We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Express Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Express Playa del Carmen
Ranked #118 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

If you want something basic just for rest after a long day this small hotel is the option, the price is according to the facilities, the location is not bad at all is located 8 minutes from the 5th avenue (walk time), and the breakfast is very basic but good!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Express Playa del Carmen did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable
Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    137
    104
    45
    37
See reviews for
171
118
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

A little overpriced but clean new looking rooms with great front counter staff made my stay here pleasant BUT as most American breakfast are normally very ordinary this breakfast was great lots to choose from IF you get there early, if you go to breakfast late you may struggle. Overall very surprised at the small but very clean very well run hotel

Room Tip: Must go top floor other wise very noisy tiles in all rooms above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good afternoon Brian.

Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Express Playa del Carmen did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I am staying in this hotel for an extended business trip. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff here are very helpful with any questions or small problems, there is free wifi in the rooms and public areas. Hairdryers and irons are available from reception if needed.
The breakfast, although self service with paper plates is sufficient, including coffee, tea, orange juice, yoghurts, ham, lettuce, fresh fruits, Danish pastries, pancakes and sliced bread. A good start to the day (albeit very busy some mornings).

The hotel is on the main highway but set back from the road so traffic noise is not a problem. There are several eating options nearby at shopping malls, along the highway or a 5 minute drive to 5th avenue where there is a lot of choice for bars, restaurants and shopping.

There are numerous eateries that will deliver to the hotel, Dominos, Ta Camaron, Hong Kong Chinese, Hot Bakery and probably many more.

the hotel has a lot of parking spaces which is free of charge, a small gym and a pleasant pool area.

Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Express Playa del Carmen did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night only in Playa Del Carmen and had booked a room at City Express throught Expedia for about 50$.

We expected very little but were highly suprised at the facility. Everything was squeaky clean and looked new, like 2013 new.

Staff was billangual and very nice, wifi worked flawlessly. The hotel is located 6$(taxi) away from the heart of Playa Del Carmen's bar and restaurant scene. Only dissapointement was the breakfast buffet but.....you cant have everything.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Good afternoon Marc,

Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Express Playa del Carmen did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Nice, clean, good customer service. Conveniently located right off the highway, near a lot of shops and restaurants. The location was busy enough that we felt safe in the evening. It's also not far (driving) from a lot of attractions like Xel-ha. According to the signs there is a beach nearby, probably not walking distance though, or it might just be a long walk.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tara973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay at City Express Playa del Carmen comply with your expectatives and our standars of service and quality make you feel confortable.

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not being familiar with anything in this Mexican beach city, I choose a familiar sounding name and was not disappointed. This was my first stay with City Express and now know they are in many locations and I will be pleased to book with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Good afternoon Pillip.

Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Express Playa del Carmen did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable

Looking foward for your next visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was my first City Express and it really was a pleasant stay. It's brand new and just seemed to pop up overnite. Located outside the party zone and away from the beaches it is very business traveller orientated - which is great when one becomes burnt out from the hustle and bustle of Playa. It's also just a short cab ride to the chaos and water through Playacar - always a treat ( sometimes going to Playa can be like going to the circus - great fun and entertainment but one doesn't have to live in the three rings to enjoy the clowns). A short hop over the Centro Maya for all your needs. My major concern was the close proximity to 307 - the main highway. My fears were for naught, very little road noise. The rooms were a bit small, as was the flat screen but nothing too onerous - it was comfortable, clean and new. Smelled new, felt new and very quiet. Bed was a bit firm but very comfortable and the room had the usual appointments. Great water pressure, very nice bathroom. Staff was great, not overly friendly but there to help with anything you needed or requested, with no attitude. My lack of Spanish skills were a bit of a factor but every effort was made to communicate or help. The weight room was small with a few cardio machines, business centre was small but great and the pool was tucked away, quiet and quite nice. Lots of parking out front - I'm always concerned about a spot for Rod but there was motorcycle parking in plain view of the front desk so I slept well. Breakfast wasn't bad - fresh, free and full. Hey, I must have enjoyed my stay here - planned to only stay one night - wound up there for three. And I have lots of other places I can stay at while in Playa. For a budget hotel this Inn was a great deal - both for cost and accommodations.

As always I shot video of this Inn @ http://youtu.be/TiDHBAWPefg

location @ googlemap of Playa del Carmen @ www.yolotraveller.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay in our hotel City Express Playa del Carmen meet your expectations and know that our service standards and quality made ​​him feel very comfortable during their stay.

We said goodbye to you, but first thank you for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#121 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#35 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.1 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#89 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magic Express Hotel
Magic Express Hotel
#182 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Playa del Carmen

Property: City Express Playa del Carmen
Address: Av. Balamkanche Playacar | Manzana 30 Lote 4, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Express Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your City Express Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Express Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing