We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really liked this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Tucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Tucan
Ranked #119 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We really liked this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel that's convenient, this is a great place. We got a room for 600 pesos, we could have had a kitchenette for only 100 pesos more. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. There's a courtyard with a nice pool, the restaurant is good (good coffee!) and the staff is friendly. It's only a few minutes' walk to La Quinta and the beach is also only minutes away.
Carole & Yvan, Quebec, Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clermont C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    111
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
34
105
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have visited Casa Tucan many times over the years. We have been satisfied with the rooms and service. This month, we specifically reserved 2 specific rooms for a reunion. They wrote the numbers down and guaranteed that we would have this room. When we arrived, at the correct time, a line had been drawn through or room numbers. We were assigned rooms we specifically did not want, but we were tired and had to accept these accommodations. Travelers should be aware of this practice.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabanas on the second floor. These each have 2 double beds. Some night club noise to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Casa Tucan over the holiday season in December 2013. The main purpose of our trip was to go diving at one of the local dive shops, and the hotel was PERFECT for this.

First, the location is excellent - it's right near 5th Ave (the touristy district), but also just far enough off the avenue that you avoid most of the undesirable things that come with a really busy place (noise, traffic, etc.). It was actually half a block from our dive shop, which was perfect!

Second, the hotel's restaurant opens at 7:00 a.m., which enabled us to have a quick and hearty breakfast before meeting at the dive shop at 8:00 a.m. every day. The restaurant food was straightforward, tasty, and a good value. The girls working in the restaurant were always very friendly.

We had a cabana room, which was poolside, and attached to two other cabana rooms. The room was larger than we expected, with a private tiled bathroom (perfect for hanging up all our wet scuba gear). It was in good shape and was cleaned daily. It was nothing extravagant, but that's not what we wanted - and considering we were on a budget, we were very happy with the room!

The hotel's main courtyard is full of lush vegetation - and with that, a lot of birds, lizards, house geckos, and at night, bats eating the fruit in the trees! While we were there, they were trimming some of the foliage to keep things tidy. I loved that it was lush. Just be prepared to wake up to a lot of birds chirping in the morning (which I personally enjoyed)!

Finally - the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, even though it was a super busy time of year and the hotel was full. I really appreciated the hospitality.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to you if you are looking for a nice, clean place to stay in Playa while you explore the city, dive, or do other things, and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Cabana 21 is attached to two other cabanas, is poolside, and is relatively spacious, with a large ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenaneedscoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Anyone hoping to stretch their budget should stop here for a meal. Breakfast is great and very reasonable. It includes juice and coffee with your meal. Our second visit this year found us ordering a fish filet in butter and garlic and it was excellent. A beer, soft drink, main course and dessert cost $24.00 for two people. Best fish we've had so far. Beautiful presentation and a darling waitress. Don't miss this spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Casa Tuscan was nice enough and for the price, it is very hard to beat in Playa del Carmen (which tends to be a little on the pricey side - think the Ibiza of Mexico). It does have quite a backpacker feel to it, but it's really well located, only a couple of blocks from the beach and a block from Avenue 5, where it all happens - very central. The room was a little musky, but it was cleaned every day and was fine for our weekend there. There is a great pool too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisversus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The food and service left a bit to be desired. I had the tomato soup and ham and cheese sandwich. They must ration the ham. Soup was warm yet tasty. I was actually hoping to eat at Romeo next door, but closed till 4. This place offers nothing noteworthy

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bizatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This family hotel has a small but lovely garden with trees and a nice swimming pool. The hotel is the perfect place for low budget travellers who still want to have the comfort of a hotel with own bathroom, daily cleaning service in the room, etc. Also it is safe, because they have a nightguard as well as friendly staff (and not to forget the big tree in the entrance as a source of force). But the best thing is:The managers really care. When we had a problem with a touroperator in Playa one of them had an open ear for us and also talked to the touroperator in spanish so that - in the end - everything could be solved in the right way. I don't think that staff from a big hotel would put so much effort in a tiny tourist-problem. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eva r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#130 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#35 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#147 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#88 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Tucan

Property: Hotel Casa Tucan
Address: Calle 4 entre Avenida 10 y 15, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Tucan 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Tucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tucan Hotel
Casa Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Casa Tucan Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing