We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

This property was amazing from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. The room and property were spotless, immaculately maintained, and were beautiful. The staff was extremely accomodating and willing to help with everyting.The hotel is quiet and peaceful while close enough to 5th Avenue that shopping, restaurants, etc. are all within easy walking distance (1 block).

We also stayed at the Hacienda Paradise while in Playa. The Hacienda Paradise is a very nice property, but in no way is up to the standard of the Aventura Mexicana. A great hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepsnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    451
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
356
856
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christina Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

We booked our 3 week stay from May 1-22/2010 directly through the hotels website. Andy was very attentive to our wants and needs for this vacation. We have done alot of the all-inclusives in the area, but wanted more of a "playa" experience this time. Andy picked out room #1402 for us which is unique for the property. It is a cabana on the second floor with its own private patio area. Since we wanted to prepare a few of our own meals, it also comes equipped with a small fridge, a microwave, coffee maker, water cooler and dishes and utensils for two. It also has a kingsize pillowtop bed, cable tv, safe and plenty of storage/closet space. The washroom has a spacious shower and we never ran out of hot water. The pressure does fluctuate a bit, but was never a real issue. The property has to sides to it. The family side is just beyond the reception area and has its own pool and lounge area. You pass through here to get to the adult side. Which also has its own pool (a little larger than the family side) and also a good sized lounge area. This is also where you will find the free continental breakfast area which is served by the Mayan Bistro. It includes, toast, coffee, juice and a variety of pastries. It is a great place to start your day in the shade of one of the many palms. If you would prefer a full breakfast, that is also available for a very reasonable price. We also enjoyed the club sandwiches and cheeseburgers for lunch. The burgers were especially delicious, great flavour and the meat seemed to actually melt in your mouth...if that's possible. The best meals that we had at the Bistro though were the dinners. Marco the Italian chef, definately knows his stuff. The presentation was very professional and we never had a bad meal. We especially enjoyed the chilles relleno (stuffed Poblano chiles) The prices were some of the lowest we paid while dining in the area and the ambience in the evening is very lush and relaxing. It would be a mistake to not dine @ the Mayan Bistro on your next trip to Playa, even if you stayed somewhere else! The grounds at the AM are always kept up nicely and the staff are always busy keeping up the obvious high standards of the owners. One of the best amenities of the hotel though has to be the main concierge, Luis Ortiz. Luis always will acknowledge all the guests as they pass through the reception area, a nice touch. He is quick to give advice, book a tour or share a joke with you. We found out that the love of his life is fond of carrots. So when you meet him, ask him about his [--]....I mean his donkey. I think its name in Johanna......or no, maybe that's his girlfriends name. I'm not quite sure anymore. Luis speaks perfect english....at least he thinks so! He claims to know a little Italian, spanish or course and also a little german. But that's only when he's drunk. Prosssttttt !! But seriously Luis is one of the diamonds in this hidden gem. He even agreed to distribute the toys that we brought down for some of the under priveledged kids in the area. We didn't get the chance to do it ourselves this time. Thanks for everything Luis! We feel that you wouldn't go wrong by giving the Aventura Mexicana a try during your next trip to paradise. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roughcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AventuraMexicanaGS, Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Gracias amigos!

Thank you so much for your review! would like to let you know all toys have been delivered to the kids!, hope to see you soon here at HOTEL AVENTURA MEXICANA! Luis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Had a great week at the Aventura Mexicana. We were upgraded to a larger room upon arrival. Beautiful tropical gardens surrounding the pools. Very close to fifth avenue where everything is. Concierage and hotel staff were great. Very accomodating. If I ever go back to PDC i would stay there aagain!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jackierf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Just returned from a seven-night stay at the Aventura Mexicana. This hotel is a very good option for the budget-minded traveler looking to be close to the offerings of 5th Avenue.

Rooms at the property are basic, but very clean. Bed was slightly firm, but comfortable. Our room (superior king) came furnished with a king-size bed, two nightstands, two chairs, a small table, dresser, microwave, coffee maker and flat panel television. The room also had two ceiling fans. The bathroom, as mentioned in previous reviews, did not have a door and was only partially private. Not an issue for us, but be advised. Air conditioning worked well. Our room was always very cool.

My only 'complaint' concerning the room was the chairs. They looked old, a bit dirty and in need of replacement; they did not look like they belong in an otherwise modern and clean space. Management mentioned they read these reviews for suggestions...perhaps consider replacing these chairs in the future, as they can detract from the overall asthetic of the room.

The grounds of the hotel, as well as the pools, are well maintained. The floral plantings give a beautiful tropical feel to the property; colorful and cheerful.

The on-site restaurant, Mayan Bistro offers continental breakfast daily (included in the cost of the room), serving coffee, orange juice, toast with various spreads and assorted pastries. Menu options are available for as little as $4 USD. The waitstaff were very helpful and pleasant! The restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner, and offers 2 for 1 drinks from 4 - 7 p.m., daily. Ask the bartender, Luis, to make one of his original beverage creations for you - you will not be disappointed.

Several beach clubs are within walking distance of the hotel. We discovered Wicky's, on 10th, to be a good option for us 40-somethings. A wonderful, relaxed atmosphere. Beach loungers are free of charge, provided each guest satisfies a $100 peso charge for food and beverage (easy enough to do). Staff comes throughout the day, offering slices of fresh fruit and cold towels (free of charge).

If we return to PdC, we would certainly consider staying at this property again. Thanks to Luis, the concierge, Luis, the bartender, and Maria and Alejandra at the Mayan Bistro for a terrific stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arubamasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed her for the 3rd time in a year. All in you all, you can't beat it. The comfort, the space inside of your room and out, the people who work there, the cat, the pool and the Mayan Bistro, the restaurant.

The comfort: Beds are awesome. Temperature in room is perfect.
The space: We've stayed in 3 diferent kinds of rooms there and they are all nice. Even the the smaller rooms have space, character and comfort to keep you happy.
The people: The receptionists at the front desk are genuine....feel like family.
The cat: Olivia. She's perfect. Nice cat who's about 13 years old who lives there. When you stay here, make sure you feed her moist /wet food since she only has few teeth. She is so sweet, we feel like she is ours when we are there. :)
The pool: Perfect. The water is crystal clear and warm. The pool is big, not like other pools I've seen in boutique hotels.
Last but not least, the secret hidden charm of the place: The Mayan Bistro. This hidden little gem is an awesome restaurant. They start so early in the morning with a quaint outside (or inside) setting for breakfast and then go throughout the day and then at night with the really pretty lights on, its perfect. Not to mention the perfect food that Chef Marco will make you. You gotta try the food here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playasuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed at the Aventura Mexicana for 2 weeks, with 2 young children and LOVED it! The pools are awesome and were cleaned constantly. The staff was all AMAZING! The breakfast offered daily is wonderful, as was everything we ordered off of the menu in the Mayan Bistro. Any request we had was immediately addressed. The concierge was also really helpful and kind. I will absolutely stay with the Aventura Mexicana in the future.
The kitty that lives there is adorable and friendly! She hung out in our room almost every night. The hotel is quiet, even on the ground floor. Our room was one of the 6 that surround the "kid" pool and was so convenient. The kids could easily run in and out, grab a snack, get a different toy, etc... and we didn't have to constantly run back and forth with them, since we could see them from the loungers, or the pool! It was also great for afternoon naps. The adults could stay outside and read, lounge, whatever, and it was fine, because we could still see the room.

My only issue is the free computer for guests to use was broken the whole time and not replaced or repaired, and the pillows were a little flat... otherwise, perfection in Playa!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayaBum1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here last November and just got back from another 10 night stay.
There have been a few changes since the winter, like the addition of a PR guy in the lobby who was friendly and knowledgable and there is no longer a public computer which was dissapointing as it really came in handy when we were planning our days but we found an internet cafe just 2 blocks away that charged 20 pesos for 30 minutes which was fine. They also have new lounge chairs which were nice for hanging out by the pool.

Last time we had been upgraded but the hotel seemed to be pretty busy so we had a standard room this time. I knew the walls of the bathroom didn't go up to the ceiling however I was pretty surprised to see there is no door on the bathrooms in these rooms. Makes for very little privacy but we made it work. The safe in the standard room was also different from the deluxe rooms. Our safe was small and plastic and had a key. I prefer the ones in the deluxe rooms that are very heavy steel and have to combo.
The bed in this room was 100 times more comfortable than the last one... it was a different style bed frame and it had a sealy mattress top.
If you are worried about noise request a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Our window faced 10th avenue and although it wasn't super loud you could definitely hear cars going by.

The food was great and the continental breakfast is sufficient. The staff was friendly and the hotel itself is very clean and beautiful.

The location is in the very up and coming north end of town and suits us just fine. Very close to beach access and clubs and amazing restaurants and bars. (Try the 2X1 mojitos at La Hora Feliz on 5th about 2 blocks to your left when leaving the hotel and El Diaz for the best steak right near by).

All in all it was a great stay and we're looking to go back in November.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtl_habs_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing