We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd Stay at the Aventura” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Stay at the Aventura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here last November and just got back from another 10 night stay.
There have been a few changes since the winter, like the addition of a PR guy in the lobby who was friendly and knowledgable and there is no longer a public computer which was dissapointing as it really came in handy when we were planning our days but we found an internet cafe just 2 blocks away that charged 20 pesos for 30 minutes which was fine. They also have new lounge chairs which were nice for hanging out by the pool.

Last time we had been upgraded but the hotel seemed to be pretty busy so we had a standard room this time. I knew the walls of the bathroom didn't go up to the ceiling however I was pretty surprised to see there is no door on the bathrooms in these rooms. Makes for very little privacy but we made it work. The safe in the standard room was also different from the deluxe rooms. Our safe was small and plastic and had a key. I prefer the ones in the deluxe rooms that are very heavy steel and have to combo.
The bed in this room was 100 times more comfortable than the last one... it was a different style bed frame and it had a sealy mattress top.
If you are worried about noise request a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Our window faced 10th avenue and although it wasn't super loud you could definitely hear cars going by.

The food was great and the continental breakfast is sufficient. The staff was friendly and the hotel itself is very clean and beautiful.

The location is in the very up and coming north end of town and suits us just fine. Very close to beach access and clubs and amazing restaurants and bars. (Try the 2X1 mojitos at La Hora Feliz on 5th about 2 blocks to your left when leaving the hotel and El Diaz for the best steak right near by).

All in all it was a great stay and we're looking to go back in November.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtl_habs_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    444
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
346
845
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Having booked into a nearby hotel (that was rated very highly in Trip Advisor) we discovered that none of their air conditioners worked well enough for the hot Playa temps (ave room temp was 88). At 11:00 PM we hit the bricks looking for another hotel. Stopping at Hotel Aventura we asked if they had a room available and if it had a good AC unit. The night clerk and Security guard were both wonderfully helpful. The night clerk took us up to see the room, and said the AC would need 30 minutes to cool it down. At 11:30 we dragged our bags down the street and took the room.
The hotel is half a block off of Avienda 10 - so its a quiet side street location (Calle 24). The room is furnished simply, with a comfortable bed, ceiling fan, large shower, and great AC unit. The staff is friendly and the room is very clean. On the second day we even lower the AC temp. There's an interior courtyard with an adult pool, and a kids pool. The nearby Mayan Bistro restaurant is a great place for breakfast.
We've passed through Playa many times, usually mid to late evening. We're used to the Avienda 5 hustle. We've seen Playa grow from a one street town, into the Mexi/Euro jumble that it has become. Now we've seen another side of Playa, one that's more real and way more enjoyable thanks to our experience at Hotel Aventura.
We would readily recommend Hotel Aventura to any friends planning to stay in Playa.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

This is a great deal for an excellent hotel. We were given a very large room on the family side. It was also very clean. If we stayed again we would probably stay on the adult pool side due to some kid related noise in the mornings. The restaurant is OK. The free breakfast isn't the best, we didn't try the other things on the menu. The hotel is in a great location and seemed pretty safe. The only problem we had was our door not shutting properly. It sometimes would seem shut, but would swing open again. We had an experience when we went in to the room and didn't realize the door was wide open behind us. This seemed to happen to our neighbors as well. We could hear their shower running, and their door was wide open. Just make sure you keep pulling on it until it clicks. Overall we were very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

My husband and I stayed for 5 days at Aventura Mexicana for the last part of our honeymoon. We wanted to take some tours and relax. Aventura Mexicana was the perfect place for us.

The hotel is clean, quiet, private and beautiful. The staff is really pleasant and very professional. The Mayan Bistro (restaurant on site) offers delicious breakfast. The continental breakfast can use some fresh fruit but the pastry served compensate a little bit for it. We both loved their coffee!

Located by a the famous 5th avenue, AM provides easy access to a great shopping area, diverse restaurants and quiet area of the beach.

We had good tours recommendations from the concierge desk. He organized everything for us, even book the taxi for our trip back to Cancun.

Their spa offers decent massages. The adult pool isn't big enough to exercise but it is refreshing and very private.

In general, we would totally go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrin-Sylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We were here 8 nights, 2 couples in 2 rooms, and recommend it. Great location on 24th Street, just half a block from 5th Avenue, which is the main promenade for restaurants and shops. The beach is a few blocks away, but this wasn't too bad. We liked the beach clubs down by 6th to 10th Streets better anyway. The blocks are short, so it's a quick walk anywhere.
The hotel is very clean, the staff is very friendly, helpful, and most speak English well. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the water is purified. The bathrooms are open, which is different, but not a problem for us.
There is a separate adult pool in the wing closest to the restaurant. They seem to put couples in this wing, and families in the wing around the main pool, which makes things quieter!
The in-house restaurant isn't very busy, but don't let that scare you off. We had dinner there one night and the food was excellent. We also had the continental breakfast there every morning.
Only problem was that we (four adults) had taken a car service from the airport to the hotel, riding in a Suburban. We wanted to get a similar ride back. My husband speaks fluent Spanish, so he thought the concierge knew what we wanted. Instead we got a little taxi. These are OK to squeeze into for short hops around town, but not for the 45 minute ride to the airport. We should have taken the taxi to the ADO bus station and caught the airport shuttle from there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDfromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

I have stayed here several times and as I commented a couple of months ago, it just keeps getting better and better. I had breakfast at the restaurant, great prices, good food. I had one of the "suites" near the restaurant, it was wonderful with a kitchenette, couches, great TV and a comfy bed. Some of their beds can be a bit hard, so if you aren't comfortable be sure and let them know and they will fix it. These people are professional, responsive, friendly and it is a great experience from the time you walk in to the time you leave. They really go the extra mile!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughesMstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 boys 11 and 13. Everything was just as I had read in the reviews and the rooms and grounds were as gorgeous as the photos posted.
We found the beds comfortable - I was worried they would be hard, we had a decent sized fridge in the room, handy for storing drinks which we then took to the beach in a mini cooler. There was a pc/internet available for guest use in the corridor.
The breakfast included was more than adequate, pastry, toast, juice, tea or coffee. We used the Mayan Bistro to buy a light lunch one day and thought it reasonable , though we later bought drinks during'happy hour' and we were either over charged or maybe they were rather expensive.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meezersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing