainvillea and palm trees while sipping your morning coffee or tea. Free use of the computer Two small swimming pols for cooling off. A short walk to the public beach. And walk to all the town's attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: There are only three floors. The third floor has access to a bigger pilapa (covered patio).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyg352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
1,150 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Aventura sits half a block from the mayhem that is 5th avenue but it's a world apart. Don't get me wrong, I love the hustle and bustle but it's also nice to have a retreat to relax.

That's exactly what this hotel is. From the moment you check in you sense this place really cares (Pepe and Antonio (?) are exceptional) and simply can't do enough for you. We had room 402 which is highly recommended as it has it's own private terrace and is like your own little villa on the edge of 5th.

We just went for the included continental breakfast which was more than enough. They do do a good range of cooked stuff but, like the optional all inclusive thing, didn't seem to make sense to us PDC has some amazing restaurants so why limit yourself to the one no matter how well it is rated.

The weather was quite rainy whilst we were here so we didn't get much chance to use the pools but they looked good. You can also use beach clubs either discounted or one free. We did the free one and it was great and not hassled about food / drinks as we thought we may be. PDC isn't really our ideal place as it is a bit full on (we'd just come from the paradise that is isle Mujeres!!) but Aventura made our stay a fabulous one.

Room Tip: 402 may cost a little more but it is like a little cottage and affords great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This property is the consolidation of two hotels. It offers a lovely setting just a block from the tourist 'drag'. We checked in for four nights. Upon arrival we reminded the desk we would prefer a quiet room and after some debate by the two staff we were escorted to see two rooms from which we should choose, both were unmade and one being painted. We sat at the pool for about 30min while the maid finished, no real big deal, but still a poor start. Sadly room 1110 is below the stairs to the second floor and we are alerted to anyone heading up or down the stairs. The staff are friendly, the breakfast staff attentive, the property a lovely respite, but 1110 is not designed for rest.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have been coming to PDC and Cozumel for over 15 years now, and have had the opportunity to stay at several of the nice boutique hotels here. Lunata, Luna Blue, Fusion, Cielo, Hacienda Paradise, and Aventura Mexicana. Each has its own unique character, and each has exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. But on a strict amenity and value basis, Aventura gets our highest rating in this group. Lovely pool and landscaping, free continental breakfast (and other delicious menu items at reasonable prices), cable TV with multiple channels in English, and very quiet and convenient location. As in all these hotels, the staff and service are great, but Aventura at this point offers the very best value. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, room 303, and were very pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imadrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We visited here in November. This is a great hotel keeping in mind it is a boutique property. We never experienced the restaurant outside of the complimentary breakfast and a few drinks tonight. There are such great inexpensive bars and restaurants in Playa Del Carmen. Even though the"all-inclusive add-on" is inexpensive you really missing out on exploring the culinary nightlife of this destination by choosing it. The grounds are impeccably cared for. The pool area and the greenery are remarkable. The staff is very helpful. We especially liked the food and beverage manager Chris as well as the guest services manager Luis. The restaurant and bar does have an extremely rude gal working evenings there. She literally went out of her way to make things difficult for me. Chris however stepped in and make things right. However, my recommendation to the management. She is not drinking the same customer service Kool-Aid like the rest of the staff does.

Our room was about as far away from the DSL as you could be. We did not get service in the room whatsoever. However, we did obtain suitable coverage in and around the pool and restaurant areas as well as sitting in the lounge chairs just outside our room. Cellular reception in the rooms were fine. A lot has been said in prayer reviews about how hard the mattresses are. I found them to be hard but not too hard. We slept fine. We stayed in the adult pool area I was surprised about the lack of pool lounge chairs there.

While there we did have two of the best massages in the SPA area. Another plus for people that like to work out, there is an excellent excellent workout facility directly across the street. In addition to spinning, yoga, they have a excellent cardio and Circuit room.

TIP- when taking trips from the hotel along the coast line 2 areas such as Tulum or Cancun or even the next town, take the Collectivo. 35 pesos and a fun experience. A short walk to the terminal where they depart, the concierge will tell you how to get there. will dave you a bundle!

Room Tip: If you want Internet in your room stay close to the lobby and/or restaurant areas. The rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lplage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing