We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bathroom is too far from room”
Review of Hotel Casa Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Tucan
Ranked #117 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It was good but when you have diarrhea, it's inconvenient to have to walk down two flights of stairs to get to a bathroom (if you go for the shared bathroom option). Also, my husband had to pee in the middle of the night and after walking back up 2 flight of stairs, he was so wide awake it took him another 4 hours to fall asleep again. The location is great--just a block and a half from 5th ave and all the people and shops and restaurants. The pasta in the cafe here was very bland (hope that's not what gave us diarrhea).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutmeg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

The staff is friendly and oh so helpful. Nicole at the front desk can help you with tours or airport transfers Only 1 1/2 blks from the beach. AVOID Isis car rental that is on the property. The rental rate states that insurance is included in the price, yet both of our credit cards had $400 hold on them that did not fall off until after we returned leaving us strapped for cash our last two days there.

Room Tip: You have to ask for an air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

stayed here on 2 occasions in 2 room types - the poolside cabana was a treat with the artwork and troppo theme but the standard room was easier to keep clean and insect free. I enjoyed both and loved the towel artwork always makes you feel special , the restaurant had great coffee and traditional breakfasts were yum. I travelled solo and felt very secure and the walk to the nightlife was well lit and close enough without being on the doorstep.
The staff were so helpful giving help with luggage storage and next travel steps.
I was always welcomed and made to feel at home when I walked in and out to explore etc

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are cooler and feel more like in a jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retromeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Family witht wo adults, two kids 8 and 10 yrsold, been at Casa Tucan two nights in early may. We had been in Playa years ago for our honeymoon and at that time we stayed in an all inclusive, now we came back for a break and looked for something cheaper, easygoing, but with good wifi, clean, room enough for all our luggage and with a cozy atmosphere: well, Casa Tucan simply had it all, absolutely!
Warm welcome, delicious tropical garden with a nice swimming pool which our kids enjoyed so much, good wifi, excellent location as it's just 100 mtrs from the main street and wide choice of restaurants, juice bars, cafes just outside the door, colorful and fun architecture of the overall establishment which makes the place very special.
We payed 600pesos for a very large room with two king size beds, a very large bathroom with an awesome shower box ( loved the high pressure of the shower tap), just outside the swimming pool.
We had been searching before by visiting few other places in the vicinity, I challenge anyone to find a better money for value hotel in this area: if I'll be back in Playa I know where it's the place to be, it's Casa Tucan

Room Tip: Families would probably prefer one of the rooms at the lower floor, so kids can go in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The last two nights of my two-month stay were enjoyed at Hotel Casa Tucan. The quiet, spacious room was newly remodeled and a blank canvas for future enhancements. The charms of the property include outdoor colorful casas and most exotic tropical sensation experienced through the sense of hearing. I was tranquilized by beautiful conversations flying above me. The hotel is reminiscent of Old Playa, quiet location on the more interesting side of 5th Avenue, with neighborhoods that will certainly enhance your travel experience to Playa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamita52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Had such a good time in Casa Tucan! I came there with two friends, they had only one double room free, so they brought the matrace so we could fit all. Room was nice, big, clean, bright, with nice big bathroom, big bed, and shelfs... the staff was super friendly and helpful, same at the hotel-bar.
The best part was The Aqua Gym:)! CasaTucan got some amziang guest coming back there every year since many years, they help to create amazing atmosphere. Nice chats, BBQ, music and aqua-gym we were invited to join (and we did)!! I really enjoyed every minute there.
Casa Tucan is pretty and in a good price. I would definitely come back there.

Room Tip: we had a pool view room was really OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We have stayed at this small hotell on several occasions and we really appreciate it. Nicole and her staff are doing a great job running this place, it feels like home away from home. The location is very good too, close to 5:th avenida and the beach. We will return!!

Room Tip: There are some apartaments, which is very convinient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenA079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#30 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#116 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#197 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eclipse
Hotel Eclipse
#158 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#104 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tucan

Address: Calle 4 entre Avenida 10 y 15 | Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £19 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Tucan 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tucan Hotel
Casa Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Casa Tucan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing