We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Secure, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Casa Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Tucan
Ranked #117 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, Secure, Great Location”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

stayed here on 2 occasions in 2 room types - the poolside cabana was a treat with the artwork and troppo theme but the standard room was easier to keep clean and insect free. I enjoyed both and loved the towel artwork always makes you feel special , the restaurant had great coffee and traditional breakfasts were yum. I travelled solo and felt very secure and the walk to the nightlife was well lit and close enough without being on the doorstep.
The staff were so helpful giving help with luggage storage and next travel steps.
I was always welcomed and made to feel at home when I walked in and out to explore etc

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are cooler and feel more like in a jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retromeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    119
    38
    11
    11
See reviews for
39
113
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viareggio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Family witht wo adults, two kids 8 and 10 yrsold, been at Casa Tucan two nights in early may. We had been in Playa years ago for our honeymoon and at that time we stayed in an all inclusive, now we came back for a break and looked for something cheaper, easygoing, but with good wifi, clean, room enough for all our luggage and with a cozy atmosphere: well, Casa Tucan simply had it all, absolutely!
Warm welcome, delicious tropical garden with a nice swimming pool which our kids enjoyed so much, good wifi, excellent location as it's just 100 mtrs from the main street and wide choice of restaurants, juice bars, cafes just outside the door, colorful and fun architecture of the overall establishment which makes the place very special.
We payed 600pesos for a very large room with two king size beds, a very large bathroom with an awesome shower box ( loved the high pressure of the shower tap), just outside the swimming pool.
We had been searching before by visiting few other places in the vicinity, I challenge anyone to find a better money for value hotel in this area: if I'll be back in Playa I know where it's the place to be, it's Casa Tucan

Room Tip: Families would probably prefer one of the rooms at the lower floor, so kids can go in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The last two nights of my two-month stay were enjoyed at Hotel Casa Tucan. The quiet, spacious room was newly remodeled and a blank canvas for future enhancements. The charms of the property include outdoor colorful casas and most exotic tropical sensation experienced through the sense of hearing. I was tranquilized by beautiful conversations flying above me. The hotel is reminiscent of Old Playa, quiet location on the more interesting side of 5th Avenue, with neighborhoods that will certainly enhance your travel experience to Playa.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamita52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Had such a good time in Casa Tucan! I came there with two friends, they had only one double room free, so they brought the matrace so we could fit all. Room was nice, big, clean, bright, with nice big bathroom, big bed, and shelfs... the staff was super friendly and helpful, same at the hotel-bar.
The best part was The Aqua Gym:)! CasaTucan got some amziang guest coming back there every year since many years, they help to create amazing atmosphere. Nice chats, BBQ, music and aqua-gym we were invited to join (and we did)!! I really enjoyed every minute there.
Casa Tucan is pretty and in a good price. I would definitely come back there.

Room Tip: we had a pool view room was really OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassleholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We have stayed at this small hotell on several occasions and we really appreciate it. Nicole and her staff are doing a great job running this place, it feels like home away from home. The location is very good too, close to 5:th avenida and the beach. We will return!!

Room Tip: There are some apartaments, which is very convinient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenA079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour. The rooms were basic but clean and cheerfully decorated, only a few of them have aircon. It's a 5 minute walk to 5th Avenue and a further couple of minutes to the beach. There's a pool at the hotel too.
The staff at reception and the cafe were very helpful, they will arrange anything for you. Plenty of choice for breakfast and good coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Did not stay here but have had breakfast here several times. Good coffee and juice included with the breakfast and the prices are very reasonable. The hotel seems very nice and it too is reasonably priced. Also have a good car rental agency on the premises with reasonable rates. Have Internet available also.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#37 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#128 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#122 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#126 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#185 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tucan

Property: Hotel Casa Tucan
Address: Calle 4 entre Avenida 10 y 15, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Tucan 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tucan Hotel
Casa Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Casa Tucan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing