We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wonderful small hotel. Excellent service, beautiful grounds, close to everything yet away from the hustle and bustle! We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly!!! Upon arrival we were informed we had been upgraded to the junior suite, great start to our stay!! We had a great first floor room on the adult side of the hotel. It was wonderful to just open our door and be a few steps from the restaurant and the pool. Service was un-intrusive, yet present when needed, exactly how it should be!!

Nice amenities, a/c worked well, hot water, good water pressure, great pillows!!!! Would definitely stay here again on our next visit!

Thanks everyone for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_plankton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    451
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
357
857
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

10 minutes to the beach, 1 minute to 5th avenue, though you may just end up staying within the hotel boundaries as the facilities and restaurant are so very good.

Hugely helpful staff, big clean rooms, very good value, and a great restaurant. Special praise to restaurant manager Christopher and to Nicolas for making us feel very welcome

Travelling as a couple in June 2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

we've been here for 5 nights. After are trip with stayings in "basic" places it was very nice to arrive here. excellent beds, excellent bathroom and there's even a water machine so you can fill up your own bottles.
the breakfast is ok but a bit more variety would be nice.
everything is very clean and a nice atmosphere inside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredericG1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

After reading all the positive reviews on here before booking/travelling I was not disappointed! The pool areas are beautiful, clean and quiet, I never had trouble getting a lounger and was often the only one in the pool. I ate in the restaurant often, whilst breakfast was basic the lunch and dinner menus were reasonably priced and everything I had was fresh and delicious! In terms of the rooms, as others state there was no door to the bathroom but as I was by myself this was fine - I did however get bitten a lot overnight despite always keeping doors/windows closed so would recommend a spray or plug in to avoid. The hotel team all knew me by name and were so friendly, helpful and happy to help I felt really welcome - Nicholas in particular in the restaurant was great. The beach club Kool is a short walk and I spent a few days here and loved it- although it was 50pesos (with the hotel discount) I thought it was easily worth it. Overall a great hotel, would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet oasis to relax in!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I did an extensive amount of research on hotels in Playa, and it paid off. We were planning a wedding in Playa and wanted to provide our family and friends with two hotel options at different price ranges. We wanted to location, comfort, good, and a good atmosphere. Aventura met all that and more. Where do I begin? We have approximately 30 guest staying at the Aventura, and everyone absolutely loved it.

FOOD
Everyone raved about the food at the Maya Bistro, myself included. It was some of the best food we had in all of playa, try the Chef's Challenge for a yummy surprise. The service provided by Nicholas and his daughter Gaby was just amazing, they made us feel like we were home. Jorge the bartender is a master of his trade, watch out, the drinks are delicious and strong, ask for his cucumber special, I don't know what the drink was officially called but it was heaven! Also try some Kava, the Kasa Kava is located on the grounds of the hotel and have yoga classes in the mornings, and open up for Kava in the evening. We tried the Kava, and although not the most delicious drink in the world, it did have a soothing effect on us, and we slept for about 12 hours that night!

HOTEL/ROOMS
The hotel is well maintained, the grounds are beautiful, relaxing & quiet. The location is great , around the corner from Fifth Ave were all the action happens, and just a short walk from the beach. They provide free wifi, but who needs wifi when you are in such an amazing place? Since we had so many wedding guest stay at the hotel we got to see almost every room type. All the rooms were clean, and had everything you need, especially water. My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite for 6 days. When we arrived they had a beautiful flower arrangement, bottle of wine, and a huge and delicious fruit plate waiting for us! The honeymoon suite was great, spacious, and very comfortable, we loved it. They do not provide other amenities such as irons in the rooms, but they are available upon request. Overall our stay, as well as our guest's experience was incredible and unforgettable. It's not everyday you actually please all 30 people you are traveling with! I would recommend Aventura Mexicana to anyone traveling to Playa.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are significantly bigger, the double rooms are also very spacious and fit four pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I cancelled my lodging at an all-inclusive resort so that I could be close to town and be able to walk around, shop, and dine where I wanted to. I found this hotel after searching many properties and based on the reviews, I decided to book with Aventura Mexicana. The best decision ever! Truly an oasis! The staff treats you like royalty and always have a smile on their face. The grounds, the pools are beautiful. Most of all I enjoyed the peace and quiet and relaxation. The Mayan Bistro is great! The food presentation and taste was top notch. I stayed for 10 nights and wish I could have stayed longer. Special thanks to Andy for answering all of my questions before I booked. Can't wait to see you all again! -Thomas W.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the most roomy; yet cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days at the end of May for the 2nd time in two years. The first time we fell in love with this beautiful hotel and we booked again with no hesitation. The grounds are beautiful and are kept immaculate. The room we got on the 3rd floor was huge with a separate bedroom for our daughter and very quiet. It was cleaned spotless every single day by housekeeping. Breakfast is simple but was adequate for us.

I do have a couple of minor complaints this time. A few mornings, the breakfast attendants would be talking among themselves instead of making sure the guests were being taken care of. One day I even had to get up and ask for the "pan dulce", since it wasn't even offered to us (we tipped every morning). Another issue we had was that the taxis the front desk called a few mornings for us consistently overcharged us. For example, going to Puerto Morelos we were asked for $520 on the way there (ended up paying $450 after complaining) while we paid $400 on the way back. We mentioned this to the front desk, but they never got back to us. Also, going to Xel-Ha, the taxi company quoted them $585 (USD 45, this time we checked in advance) while we knew the correct rate was $450 (we ended up walking a couple of streets and catching a taxi by ourselves). I think these are issues that management could easily fix with a little bit of training and a serious conversation with their preferred taxi company.

Other than this, Aventura Mexicana remains our favorite spot in Playa del Carmen and we're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing