We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best family vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best family vacation ever”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Me my wife and son 1 1/2 old Stayed here May 11 through the 18th and had a fabulous time This is one of the best All-inclusive resorts we have been too (Dreams,Secrets,Iberostar Grand and Many others) The food was very good at all the restaurants, pool grill and the buffet did not have one bad meal We upgraded on arrival to the Family Concierge and I thought it was well worth it for The private pool, the private beach area and all the little things they put in the room for my son All the workers at the family concierge pool were great always checking to see if you needed anything I want to give a special thank you to Israel from the Family Concierge he was unbelievable He would check on us first thing in the morning and then when he left for the night to see if there is anything we needed We took my son to the kids club a couple of times and he loved it We will definitely be coming back next year

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share your experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the benefits of our exclusive area Family Concierge; we are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed our dining options, our facilities and the service from Israel, thank you for mention him.

The personalized service from Family Concierge is one of the attributes of our Brand, we are very happy to know that Israel was beyond what you expected and his service was unbelievable. All our staff is very committed to provide a quality and excellent service, it is an honor to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay with us.

We hope to host you next year, and make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,662
    1,359
    447
    151
    108
See reviews for
4,719
849
28
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Im writing this review to rave about the kind and impeccable service received from Cinthia my family conceirge and the rest of the paradisus family! The resort is amazing and every details has been thought out. There is nothing to complain about and believe me i am
Very picky. They supply us with mosquito spray at the open concept restaurants and everywhere i go the staff just wants to make sure u are having a good time. I came with a group of 11 and my friend was planning a proposal on the beach. Cinthia went through great lengths to make this happen because we needed to bring in two horses. She is knowledgable, sweet and very easy to be around. The entire group and I were very pleased with the food, amenities and hospitality provided. Anyone looking for CLEAN modern resort with excellent food and service should book at paradisus. The food is definitely up to Par with 5 stars here in Toronto. Cinthia! If you are reading this I just wanna say HELLO and thanks again for everything ;) from room 3305

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Tweety52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Esmeralda for your past getaway. And thank you for letting us be part of important moments.

It is a truly honor for us to know that you had a wonderful vacations in our Resort, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed our Family Concierge area, our culinary experience and to know that the service provided from our staff and especially from Cinthia was impeccable.

Our team is very committed with all our guests, in order to offer a quality and excellent service, we are very glad to read that they were beyond.

Will be honor for us host to you again, in the future and pamper you again.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for 6 days at the Paradisus La Esmeralda with our 2 kids (3 and 6) and had an amazing time.

First I'd like to recognize "Zezinho" at the front desk who went above and beyond to assist us with any thing we needed.

The food at all the restaurants was amazing, both our kids could always find something to eat.

My 6 year old loved the kids club. I felt very comfortable leaving him there. The staff was very attentive and played with the kids. One day my 3 year old started crying when we were at dinner, they called for us and when I arrived she was being held and soothed by a staff member. Great service!

The pool for the kids was great. The pirate ship gave them something to do while in the pool. Didn't find any of the pool too cold as some other reviewers complained.

I feel the "activity" level was a bit boring but maybe that is the vibe the paradius wants. Very relaxing. We've stayed at the Iberostar in Jamaica and found their afternoon poolside activities to be very entertaining and upbeat. One day the Perla side (adults only) had a pool party with a DJ playing club mixes. I was very jealous and upset we had nothing at the Esmeralda side. Parents need to party too!!

The location of the jet ski was next to the family section of the beach. This should definatley be moved at the kids were not able to go in the water. What's the point? The jet skis should be at the end of all the lounge chairs away from any families.

WE enjoyed being able to go the center of town. Only a 5 mn cab ride. Completely felt safe and secure. Cool shops, bars, and restaurants. WE even ate out one evening. Must do!

All in all we truly enjoyed our vacation and definately plan on going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you, for sharing your experience during your stay in our Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We are very happy to read that you had a great Family Vacation; it is an honor for us to know, that you enjoyed our culinary experience, the pool area, that your kids enjoyed our kids zone and the service provide it from our staff, especially from Zezinho, we are very proud to have persons like him working with us.

Your suggestions are very important for us, because thank to that we can learn about your preferences and we can improved our service.

Will be a pleasure host you again, in the near future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were here may 5th too 12th with our 3 year old. After traveling ALL day, we spent an hour checking in - not good with a cranky 3 year old. I would think that they would want yo check in guests with young children rather quickly, instead of dragging out the whole process. We hooked with liberty travel /Olympus tours. BEWARE, by doing this w you are given a purple bracelet to wear, which signifies that they are offering you a "special breakfast ". In reality, its a sales pitch to join club melia. Don't waste time going to the "special breakfast ". (Everyone is given a bracelet to wear on the resort. I took mine off after 2 days and no one ever said anything to me. Upon check in we upgraded to a one bedroom oceanview ( from the Jr oceanview). When we called a week ahead to inquirer about the upgrade cost we were quoted a hundred extra per night. But when We checked in, we only paid 4 hundred for 7 nights. We declined the family concierge, based on a conversation with another guest in yhs lobby. We still went to the family concierge area and made snow cones, got popcorn, lollies and chips. No one said a word to us. The main pool and pirate pool water were warm enough. The resort seemedless than half full sonwe never had a problem getting chairs at the pool or beach. Service is excellent ag both. One day we got a Bali bed and we were truly loving it. We gave yhewaiter 20$ u.s and he kept bringing us drinks and lunch all day. You're nit supposed to tip. But you definitely will get better service if you do. The food at thehydro grill is perfect for lunch and snacks. Annallely was wonderful and very attentive to our son. Breakfast was always at naos. Good selection. Croissants and wattles were my faborite as well as well as the smoothly station. Lunch was the hydro grill orbuffett. Dinner was buffett, mole - cecilio was amazing, brazillian was a lot of fun. No we didnt reenact bridesmaidz after eating it. Vento had an amazing g saladthat was served in a parmesancheese bowl. So delicious..the facilities there are top.notch. everything isbeautiful..clean....polite..and smells amazing.
My concerns are the parties that were going on on the esmeralda side. Very very loud andlate into the night. I would think.that parties etc should belocated away from the family side.......the walk t thebeach takes about tenminutes. The beach isclean and has beachbars further down whit h isgreat. Noneed to buy snorkelngear or sand toys. You can borrow snorkel gear from the aquatic center and thebeach bar that is located further down thebeach, has crates full of sand toys to dig and make castles. Pay attention to the Tv channel.whenyou firzt turn.it on.it will give uoh theneeded wifi codes and also the weekly resort schedule for classes and entertainment. While everything was so cleanand pretty. One thing kept bugging me
.everything is so spread out. Ten minute walk to yhebeach. Thenanother ten minwLk to the kidszone. (Which is really clean and the staff really playzwith the kids.)this resort is definely going for more of a ritzy crowd. I don't knowwhat happenzwhennin ten years thstrees grow so tall andblock.the oceanbiew for those of isomers the 4th floor. It az great only being a 5 min taxi ride to playag delcarmen whitch is an amazing town. Somany shops and cultires
This paradisusresort is over half European clientelle, so you wilsee many speedos and inappropriate bathing suits. Last year. We stayed at the now sapphire. The grounds were beautiful, the beach and pool wereboth right there, and if you had an oceanview room, it meantyou cans walk out of yourbuilding
And the beach is right there in front of you. We bothfeel yhesapphire had way better food and more.options..... seafood....caribbeanfood......French.... sapphirez better suited for older kids maybe 8 and up. But LA SSMERALDA IS BETTER FOR YOUNGER KIDS. Every restaurant had a kids menu withpasta, pizza. Chickennuggets or Mac and cheese toowhich is helpful. The gift shopps sellvery little and are very pricey...... oh and if the Dvd player doesn't work, call maintenance togive you theneeded hdmi cord......regardless of what the t channels say, youonly gett
Tnt and. A Miami newschannel in English. So bring lots of Dvds.

Room Tip: We were in 2306. We were away from the loudest of parties.had an amazing view of the ocean. Would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Our guest’s observations are very important for us, because thank to that we can improve our service and we are able to work in that, in order to provide the service that you deserve. We passed your notes to the departments involved, for example Wedding Department, Front Desk and Meliá Club.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities, the pool area and the service provided from our staff, thank you for mention Anallely we will pass your comment to her. All our team works very hard to transform the holidays of our guests in memorable moments.

Paradisus La Esmeralda, has the strong committed with the families to achieve the total satisfaction and amusement in adults and children.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I looked at so many hotels before booking this one, and I am so so glad we chose this one. We booked for our honeymoon and I can't imagine anything more perfect, I don't actually know where to start because it was all so amazing. We were in the Esmarelda side so had the benefits of the whole resort because we didn't have any kids, including the spa and all restaurants. The food is just exceptional. There are lots of restaurants which our concierge booked us into for each night of our stay, and i can't tell you which is the best because they are all superb and there really is something for everyone. My husband is quite a fussy eater and he hasn't stopped raving about the food three weeks later. Neither of us like seafood but this was never a problem, there was always something exquisite for us. The only thing that topped the food is the staff. Every staff member seems genuinely happy to help you, always has a smile and wont stop until you are happy. Jonathan the entertainer is great, always has something fun to do round the pool but no pressure if you don't fancy it, great guy. The evening entertainment is good too, we didn't see much of it because we were so busy eating, but what we did see was fab. We spent most of our time round the Esmarelda pool with the kids because its a bit more relaxed and for us big kids, more fun with the inflatables! But the Perla side is gorgeous too, with a very chilled out vibe, perfect for a relaxing holiday. Our room was huge, spotless and fabulous, the jacuzzi on the balcony just amazing. The resort it self itself is huge, but everywhere you look there is something amazing so exploring is like exploring a village. The beach is gorgeous too and as there is a bbq, bar, beds, bali beds, towels, everything you could possibly need, you can easily spend the whole day there. I honestly can't think of a single negative thing to say and I could go on for hours talking about this place. Don't hesitate, just book it, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time that you took, to write your review on Trip Advisor, and share you experience with our future guests.

It is an honor for us to read that you had a perfect vacation in our Paradisus La Esmeralda, as an adult you had the opportunity to enjoy all the property and we are very happy to read that you liked. Also we are very grateful to learn that you enjoyed our culinary experience, the YHI Spa, you room, the beach area and the service provided from our staff.

It is very heartwarming to know that you had a great holiday with us. Our main goal is achieve the total satisfaction of our guests and provide a quality service; it is an honor for us to read that we accomplish that goal with you.

Will be a truly pleasure host you again in the near future, and make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hotel was very clean. Staff was outstanding and very accommodating. Food was great considering it was an all inclusive hotel. The guest service manager Oliver Bothfeld went over and beyond for us. Pool area and beach were fantastic. Highly recommend for a group of friends/families to get together or for a destination wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read that you had a great holiday in our Paradisus La Esmeralda. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our dining options, the pool area, the beach area and to know that the service provided from our staff was outstanding and very accommodating, as you deserve. Oliver will know about your recognition, we are very proud to have persons like him working with us, with the strong committed to please all our guests and work for your total satisfaction.

Will be an honor host you again, in the near future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Pros:
- The drinks aren't watered down
- The beach isn't too crowded
- The pools are a lot of fun
- The aesthetics are attractive


Cons:
- Insanely noisy at night
- The food is so-so
- The staff isn't that friendly
- Several members of my group (at least 3) had cash stolen from their zippered, closed bags in their rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halliecat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay in our Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We regret very much that we did not impress you with some of our services. We assure you, that the departments involved have been informed of your observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible. Please, be confident that what occurred to you is not at all a common situation and in no way representative of our overall service. Moreover, we regret we were not given the opportunity to receive more information during your stay to take immediate actions.

On the other hand, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the beach area, our pool area and the aesthetics of our resort, than you for mention it.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again and change your first impression.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,128 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Melia, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing