We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Monkey Hostal
Ranked #52 of 173 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Super location”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed 2 week and feel there like at home. Hostel stuff are super nice. Super location (they just moved to new building). Definitely recommend, because for me it was the best hostel in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evaldas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
9
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voru, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The location was excellent and most important it was quite cheap. There was a garden where it was possible to cook and barbeque. There where also some shared dishes and a refrigerator. To our surprise we even had a delicious breakfast. The staff was really friendly and helpful. They even took us to a cenote for free. We only had to pay yhe entrance fee. The room we stayed at looked like a typical hostel room, so don't expect anything fancy. But we had a great time there and I recommend it to backpackers on budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

When our group of friends pulled in the Green Monkey Hostal, David greeted us like a friend and found us a dorm where we could all be together, which was exactly what we were hoping for! In the touristy jungle of Playa Del Carmen, this hostel is like a little oasis of local atmosphere, only 3 blocks from the beach. If you feel like a party animal, just walk 5 minutes and you're in a bar, if you feel like chilling out, just have some rest in one of the hamacs of the yard.. or enjoy a nice fresh juice in the shop next door. For a reasonable price, in an eco-friendly chilled-out place, you'll have a great time! We had booked for 3 nights at first, at the end we stayed for 7! Loved it!
Also while you're there, try one of the tour they offer, they are excellent ! I mean EXCELLENT ! :-)

Room Tip: There are lots of different rooms from big dorms to double room. Just ask and have a look!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Perfect place in Playa for budget travellers who will be happy to be around cool people, the place has a friendly and relaxed vibe, away from the hecticness of the 5th avenue, and still only 3-min walk to the beach! Cheap taquerias around where the locals eat.
(there is no hot water, but does it really matter?)

They also do tours, we (group of 11) went with Marlon and had a wonderful and fun time in the mayan sites.
Try it out for 1 night, and you'll probably want to stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a great, basic hostel for those travellers on a budget who are more interested in meeting cool people and enjoying some mexican culture more than fancy sheets or hot water.
It's well located just 3 blocks from the beach and surrounded by good cheap local places to find a taco and it's just a short walk to all the shopping, clubbing areas but far enough away aswell.
It seems to be constantly in the process of rennovation so if you're looking for somewhere well furnished and super clean it's not ideal but if you have different priorities it's great.
They're quite eco minded there so if you're interested in recycling, supporting the local businesses etc... then you'll make good friends here.
The best part is the tours they offer. It's easy to organise personalised tours through the hostel with some great guides to see any of the main attractions you want but they'll make an effort to include good local eateries on the way, take you to some lesser known local spots and even take you into some of the Mayan communities they support.
If you're interested in seeing Yucatan Mexico then stay here.

Room Tip: Bigg rooms with lots of beds. If you're travelling in a group it's ideal. If you're a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 482DanMac482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitch144693
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Green Monkey is a new, Mexican-owned hostel in the process of being updated. This place was great! The location was quiet but still close, within walking distance, to everything you could ever want to do in Playa. It is basic but clean, comfortable, and local friendly - which is the best part.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitch144693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This place was awful. I payed for four nights and just walked out at 6am after the second night.

I've stayed at many many backpackers over the years with different levels of hygiene but this was the Worst. The two toilets (one with a seat and one without) were usually out of action with no water to flush them or no paper, the private room had 3/4 high walls so you could hear everyone like they were in the room with you. The whole place was generally filthy. I couldn't use the kitchen with no water to wash the pots from the last person (however long ago that was)

The wifi was fast. Location not too bad but further than other hostels.

I though it might be ok as I booked last minute and it was the only room available but was wrong.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
#159 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
#151 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caminante B&B
Caminante B&B
#19 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 207 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Ginevra
Casa Ginevra
#118 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playalingua del Caribe
Playalingua del Caribe
#46 of 207 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Monkey Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Monkey Hostal

Property: Green Monkey Hostal
Address: Boulevard Costero 16, Playa del Carmen 77930, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Green Monkey Hostel in Playa del Carmen to get the perfect holiday, relax and experiences the local culture.Green Monkey Hostel is located just 2 blocks from the beach 'Mamitas' one of the best beaches in the area and one block from 5th Avenue, where you will find bars, restaurants and shops.Green Monkey is an ecological hostel we are in favor of protecting the environment an we promote recycling and waste separation..There are a different types the rooms:- private rooms with bathroom- semiprivate rooms with shared bath- female bedroom with shared bath- mixed bedroom with private bathIncluded breakfast, bicycle, WiFi end reception service 24 hrs.We offer attractive discount on activities and excursions, we also have common areas such as garden, pool table and kitchen.THE BEST PLACE TO FEEL AT HOME!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Monkey Hostal Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing