We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay here if you want to actually experience mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“stay here if you want to actually experience mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

I was a little apprehensive prior to arriving at the hotel, the lack of a big pool had me worried...but once i arrived i knew we were going to love our stay here. Set in tropically landscaped gardens with flowers, waterfalls and boho chic features.

The front of house staff are friendly, personable and helpful, the mayan bistro cafe was our favorite breakfast haunt and the housekeepers did fantastic job throughout our 8 day stay.

The only thing i didnt love was the bathroom's layout, theres no toilet door to shut in the standard rooms so if you're a shy type you may want to ask your partner to go hangout on the porch or take the deluxe king room which appears to have more privacy ;)

The hotel is located in exactly the right spot off of 5th avenue to go to the better restaurants (not the overly touristy home from home places down) and right around the corner from a great tour booking company called Info Tours who'll go out of their way to find the perfect trips for you to go and discover Mexico on.

Marmitas beachclub is a 3-5 minute walk away and is 90 pesos a day (5 pounds) for 2 beds and an umbrella (that midday sun gets damn hot!) which is reasonable as then you get to use the bathroom and shower facilities and to order drinks and food to your beachbed. With white sand and turquoise water, it's pretty amazing.

There's tons of nightlife here too, but after a day exploring in the sun we had dinner and retreated back early most nights.

For all gym bunnies there's an amazing looking gym opposite the hotel that was always buzzing.

All in all we had a really great time in Playa del Carmen and in the Hotel Adventura Mexicana, and the next time we go to SE Mexico we'll absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natastical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    444
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
346
845
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Instantly felt at home. The staff were smiling & always there to help. The beds are the best that I have ever had in Mexico. Small, intimate with beautiful grounds. Yoga 2x a week. Close walk to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. There were good fridges in all the rooms and some of the rooms had a kichenette.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crackedandcrazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I stayed for 5 nights in August 2010 at Aventura Mexicana Hotel and I definitely recommend this hotel… The hotel is decorated in a colonial style; it has 2 nice and small pools, a solarium and really nice gardens… Rooms are nicely decorated with an ok size for the bathrooms. Almost all the rooms have view on the pools. The hotel is really quite and is a perfect hotel for couples, friends and family who are looking to spend a nice time in Playa del Carmen without being disturbed by the noise of nightclubs. If you are travelling with young children the place might not be suitable as there is no Kids Club or things that you would except from a resort.

The Hotel also has an Italian restaurant with great food for the price. The restaurant is an open area close to the pool which makes it really nice for breakfast and dinner...

We also appreciate the advice of the Tour Guide that got us a car at a really nice price, ask him about scuba diving in Puerto Morelos, it was amazing! He offers you different type of trips according to your needs!

The staff in general (reception, restaurant, Cleaning Ladies…) is really nice and helpful!

Great stay, great hotel in Playa del Carmen!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Apologies for not writing this review sooner, my 6 year old and I went to Playa on a whim at the tail end of the summer and were lucky enough to find this gem of a hotel. We spent 6 amazing evenings at this lovely, spotless hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, warm and personable. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and looked after. My daughter met another friendly family and we spent much time around the very clean pool area. The Mayan Bistro food was delicious and the chef even tailor-made dishes upon request. The room with the king size bed was very roomy, tastefully decorated, and extremely clean. When we encountered a very stressful issue suddenly one evening (lost debit card, without $), the staff responded very graciously and assisted me in making phone calls, and the next morning the concierge also became involved, suggesting banks in Playa to try to get cash from my Visa (not an easy adventure). At the same time, one of the new managers intervened to assure me not to worry and that if need be, they would help me out. Luckily, things got straightened out, and I am indebted to his unusual kindness and understanding. I can't speak highly enough about the two new managers who are very competent, experienced, caring of the property and respectful of the staff. We were very sad to have to leave and are looking forward to going back "home," hopefully next February. My daughter often reminisces about our experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I cannot recommend enough this hotel. From the moment we arrived until check out the staff were nothing but friendly, helpful and seemed to genuinely care that we were having a good stay.

Whenever we needed to organise anything, whether it be a taxi, make calls to dive shops or planning accommodation in our next phase of the holiday, we simply asked at reception and they done all the work for us.

The breakfast in the morning is simple but perfectly adequate to get you going and consisted of croissants and pastries, freshly squeezed juice and brewed coffee and toast. It was always served with a smile. This was served in the poolside restaurant so you have the choice of dining al fresco or indoors.

In the evening the bar has a happy "hour" with 2 for 1 cocktails and beers. On two occasion's we decided to stay in the hotel and as a gesture of thanks the staff continued to serve us 2 for 1 for the ENTIRE evening.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely with several different small pools varying in size and shape. There is a Jacuzzi and sun loungers around all the pool areas. Fresh beach towels are provided daily.

The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. There is daily maid service and linen change is optional. Great attention to detail is spent arranging the towels into swans and flowers to give the extra touch. Air con worked well and there is also overhead fans.

I would most definitely stay in this hotel again, i thought it was excellent value for money. It is close enough to stroll to the restaurants and bars but far enough away so that you get a peaceful night sleep without the thud of the nightclub's on your doorstep.

The staff are exceptionally helpful and get 10/10 for customer service

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Welcome to Mexico’s version of the W-Hotel. This new hotel offers all the amenities that Flashpackers love: Free WiFi, 2 pools, free breakfast, a great bar that offers 2 for 1 happy hour drinks from 4-7pm everyday, huge clean rooms with comfortable king size beds, air conditioning, TV & refrigerator in each room, free yoga classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays and amazingly helpful staff. The bartender Aldo is so hospitable and invited us to enjoy Mexico’s Bicentenial with him and his friends. We felt like family.
Antonio at the front desk is great as are the two new young managers who are from the US. They had just added ultra lounge music that plays throughout the hotel. The music plays as long as the bar stays open, so if you want to go to sleep early, opt for a room on the other side of the hotel.
The restaurant was delicious. The chef is from Italy and makes classic Italian dishes. The food presentation is 1st class. Also try one of the many classic breakfast dishes including chiliquitos (a great hangover cure for you late night partiers).
You can also get discount chairs and umbrellas with a coupon from the hotel at Beach Club Kool. Pricing for two chairs and an umbrella were $7 usd. They are right next to Las Mamitas, however this beach club also has a pool. It’s a little closer to town if you are walking down the beach.
If you are driving, guests park for free parking in front of the hotel. Also included are great organic shampoo, soap, conditioner and lotions in each room. We took advantage of low season pricing for a double of $50 usd a night Sunday-Thursday. Prices were $65 for Friday & Saturday night stays.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

My apologies for such an overdue review of this fanstic gem in Playa. My husband and I along with 38 guests stayed here for one week leading up to our wedding Nov 7th in Akumal. This place has the best prices ever! The grounds here are so pretty, staff wonderful, rooms beautiful. We paid nothing for our week stay in the honeymoon suite because we booked such a large party, too good to be true and it WAS!!! I loved the cat that lives at the hotel, we became fast friends. There is a gal onsite that does the best massages at too low of a rate 25$ for an hour, she works from your toes up to the head, gives me goosebumps thinking about it. NO complaints, you won't regret your stay, thank you for making my wedding week unforgettable we still reminise of our late night swims and roof top fun :) I will be back..... Not soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing