We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Diamond on 5th Avenue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #71 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Diamond on 5th Avenue”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a great hotel right on 5th avenue 3 minute walk to the beach! It is a small hotel with a wonderful staff in a perfect location. It is not expensive and is very clean. It is not an all inclusive , however, offers every thing one could possibly want. There is even a kitchenette room if you want to cook. I will definitely return with my spouse and tell more friends - This is a diamond on 5th avenue no doubt about it and we do travel to know the difference :)
Great job everyone that works at this property you have a return guest for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    69
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
136
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed 6 nights on this hotel and seriously this has been one of the best low budget hotels I've ever been to. Rooms are big and clean and the location... just perfect! It's on the heart of 5ta avenida and there are many great beaches so near the hotel + supermarkets are like one block away! Only minuses I could say about this hotel are that our shower drain was stinking (not badly) and the language skills of the staff were not meeting ours from time to time.

Room Tip: ask for the room which is not facing to the 5ta avenida if you like it quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kataaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our main priorities when searching for a hotel in Playa del Carmen were that we wanted to be centrally located (close to 5th Ave and the beach), and have a kitchenette. We got both for a great price at Xtudio Comfort! Our room was bigger than expected, the location was superb and very safe, and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We thought it might get a bit noisy at night being directly on Fifth Avenue but with the windows closed and air conditioner on it was fine. We also had access to the rooftop pool at their sister hotel, Illusion, which we took advantage of one afternoon. We would definitely recommend Xtudio!

Room Tip: Even though balcony rooms cost a little extra, we really loved having it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days. The hotel is located in the hearth of the 5 Avenida few minutes from the beach. Perfect location!!!! The rooms are nice and clean, but what made the difference on our stay was the service, Aureliano Lopez, the front desk agent not only meet but exceeded our expectations and needs... and believe me we were pretty needy...One day, he even got us a little stove, after he spent sometimes trying to figure out a way to make us a cappuccino... I believe he got the stove from his house..the rest of the staff was pleasant, but he definitely made a huge difference on our experience!!! Thank you!!!!!

Room Tip: uhm.. not sure... the mornings were a bit loud.. the housekeeping was slamming the doors.. maybe sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great hotel! Clean with a great staff. Prax(usually on 2nd shift) was the best.
Super clean, safe and secure. Close to the beach and everything you need. Looking forward to an even longer stay in February, hopefully at Extudio.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loomis41973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved our stay here! While researching for our trip, we wanted a place with a kitchenette, close to the action on 5th, close to the beach and reasonably priced. Xtudio met all of our requirements!! Our room was in the back so we enjoyed the muffled sounds of the nightlife on 5th. The tequilaphone player at the restaurant across the street was our nighttime lullaby! While others might find it "noisy", we enjoyed it. We could hear noise from close locations while in the bathroom, but only because the window was missing a piece of glass and wouldn't close. We brought it to the attention of the desk clerk right away on our first day, and were told daily that it would be fixed. Twice we were told that measurements had been taken, and we were even present one time when they came to check it out, but it never did get resolved. An inconvenience, but not a deal breaker. It even became a bit of a joke with the front desk staff. That was our only issue because it would make the room hot and stuffy when the maid service would clean our room, leave the bathroom door open and turn off the A/C. We understand that electricity is expensive, and the need to turn off the A/C but could never communicate the request to leave the bathroom door closed :) The A/C worked fabulously and the room would be cool again within 5 minutes. Kudos to the housekeeping staff for keeping the hotel so clean. I would hate to have to clean up so much sand every day!!! We loved the staff, who were all so helpful with carrying items to and from our 3rd floor room, to making sure we had directions to locations we wanted to visit. We had fresh towels every time we went to the beach, unlimited bottled water and the ability to refill the bottles from the water cooler. Ice was available and the full sized fridge was great. We shopped at Wal-Mart and stocked up on supplies, bought deli meat from PDC Smoked Meats which is near PlayaCar, (thanks to the staff for helping us find the location), bought fresh baked bread from a fellow American who lives there and had the ability to have meals in the room. We toured another location owned by Xperience, Illusions, and spent part of the day enjoying the rooftop pool and views and toured a room there also. We are already planning our next trip and most likely will stay here again. One tip, the lamps on the nightstand do not make good reading lights, so if you like to read in bed, either bring a book light or a Nook or Kindle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Thanks to Xtudio! Our accommodations we perfect, the location is unbeatable for the price. Our balcony overlooked 5th Ave & we were maybe 1/2 block from the beach. Calle 4 & Calle 6 both lead to the beach. The staff are just unblievable too, they helped us order food delivery & great with direction. They all speak English very well which was a plus, since our Spanish is so poor. The housekeeping staff, OMG they ROCK! Mary was so sweet and did such an amazing job. Loved the towel art, especially the swan towel figure & heart balloons hanging from our ceiling. Our room was stocked with everything & if we didn't have it, they would get it for us. We paid about $1000 USD for 15 days, even less if you pay in full prior to arrival. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was king bed with 5th Ave overlook balcony, so awesome. But a few times it was a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear ambasssador( as we kindly name our guests),

We would llike to thank you for your visit to our hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen: Xtudio Comfort by Xperience Hotels! We are glad to know that our attentive services, facilities and the maid service made from your stay an incredibly anniversary!!. Rest assured that we will share this wonderful comment and strive to improve the services we offer everyday.

We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#103 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#122 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Property: Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Address: 5th Avenue Between 4th And 6th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel El Sol del Caribe)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtudio is a beautifully priced comfortable hotel located in the very heart of the world famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. Its essence lies in the simplicity, functionality and safety of the 10 spacious studio-apartments coupled with a distinguished "Infinite Hospitality" provided by Xperience Hotels. Xtudio best trait is the premium location, at literally steps from the pristine beach and the variety of things to see and do in Playa del Carmen. Each studio features a kitchenette, dining room and some of them a balcony overviewing 5th avenue. Xtudio counts with safe deposit box and free wifi in each room. Relax on the sun lounges and enjoy an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea from the new roof top of Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels. The excitement of the trendy restaurants, bars and clubs, the convenience of all the exclusive shops and services, make Xtudio the right place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtudio Comfort Hotel By Xperience Hotels Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing