We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smelly vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #32 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I just returned from this resort. I read that their rooms smelled a bit so thought nothing of it when I walked in to the room until I woke up sick on night 2 from a really bad odor in my room. I complained and they came to fix it. They indicated that the pipes in my room backed up. My clothes smelled and there were no other rooms available to move me. Whatever they did fixed the problem but I've spent the past two days cleaning all my clothes and luggage. Gross! No apology from anyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear guest,

We are completely sorry about the situation you had to go through during your stay with us. We understand that was not the best way to start your vacations. Unfortunately, maintenance incidences may occur at any moment and our team does their best to fix it as fast as they can. Having the hotel at its full capacity, unable us to provide you another room. At the end the problem was fixed.

Please accept an apology from us and please try to remember the other elements that you could enjoy since the beginning of your vacations, like the amazing food quality and attentive service provided from our personnel.

Please provide us another opportunity to show you that the inconvenience you experienced is not a common one at our premises. Receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,493 - 4,499 of 7,479 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I just came back from our holidays and it was absolutely amazing!!!! The food is just delicious and the staff is really nice, Pablo and OScar at the hydrogrill always surprised us. At family concierge they treated us like royalty, my kids couldnt have been happier Isreel was always looking after us and making sure we had all we needed, he prepared a jacuzzi with balloons and an octopus that my kids really miss.. id also like to thank Pauline at family concierge who was really attentive and Gerardo the conierge manager for being always looking after us.
We are deffinetly coming back in our next holidays!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that your family vacations at Paradisus La Esmeralda – Family Concierge were full of surprises and now all your family members have an unforgettable great experience.

We will transfer you recognition to Pablo and Oscar, both took excellent care of you at the Hydro grill and to Paulina, Israel ang Gerardo from the concierge staff. All of them deserve to know they were an important part of your holidays.

Remember that at Family Concierge our youngest guests are pampered the same way you do it at home… We will be waiting for your prompt return.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just returned from a week at Paradisus Esmerelda w/my family (2 adults & 3 teens 19,16,14). We were very, very pleased w/the hotel accommodations (we had suites), the extremely courteous staff and the delivious food. We had several outside excursions (Tulum extreme (Tulum, zipline and rappel), Dolphin Discovery, sportfishing, snorkeling. All excursions were easily arranged w/quick pickup and dropoff, very easy and fairly close to hotel. We are considering returning again next December. The restaurant w/rodizio was great, the Japanese hibachi was delicious and the chef at Venta? or Nao? actualy cooked the tuna we caught on our fishing excursion. He did a marvelous job w/it, very creative and delicious and made 3 courses of tuna. We could not have asked for a better trip (and btw, we are very discerning customers, lol).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us and with other tourists the fantastic experience you had during your last visit to Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

We feel completely satisfied about our overall performance in all the resort areas, where you and your family only had to worry about letting us pamper you.

Our arms are wide open to host you next December for the second time.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Beautiful 1st class hotel! The hotel was spotless and modernly decorated! The resturaunts were easy to find since they were all located in and around the same area and had a wide variety of specialty foods. Our favorite was the Market. The only drawback we found was most were booked solid the first day we arrived and we were not able to make reservations at a fair time of the evening. We ended up eating most of our meals between 7:30 and 9:00 PM. We were there at a very busy time of year,(New Years) but no one mentioned booking reservations before we arrived to the hotel. However, we did find that if you couldn't book a reservation, that stopping by the resturaunt to see if there were cancellations at the opening of the resturaunt, we managed to get into all the dinner facilities we wanted to included the Teppan Grill. All the food in each place was excellent!!!
There were plenty of pools, cabanas, and chairs to enjoy the afternoon sun, plus the walk to the beach was very convenient! Lots of food and premium drinks and my teen loved the room service.
One draw back ........if you have teens, there isn't much for them to do on their own. We normally cruise when we take our daughter on vacation and the cruise ships have planned activities for our teen 24/7. She was a bit disappointed as an only child not to have met anyone at the hotel to hang out with and their teen club was non existant. Some of the resturaunts do not allow kids or kids can be served only up to a certain time, so be aware of that.
The service was good and we always came back to a clean room. Free internet/computers in the lobby which was convenient when we were booking excusions or looking for things to do in Playa, Cozumel and the surrounding areas!
The staff especially the concierge were always working hard to help us with reservations or? and seemed to really want to please us.
Overall the hotel was beautiful, pools plentiful, lots of great food and good drinks!! Great staff and helpful! We would go back again but not with our teen. I love to look for travel deals and considering it was over the NY holiday, I think the $2800 we paid for all three of us was a steal of a deal. I received that deal on a travel website. We heard others who went through travel agencies paid up to $8,000 for the same trip and type of room. So look for those internet bargains!!

Tip: If you want to go to Tulum, don't waste your money on a tour. There are white vans that will take you to Tulum for $4.00 per person in the town of Playa Del Carmen. It is a $10.00 cab ride to Playa and the vans can be picked up Calle 2 between 15th and 20th Avenues. They stop at the enterance of Xel-Ha and Tulum. If you do not feel like taking the bus to Chitzen Itza, Tulum is a smaller version and on the beautiful coastline.
We also went to Xel-Ha which is a gorgeous natural water park. Our entry included free snorkel gear (25.00 returnable deposit required per gear borrowed) tubes for tubing on the river, a nice nature hike, zip lining, rope walking, all we could eat and drink including alcoholic beverages, and lockers. things that cost extra, manatee, snuba and dolphin encounter. This is a must do if you have kids. The snorkeling was in a natural perserve that went on forever. We saw stingrays ,and a variety of fish. Just a beautiful park to spend the day at and in your bathing suit all day.

Have a great time in Playa!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a pool view and it was so cool to look out our window at night and see the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pnkdrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with two toddlers from December 21-28 and had a wonderful time at the Paradisus. The food was very good (Mole and Bana in particular), the service was wonderful and the nightlly kid's activities were excellent. We never left our kids at the Kid's Zone alone but lots of parents did and they were well taken care of. The only drawback was (a) reception which was extremely slow; (b) the beach, which was very narrow; and (c) the pool water which was very cold. We found out that the pool in the family concierage area was heated but they wouldn't let us go in. The kids didn't seem to mind but it took some getting used to for us. We are hoping to head back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for sharing with us your opinion and part of the experience you had at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We feel satisfied that you enjoyed the comfort and amenities from your one bedroom suite, our unique LUXEclusive plan with a wide variety in food and beverage in all our specialty restaurants and bars, and the activities at the Kids Zone, where our younger visitors meet other infants, play together and learn new things.

We will transmit your notes to the front desk as they are valuable for us.
Thank you again for your preference, and remember: we will be waiting for your return to or little piece of Paradise with your family.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Jsut returned from a great stay in Playa. Hotel is very modern with a great layout. All the restaurants and bars are located in one central area which made things very easy.
Had 2 rooms, swim out master one bedroom suite and adjoining swim out one bedroom suite. Both rooms were great and offered tons of room. Only problem is the pools outside the rooms were very cold and were shaded for most of the day.
Beach area was not on par with the beaches in the Playacar area, very small and quite rocky.
Food and service were well above other all inclusive resorts we have stayed at.
I would like to give special mention to Alejandro Sosa, Rubi Fuentes and Usias Jimenez, North Avenue Bar staff who made our families evenings and nights great., and to Javier from the La Esmeralda beach who was very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

By your review, we can see you have taken advantage of all the facilities, tasted some delightful meals at our restaurants, walked by the sandy an unique beach surrounded by our protected mangrove, relaxed at your swim up suite; without excluding the warm service that the staff provided every day.

Alejandro, Rubí, Usias and Javier will be informed about your recognition to their outstanding job as they deserve to know they were a significant part from your overall Paradisus experience.

Please let us know in advance about your future vacation at Paradisus La Esmeralda.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

They try very hard but fail on too many small things. From blowing dinner reservations to the on again, off again ability to get anything you order correct such as unsweetened ice shows up with sugar, asking 3 times for a cup of coffee before getting it at dinner or the correct entree.

I thing they have a nice place but I dont think they have a staff to really support it and thats a management issue. It you do not speak Spanish you can have some very tough moments getting what you need. Simple things like trying to get the staff to understand that the coffee machine in the family enterance area needed milk was just not possable 2 mornings and it was 7:30am, not like it was crack of dawn.

The rooms were very nice but then we did book the best they offered. Pool area also nice and well managed in the kids warm pool. Felt sorry for the staff becuase most orders had to be delevered 2x before correct even after repeating them 2x. But again, the people were nice, just not trained to a 5 star level.

Food for a all inclusive was ok. Best on the list was Mole', by far.

Paid alot for that "black out" period and maybe that colored my view. Overall, my kids had fun and I wish them success in getting their staff up to speed, it could be a 5 star resort, no doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petes122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Paradisus La Esmeralda. At Paradisus we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important.

Your notes have been sent to our human resources department as they are in charge in arranging training programs to our staff and we are sure they will take your notes under consideration, as well as our restaurants managers to reinforce the special care on details.

It would be fantastic if you come back to Paradisus and receive the service you were expecting.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,011 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
2,315 reviews
17.1 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £235 - £911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing