We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #25 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We spent a week at Aventura Mexicana based on all of the positive reviews on this site. It definitely lived up to its reviews. Our family stayed there along with our friends and their family as well as two other couples that we recommended it to. We were all very satisfied with the service and rooms. Our room was 2400, on the third floor above the reception area. It was huge! There was a very comfortable king bed, a table with four chairs, a leather couch/futon, which our son slept on and said it was very comfortable, and two leather chairs. There was also a fridge, microwave, dishes, and water cooler. It had a private bath (with a door) that had an awesome shower (see pic)! The only thing we missed not having was a balcony. We had a big window facing 24th St. and a smaller window facing the pool. The grounds of the hotel are kept immaculate and the pools were cleaned everyday, even though our kids were the only ones using them. The breakfast, although starting a bit late at 8AM, was continental. The OJ was the BEST! We ordered fruit, yogurt and granola each day and it was always fresh. For 40 pesos you couldn't beat it! I ordered scrambled eggs with bacon one day and they weren't very good. The bacon was just pieces of fat and the eggs were runny. I should've asked for them well done but forgot. Julio Cesar, our waiter most days was very personable and efficient. We never tried the restaurant for snacks or dinner because we always got back late from the beach and had our own drinks from our fridge. They give you beach towels that were always freshly washed and in good shape. The maids did a great job cleaning every day and always left us towel art on the beds. The wifi didn't work in our room, but my husband just sat in the lobby to check his email. The hotel computer was almost always in use, so it was nice to have our own laptop there. The hotel was completely full the week we were there but it never seemed crowded. We rented a car for the week and never had a problem with parking in a space right in front. We'll be back next year, for sure...it's in the perfect location for us and you can't beat the price with the internet discount.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maestranba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
There are newer reviews for Aventura Mexicana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

This was our second stay at Aventura Mexicana, and like our first visit, we loved it. The hotel staff (the same employees we had last year) was extremely friendly and accommodating. The grounds and upkeep were maintained daily. The rooms were very clean too.

Although the hotel is just one block off of the main strip, it is quiet, secluded and quite romantic for couples. It is still a close walk to the beach (approximately 4 blocks), which is nice.

It also hosts a number of extra amenities, including towel service for the pool or beach, an onsite restaurant and bar and Internet access.

We even got engaged at the hotel and hope to have our wedding there soon.

For a good meal, be sure to visit the crepe restaurant '5.24' right next door to the hotel. Great food and great service.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyDooDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We booked this hotel rather last minute on Expedia without doing much research into other options. What luck! Its location in Playa is great - only a short walk from the beach and tourist areas, but still nice and quiet. The courtyard-style layout provided a very serene (and romantic!) atmosphere. A nice pool and small restaurant are surrounded by beautiful landscaping, and the sound of the fountain added to the peaceful atmosphere - a great refuge after a day of people watching at the beach!

The best part of our stay was the exceedingly accommodating staff and the unexpectedly fantastic restaurant. The employees take such pride in what they do, and it shows! The restaurant, the Mayan Bistro, was so good that we ate there every single night of our stay, as we couldn't imagine the quality being better anywhere else in such a tourist-centered place. Every meal was spectacular - fresh ingredients, great care in presentation, and absolutely delicious! Also fantastic were the drinks - a great piña colada and mojito. Go for happy hour when it's "2 for 1" and try them both! Even if you decide to stay elsewhere, put this restaurant on your "Must Do" list while in Playa. You will not be disappointed!

The room was very nice, very clean, and it had a microwave, a little refrigerator, place settings for 2 as well as an extremely convenient 20-liter purified water dispenser. Internet access was free, wireless, consistently reliable AND available in the room too! Fantastic!

All in all, this is a great little botique hotel with a superior restaurant in a convenient yet quiet location. We will definitely stay there again and will recommend it to anyone we know traveling to Playa. It was GREAT!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knarliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

The service at both the front desk & the restaurant was A+.

Our room was a Superior King & was spotless. Bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever had in Mexico.

Unless you are hung up on having beach-front, the location was great. It is about 1/2 block from 5th Ave & about 3 from the beach. There are couple of small pools at the hotel & lovely courtyard.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glbkge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We just returned relaxed and refreshed from a five-night stay at Aventura Mexicana. This is a very well-managed boutique hotel that does a wonderful job making guests feel at home, handling requests (for restaurant suggestions, reservations, directions, etc) and keeping your room very clean and comfortable. Extra blanket, extra pillow, no problem. All cheerfully accommodated.

As you can see from other photos, the reception area opens up to a lush courtyard with palm trees, flowering plants, fountains and several pools (one with a small waterfall). It's quite lovely. Groundskeepers are constantly at work to keep it swept and pruned. There are several decks above to explore and catch the sun. There's a small casual restaurant--Mayan Bistro--for lunch, dinner or drinks by the pool. Staff here also super friendly.

AM caters to all kinds of travelers--U.S., UK, Canadian, German--plus all ages and family types. The vibe is pretty laid-back and quiet. So this is probably not the best choice for a family with teenagers. But if you are seeking a secluded garden spot just a few blocks from the beach, this is a good pick.

Noise was not a problem. The hotel is a block off the main pedestrian street (5th Ave), and that probably helped. There is some nearby construction. That's true for most of this newer, northern end of Playa. It was not a bother.

Resident cat, Olivia, patrols the decks between naps.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Miles804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Playa as the locals call it. About 40miins to an hour south of Cancun. you can arrange transport locally or in advance. Taxi to yourself is $90 shared is more like $45. make sure you know who you are looking for as it is a frenzy as people try to get you to take their option. Agree pricing before you get in and you can barter.
Playa is a great location which is not an all inclusive resort. It doesn't have the grand designs of these hotels either. The Aventura is a small hacienda style hotel with pools and and a restaurant and a massage service. They are all very good. The hotel is full of lush plants and it feels very exotic with its greens and red walls. The food is actually very good. A bit 80s with paprika on the edges of your plate. But I can safely say I didn't have a bad anything. They even made me a plate of fruit up, which wasn't on the menu. Some of the best I have ever had BTW. All the staff were happy and helpful! without any tip!
The rooms are clean and functional. TV, Microwave, fridge etc. they are not "themed" but how the locals have them. walk-in shower and a big double bed. You don't need anymore..
The location is at one end of the main drag 5th ave., and the quit-er end. In essence the more towards the ferry you go the more people there are. All the eating and drinking houses served good food with good service at not bad prices. Something for all pockets. The beech is literally a 5min walk and supermarkets are more like 10 mins.
Look out for the trips you buy. Ask the questions and shop around. Most take you in big coaches which makes it long! even if they pick you up in a minibus. All seem to be worth a visit and make sure you swim in a Cenote.
The beds on the beaches can be expensive and the people who serve expect a very big % tip. Ask how much things are extra before you agree otherwise a drink will be a bottle and £50 in a blink of an eye. Not what you may have been expecting. The hotel has an agreement with a couple of these beach zones. you can always just put a towel on the ground if you would rather.
The town has all usual facilities and a very chilled vibe. It appears to have a good gay scene if thats you thing and a good family/romantic vibe if thats your thing! Topless bathing made it feel more European. There is a good mix of people from around the world. Most of those who don't want to mix do the all inclusive - you know who you are! This makes it a much more pleasant place and no loud and brash idiots of any type
Relax and you will have a great time here!
Summary:
I will be going again and will recommend to others. Not something I usually do! Njoy this must visit location and hotel

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vr6occom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel recently and were amazed at how wonderful it was. Our room was very clean, and the staff was so kind and helpful. I disagree with some of the other reviews about the bathroom not being private. Our room had a separate bathroom with a toilet and shower with a door that closed. We had a room with 2 double beds that were very comfortable. The hotel is set in a nice neighborhood and within a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants, shopping etc. I also disagree with the fact that most of the staff didn't speak English well. First, you are in THEIR country so maybe learning a bit of their language would be a good thing and second, you only needed to speak slowly and clearly and they usually could figure out what you wanted. Food and other things like taxis, shopping etc are really inexpensive. We took the city bus everywhere, to Tulum, Xcaret and more. Its extremely clean, comfortable and a wonderful traveling experience. The people were genuinely glad to see you each day. We ate fresh fruit and veggies every day with no problems. Bottled water is plentiful and about 7 pesos a bottle which is around 50 cents US. Do not miss Xcaret it is soo worth it. The Mexican show at night is amazing and very well done. The "plus" ticket allows you to eat at any of about 4 huge open air buffets. The food was really good and the setting is just pristine and gorgeous. Its very easy to exchange US money into pesos in Playa Del Carmen. There are exchange places on every corner. They tell you on a sign how many pesos equal a dollar so no worries. Tulum is spectacular and well worth the trip. There is a great restaurant there also. If you wish to swim in the ocean at Tulum you should wear your suit as there is no where to change and people were pretty much just taking their clothes off in front of you. Playa is a very clean, safe, fun, and beautiful area. The hotel offered massages and I cant recommend them more highly!! It was one of the best massages I have ever had and only $35 US!! If you wish you can easily walk from the bus station to the hotel. Its a nice stroll even with your suitcase. We will definitely return to this hotel as it was soo charming and located perfectly.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lafahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £75 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing