We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #31 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Had a blast! Will go back again.
Food was great
Decor was great
The beach isn't huge, but it's still a sight for sore eyes
Room service was included, 2 thumbs up!
The kids had a blast.
Overall... The I give this resort 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rashaad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Esmeralda for your past holidays.

It is a real pleasure for us read that you had wonderful vacations in our resort, we are very glad to learn that you and your family enjoyed our facilities, our dining options and the beach area,
All our staff works very hard to please all our guests, they had the strong committed to provide an excellent service and create memorable moments, it is a pleasure read that we achieve that goal with you.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,346 - 4,352 of 7,586 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

This was a Fabulous stay for my four year old and my husband. I just don't have enough words to say this was a great property. The restaurants were all outstanding and the service was top notch. The beach facilities are amazing, you have access to food and drinks. My son loved the burgers and hotdogs grilling right on the beach. My four year old love staying in the kids club all day. The staff was so awesome and they did projects daily: kites, piñatas, paintings. They were so kind to our son and what a variety of activities. We were just sold on that alone. As we returned home we received a sweet email and they mentioned how they missed our son and what an artist he was. It may be pricey but well worth the money. We were there 5 days and had no need to ever leave the resort. So we have started to save for next years visit. You can't go wrong with this fab property!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mluca9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, for taking the time to share your experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen.

We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful experience in our resort, it is an honor learn that you enjoyed our facilities, our dining options, to know that your little one enjoyed the kids zone, and that to know that the service provided from our team was the service that you deserve.

All our staff is very committed with provided a quality and excellent service, always looking for the satisfaction and relaxation of our guests.

Will be waiting your next year, to make you repeat the Paradisus Experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Most amazing, relaxing, beautiful, fun vacation I have ever been on. The rooms are amazing, especially the rooms with a swim up pool. Any reviews on bad food is BS, every restaurant was simply amazing, from the presentation, taste and service. I would go back just to sleep in the beds and eat. I don't have one bad thing to say about this resort. I had an amazing facial and massage on my birthday followed by a surprise cake from the resort. Beach was amazing, pool was amazing and every staff member was very friendly. I love this place, we even are talking about getting married at paradisus!

Room Tip: Swim up pools are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenadance28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What a fantastic holiday! We enjoyed 2 weeks at La Esmeralda with our 4 year old daughter. We chose the Family Concierge and were really glad that we did. Our concierge Mar and her boss Gerardo (Gerry) were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble for them. They even arranged for a particular medicine to be brought from the local chemist to us when my husband was poorly. Our daughter loved the special jacuzzi bubble bath with all the balloons and her nightly cookie and milk.

It was nice to have the option of using both the family concierge pool as well as the other pools. Our daughter spent her time between all of them. The many inflatables, buckets and spades, watering cans and water pistols that were freely provided kept her entertained for hours - thanks to Henri the Pool Concierge. We would also like to say thanks to Marcos, Carlos and the team at the Hydro Grill who cooked up some wonderful lunches and looked after us impeccably.

The beach was very nice, yes, it was rocky in places, but that could be avoided by walking along a short distance. Again, buckets, spades, etc were provided for the children.

We did sample some of the restaurants, i.e. Market, Mole and Vento, which were very nice, but tended to spend most of our time in Naos (the buffet) as this is where our daughter liked to eat and the food was also very good. Special thanks to Carlos at dinner and Gilberto and Roger at breakfast who were all superb.

Our daughter spent some time most evenings at the Kid Zone, though we always stayed with her and did not leave her there on her own. The girls who worked there seemed really nice.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you comment on Trip Advisor, thank you very much.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful holiday in our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen, it is a pleasure for us read that you enjoyed our Family Concierge Area and the benefits, that you enjoyed our facilities, the pool area, our culinary experience, to know that your daughter enjoyed the kids zone and to know that the service provided from our staff was as you deserve.

Mar, Gerardo, Marcos, Carlos, Gilberto and Roger will know about your recognition, it is a pleasure for us have persons like them working with us, because thank to them we can create memorable moments for our guests.

Will be a pleasure for us; host you again in the future, here in Paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After reading reviews I was sold , but in realty after my visit I was not impressed. Food good but far from 5 star, my family was hounded at least twice a day from guest services trying to sell Melia club packages they couldn't take no for an answer, had to take the long way every am to breakfast to avoid them. Shows were good. Had a swim up room which was nice but watch the floors in the room once wet they are very slippery. Also if you want excellent service tip well they will remember you and tell others. My child loved the pirate ship. Beach was nice but rocky found glass in sand . This was my experience , I visit Mexico every year, usually stay in Cancun but the reviews from others sucked me into here , this is even my first review cause I just couldn't see what others saw. I would like to add I have never traveled to a resort in Mexico where the staff tells you not to walk outside resort only take cab services. I did read from another person who wrote about this on tripadvisor , that's the person I should of trusted..

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the swim up room if you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your candid review.

Our guest´s opinions are very important for us, we appreciate your observations, because we can improve our service, about your note regarding de Meliá Club, we passed your comment to the person in charge in order to verify their process.

On the other hand, we are happy to read that you enjoyed your room and to know that your child enjoyed the pool area, thank you very much for mention it.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again and change your first impression of our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen; we assure you that we will exceed your
expectations.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Chose the Concierge/Royal service, buy it when you book - and this includes a great Spa, and VIP service - Service over all is tip driven - all the restaurants are great, themed, and delicious - The Perla and Esmerelda are the same Hotel, Perla is adult side of the hotel, EVERYTHING is the same, the two are the same hotel. Concierge service has all access to all areas at all times - great daily and evening shows. Beach is great, pools are better. Among the finest resorts in the Caribbean, resembles resorts in LA, Miami and Vegas. I am unaware of any resort at this level in Mexico Stayed May 25th - June 1st. Other resorts I have stayed at and compare this one to are: Grand Velas, Royal Hideaway, Le Blanc, Cancun and Beach Palace. Boutique size resort, large all suite rooms, larger, newer and more modern suites, than other resorts, most comfortable beds, great staff, butler and concierge service, Top floor in the Melia Club building, three adjoining Master Suites all had panoramic ocean view, nespresso machine, Egyptian cotton sheets, great beds, pillow service, dining area, large terrace with jacuzzi - jacuzzi prepared each evening with bath salts, Champagne etc.
Bugalow service, with bali beach beds, prepared and reserved each day by the concierge staff "Henry" - Every morning Concierge "Israel" prepared the day, dinner reservations, excursions, special request, nothing too big, and no detail too small.
And Concierge "Ailine" worked at the concierge desk with Israel to make all details.
I read through most of the reviews before booking this resort - good advice - I made tipping part of my vacation - and tipped well - Tipping saved time and let us focus on our vacation - anything needed the best suite with the best view, the best restaurant reservation times, the best table, the best location on the beach, Bali beds, Bungalows, pool loungers, no request was denied and all expectations exceeded. Tip driven service is a fact at all resorts. We put this resort to the resort stress test in every category and this resort delivered on every request, and exceeded our expectations. Service is fast, friendly, creative and strives for a positive and relaxing experience. And I rate this resort among the finest in Mexico.

Room Tip: Panoramic Ocean Views - Top floor in Concierge building and Melia Club building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank generalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen for your past getaway.

We appreciate all the details that you mention, we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our facilities, the service of Family Concierge, our day and night activities, our culinary experience and the friendly service of our staff.

It is an honor for us to know that we made a very good impression on you, our main goal it is the total satisfaction of our guests, we are very happy to read that we accomplish with you during your vacations.

Will be a pleasure for us host you again, in Paradisus La Perla or Paradisus La Esmeralda.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

There are many hotels to choose from in the area of Playa del Carmen, but I would be very surprised if there are better values. The rooms are modern, clean, and very accommodating for a family vacation. Food is very good to excellent depending on the restaurant and the level of service is OUTSTANDING (Disclaimer: We are native spanish speakers so there were no communication problems). The pool is huge (we had a swim up unit that the kids absolutely loved) and the temperature of the water was very pleasant. The hotel is close to the "quinta avenida" tourist are but not within walking distance, you'll have to take a cab back and forth.

Only negative IMHO is the beach. There are a lot of rocks on the beach and they'll have to do something about it to bring the beach to the quality of the resort.

Room Tip: Kids will love the swim up units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTYTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Esmeralda for your past vacation.

It is a pleasure for us learn that you had a great experience in our Resort, we are very glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities, your room, the culinary experience that we offer and the service provided from our staff.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are happy to read that we achieve that mission during your stay with us.

Please if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen, will be an honor for us host you.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,183 reviews
6.0 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £227 - £987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing