We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetly a staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #31 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 July 2013

July 7-13, 2013. Just got back from a 7 day trip with our 23 and 19 year old children. Was booked on the Esmeralda side (Family concierge) which I wish I was more aware of. There were a lot of small children. Spent all our time on the La Esmeralda (Adult) side. If you do have small children, they will NEVER be short on things to do. The grounds are beautiful. Beach is really nice. You'll have to take a short taxi ride to go to 5th avenue shops, clubs, etc.We had a one bedroom master suite and while it was spacious for the four of us, the pull out bed in the living area was like sleeping on the floor. Not comfortable at all. Only negative on the room. The restaurants, while we were not there to visit them all, each and everyone of them was amazing. Fuego was our personal favorite. The staff was beyond hospitable. Always smiling attentive and willing to go far and beyond any needs you may have. Shout out to Rigoberto Santos, Alfredy, Ignacio and Cristobal at Hadar. THanks for making breakfast such a wonderful start to everyday. Can't wait to go back. If your looking for 5 star service and comfort. THIS IS IT!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen for your past family holidays.

We are pleased to read you and your family had a wonderful vacation in our Resort, we are very happy to learn you enjoyed our facilities, your One Bedroom Master Suite, to know you enjoyed our dining options, the beach area and to know you received the service you deserve.

Rigoberto, Santos, Alfredo, Ignacio and Cristobal will know about your mention, thank you very much for recognize their work, all our team has the strong commitment to create memorable moments in any opportunity, it is an honor read they accomplished their mission during your stay with us.

We will be waiting for you on your next visit to make you repeat this unique experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,346 - 4,352 of 7,695 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was our 4th trip to Playa Del Carmen and 8th trip to Mexico. This resort ranks at the bottom for us. We have two daughters, ages 9 and 13 and they were very disappointed that the pool closed at 7 p.m. (much earlier than we expected). The pool side bar and restaurant closes at 5 p.m. We had 8:30 dinner reservations, anticipating an afternoon snack by the pool to tide the girls over. Getting dried off and dressed to pick up a quick snack was too big of a hassle and room service took over an hour, so we were hungry much of the trip.

The Vento restaurant was outstanding. Even though the restaurants were mostly empty, they require reservations. My husbands general thought was they are saving money by not feeding us, so they make it as inconvenient as possible to access food.

In general, it seemed the resort was short on staff resources. Getting a drink at the pool side bar typically took at least 15 minutes, as many times they only had one staff member present.

There is no view of the beach from any resort building or pool. You access the beach via a path through the "rainforest". We really missed seeing and hearing the ocean.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The grounds are also clean but without the lush, colorful vegetation we have enjoyed at other resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seitri94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Esmeralda for your past family vacations.

Your comments are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can improve our services; your notes have been passed to the departments involved in order to verify our processes and provided you the service you deserve.

On the other hand, we are glad to read you considered our Vento Restaurant, outstanding, thank you for mention it.

Please, if you decide to return to Playa del Carmen, will be a pleasure host you and change your first impression and exceed your expectations.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I would definitely recommend paradisus la esmeralda! We decided to choose this resort for our annual family vacation and traveled as a family of 6 adults and 3 kids. We requested connecting rooms prior to arriving to the hotel because we wanted to be next to each other. When we arrived we were told that they were unable to honor that request as they did not have any connecting rooms in the type of room we paid for. We were very disappointed until the lady who had been helping us came back to tell us that she was sorry for the mix up and offered us upgraded rooms, 2 of which did connect. All our worries were gone and our rooms were absolutely amazing! We were very pleased with the customer service! We did encounter some problems. The cleaning crew threw out my contact lense case and I didn’t bring a backup so I called guest services with this complaint. The next day Oliver called me back and personally brought me a new contact case. So they definitely made up for it!

Other things about the hotel:
The restaurants all need reservations and it was kind of difficult getting reservations at the times we needed with our large group. However the food at every restaurant we ate was DELICIOUS! With so many restaurants you are bound to find at least one restaurant to your liking. The kids especially loved Naos. One thing we would like to see more of is a more variety for breakfast and lunch, there are only a few spots open so we were always looking forward more to dinner.
Our kids loved the kids zone. They have plenty of activities and crafts for kids to do with pool tables and hockey table. They will even watch your kids while you go eat!
The pool was clean and warm and they have pools all around so you have plenty to choose from! They also have activities at the pool for adults (ex. aquagym) and kids (ex. a pirate show) All the pool activities we went to were quite fun!
Short walk from the beach, where they offer free kayaking as well as a grill/bar right by the beach. We had plans to go do excursions, but the whole family just loved the resort so much that we did not want to leave!

Overall, a great trip at a great resort! I would definitely recommend if you are a foodie like me or are traveling with kids like our family.
I do recommend bringing a VERY GOOD bug spray though!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus Playa del Carmen for your past family vacations.

It is an honor for us to read, in any little situation the service of our staff was very professional and always worried to please you in every way, all our team has the strong committed to provide a quality and an excellent service always oriented to our guest's satisfaction and relaxation. Is heartwarming to read we accomplished that goal with you and your family.

We are happy to learn you enjoyed our facilities, our culinary experience, to know the little ones enjoyed the kid’s zone and to know you and your family enjoyed the different activities we offer during the day and the night.

Thank you very much for your recommendation, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again and make you repeat this fantabulous experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Overall it was a very nice hotel if a modern & sleek vibe appeals to you. Definitely quite cleanly and the grounds are well maintained. Excellent variety of pools and of course the beach is beautiful. The nightly entertainment is very good and it caters to the young & old with the only downside being the limited viewing space when it is held over by the North Bar. The staff is amazing. Everyone is absolutely super nice. When you are poolside make sure to be in the area where Gricelda Sandoval waits. She always has a nice smile on her face, very friendly and she is quick & accurate with getting the orders. Additionally, she makes sure to come back and check up on you.

So enough of the good, let me tell you why I deducted a star- the FOOD. For a "five" star hotel the food was less than stellar. For starters I was in a party of 10 which supposedly meant we "had" to make reservations. Our host Perla took care of the reservations and only managed to get us reservations for 4 nights out of our 7 night stay; one of which was at the Adult only side which meant one set of parents had to stay with the kids. On the other nights we were obligated to eat at the buffet. Whether at the buffet or the a' la carte the food wasn't really the greatest. I think they tried too hard to be fancy that they missed the important ingredient- taste.

Aside from that it was an overall good stay.

Room Tip: Definitely do the swim up since it puts you right at the center of all the action. However if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_M_Travels7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for write about your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read you enjoyed our modern facilities, the pool area, the beach area, to know you enjoyed the night entertainment and to know the service provided for our staff was amazing and very attentive, especially from Griselda, thank you for mention her and her work, she has the strong commitment with our guests in always provided a quality and an excellent service, always looking for your satisfaction.

Your comments are very important for us, because thank to your notes we can improve our service, your observations have been passed to the Food and Beverage Department in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and change your perception.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a fabulous resort to visit for a family with kids. I just spent two weeks there with my two-year old. My son loved the slides in the children’s pool. I loved the fact that I could always find a chair with an umbrella (same goes for the beach). The hotel is modern, clean, and well-appointed. The staff goes out of their way to make guests feel welcome. The food and beverages are excellent. Naos is a great restaurant to dine in with small children. Great service! Franklin and Alejandro were particularly attentive to our needs. I was also very impressed with how “green” the hotel was. I have actually seen staff on the beach going through trash and separating recyclables from non-recyclables. The resort is rather far from “the action” of downtown, but that is not something that matters for us on a family vacation. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2Olove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure read you had the best two week vacation ever with us, thank you very much for the honor, we are very happy to learn you received the service you deserve, we are glad to know you enjoyed our facilities, our culinary experience and we are happy to hear your son enjoyed the pool area.

Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, it is heartwarming read we accomplished our mission with you during your stay.

We will be waiting for you in your next visit, ready to pamper you and make you repeat this unique experience.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just came back from a 9 day stay at the La Esmeralda. My review of the resort is mostly based for SMVC club members. The resort is great, service as mentioned in other reviews is personal and the food is excellent...no complains. We have been members of SMVC club for almost 12 years and have travelled to all the paradisus resorts, most of the melia and sol. We went to this resort for the first time were not impressed with the way members are treated. If you have been to the paradisus punta cana and palma real in Dominican, they have an entire section for members. Private restaurants, pool, concierge, kids club..etc. In this resort, there is no such thing. You are like any regular person that books through expedia or online. Here is what you get
There is a separate check-in lounge for the members ( all resorts have that)
We had a concierge - and she booked our dinner reservations in advance before we arrived but this service is available for everyone.
there is a small section behind the family concierge that they have reserved for melia members which only had three palapas .
This is the area is very small and they did not reserve our palapas ( which members should get) and we had to complain until they made a sign for us.
You get the normal 20% off spa services
We had to go for breakfast in the same restaurant as the whole resort , so it was busy and there was a line-up to get in. ( after the first two days, we went in early at about 8 and there was no line-up)
We asked to be upgraded to the family concierge and they said it would be an additional $50 per person per day. We are a family of 5 for nice days...do the math...it did not make sense at all after spending so many point to visit the place.
Family concierge has a separate pool ( nice and big), separate restaurant with great comfort foods for the kids ( popcorn, snow cones, candy floss, kids lunch menus) the way the area is set-up, I think it should be like The Reserve for members.
Overall we made the most of the vacation, but I wouldn't be looking at the resort again as a family vacation as a member, you get better value for your points at other paradisus OR the La Perla side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafiki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen with our future guests. Also we would like to thank you for your preference in Meliá Hotels International Company.

As a service oriented company, your notes are very important for us, because thank to your observations we can learn and improve our service, your notes have been send to the Meliá Club in order to verify our process and benefits for your valuable members.

On the other hand, we are glad to read you enjoyed our dining options and to know the service you receive was the service you deserve, thank you for mention those details.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to host and change your first impression.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

gabi club is always alone, they don´t have music at this place, the furniture there is very good, but there´s no one to sit on it. It´s like an abandoned side of the hotel, just a passage through the beach at best. If you improve this place at the hotel I´ll give you 4.25 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, your notes are very important for us, because your comments give us the opportunity to learn, know about your experience and improve our service. Your notes have been passed to the Food and Beverage department in order to verify the situation you mentioned.

We appreciate your observations, we truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again and change your first impression.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,880 reviews
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
9,290 reviews
6 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,432 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
16,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £227 - £1,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing