We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little hotel”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #26 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful little hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2009

In the beginning of March 2009 we (two senior couples from Sweden) stayed in Playa del Carmen for 10 days in Hotel Aventura Mexicana. This is a wonderful little hotel close to the beach (5-10 minutes walk) and the centre. Still very quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful, the bar and restaurant is better than many of the nearby restaurants, still not very expensive, the garden is lovely, the rooms are comfortable and clean and includes air condition, refrigerator, safe, TV etc. If ever in Playa again this would be our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acn-taby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    456
    82
    15
    9
See reviews for
364
870
87
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We stayed at AM this past week and we loved the hotel. The grounds were very nice, with the rooms, pool, common areas all being kept as clean as can be. We loved our room near the family pool, and the people were so nice to us. Played tennis with one of the agents at the desk, sorry her name escapes me. She was very nice to play tennis and introduce me to some other players at the courts down the street. Thanks alot. We didnt eat anything but breakfast, so I cant comment on the food for the other two meals of the day.
I will say, I think breakfast should be moved up a half hour to an hour for the earlier guest who need or want earlier start times to their days. Maybe one day they will change the hours for the majority. I do realize that maybe the hour might be too early for the guess that might overhear the noise in the adults section
Second, I do wish there wasnt a designated adults section and family section. I stil think they should have one or the other in this hotel. It sure would've been nice to use the better/larger pool for our kids. We never did see anyone using the adults pool during our 3 day stay? Third, the bar area in the family section by the massage area could be used as something more than just an empty space with no use at all to it. Maybe they could put it to better use? Not sure what, so I will just leave it at that. It just seemed like wasted space that took away from the attractiivness of the Hotel, with empty cans/bottle sitting around.
Fourth, the jacuzzi tub did not have jets that worked as far as we know. If so, we never did find out how to use it.
So, would I stay there again? Absolutely!
Just wanted to address a couple things that might help in the long run.

Thanks AM

P.S. One more thing. hopefully an all non smoking hotel in the future?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2009

As much as my partner and I liked the property and the staff was nice, there were too many kids at the time we traveled. This is not an adults only hotel. The property is not very big and it seemed like wherever you turned, kids were around. Luckily, we were on the top floor. Aside from that, the hotel was in a great location (5 minutes to the beach) and right around the corner from 5th Avenue where all of the restaurants & shops are. At times, we felt a little uncomfortable at the hotel with all of the families around. Yes, there were some gay couples staying there, but they seemed a little uncomfortable as well. If you are looking for some privacy in a gay friendly environment, I'm not sure if this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventuraMexicana, Aventura Mexicana Ownership Group at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this review, 10 April 2009
We would like to provide clarification on some of the information discussed in this forum. The new owners of the Aventura Mexicana Hotel support everyone's desire to have a relaxing vacation. For the convenience and enjoyment of our guests, we have a "adult pool" and a "family pool". All of our family appropriate, 2 bed rooms, are located on the "family pool" side of the hotel; these rooms are called "Superior Double Doubles". All of the rooms on the "adult pool" side of the hotel have 1 bed and are called "Delux Kings". This is how we work to ensure families and non-families alike are able to enjoy a relaxing vacation at our hotel. The owners of the hotel receive email directly sent through the hotel website. If anyone has any questions on how they can best enjoy their vacation at the Aventura Mexicana, they can contact me, Andy, directly though the hotel website. We hope to welcome you soon to paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel in a king room from 3/20/09 - 3/29/09. Right outside our sliding door from room #110 we had a nice table, two chairs and a palapa with picnic table. The waterfall from the pool was right there and very relaxing. 10 steps away was the Mayan Bistro indoor/outdoor restaurant. They have a great continental breakfast at 8:00 a.m. and great food throughout the day with happy hour later. Prices were very reasonable. The best part was all the great people we met from Canada, Minnesota, Boston and Germany. Some people return each year. The hotel has a great Mexican ambience with lots of palm trees lit up at night. The room was meticulously cleaned each day. The bed was very comfortable and the room had lots of closet space. There is one computer for guests to use and many library books to choose from in the lobby. The guys at the front desk are very friendly. It took me a long time to get the keys to open the sliding door quickly but just takes practice. Not a lot of American stations on the television, but you can watch the news and weather. I don't think we will return in March again due to the high winds each day. The good thing was after a day at the beach I could swim in the pool at the hotel with the buildings blocking a lot of the breeze. We enjoyed watching the hotel cat sleeping in all kinds of hidden places. I wish we could still be there. Being home and back in the rat race makes me look forward to another trip sometime.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ORCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Adventura Mexicana in mid-February. We loved our room, up on the third floor. There are extra sun-decks up there and it is very private, we felt like we had our own patio! The food and service was excellent, and the staff were all friendly and helpful about things to do in and around Playa. We also had massages (30/hour) which were good. There was a large water bubbler in the room, which was very convenient, and the internet access reached our room too. We loved the fact that the hotel was quiet, but yet so close to the beach and 5th. We'd definitely go back and stay again!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of days in March 2009 and really enjoyed our visit. The staff is really helpful and friendly and the hotel itself has a relaxed vibe. I'm not a spring breaker kind of person, and this hotel was a good fit for my vacation: nice music and snacks at the "Mayan Bistro" (their restaurant), beautiful bougainvilleas and palm trees around the courtyard, nicely kept pools for taking a quick dip, and close proximity to a well-priced and fantastic massage ($30/hr at Spa Azul Maya!). The rooms are pretty big and have expected amenities: A/C, King bed, full bath, sliding patio doors and the location is great- a 5 min walk to the beach, where you can rent loungers at "Kool" (ask for coupon at the front desk) and all the restaurants and shops along 5th ave. Be sure to check out the cafes and restaurants a little outside the touristy area too. Quick Tip: grab snacks and water at the "MEGA" supermarket on Constituyente if you are taking day trips and want to save money! AWESOME PASTRIES!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chubloidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We stayed at Aventura Mexicana for 3 days in late March. It's in the perfect location in Playa del Carmen, with access not only to the beach, but a number of great restaurants and very good Mexican food. Additionally, it is a great hub for tours heading to the nearby Mayan ruins (we traveled to Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza and highly recommend all 3).

The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We were in contact with them before our arrival and they arranged cost-effective transportation from the airport (and to our next hotel at the end of the stay) for us. They also let us check-out at the normal time and yet leave our luggage with them so we could spend a few more hours in the town.

The rooms were pretty big and nice, but nothing flashy. For those concerned with privacy, our bathroom was not separated by a door, but in a separate enclave. I am not sure if bigger rooms have that issue.

The restaurant at the hotel was nice, but comparatively pricey to local joints. We only ate off the "snack" menu while we were there. It's good, but for dinner, you are better off going to one of the many places in Playa del Carmen, we had good meals at Quinta Passion (on 5th & 28th), HC de Monterrey (on Constituente) and a local taco place on 5th.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place conveniently located and for a good price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing