We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids' Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 216 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our trip from the moment we arrived until the end was amazing. The first and last day of our stay, we were greeted by Rafael Velasco at the restaurant Naos for breakfast, he was always very courteous, friendly and gave us an excellent service. The activities for the kids were great, it's a Paradise for kids, mine is 4 years old and couldn't get enough of them :-) The food was great wherever we would go, from the pool, the beach to all the restaurants, as well as the service which was always very friendly and prompt. We hired Cristina to do a photo session and I have to say that she did a very good job, made us feel very comfortable and even had fun doing it. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your holiday vacation.

We feel proud to learn you have had a great stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen and that our service went beyond your expectations, we are glad to know the assistance provided by Rafael was excellent and personalized, always focused on your total satisfaction.

Also, it is a pleasure for us to read you enjoyed our facilities and we are glad to know that your kids took advantage of our Kids Zone.

We appreciate your kind comments, and we will be waiting for you on your next visit to Paradise.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,272 - 4,278 of 7,889 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Yes, on paper it has it all.
Facilities are great, staff are (generally) great, food is excellent, plenty of bars with lovely drinks.

Yet something is missing. There's little personality to be found.

Vast high ceilinged restaurants are ok, but noise levels dominate, and you rarely see the same staff more than a couple of times.
Hard to build an affinity with the place, especially as the next-door sister hotel shares facilities.
Remember that if you are travelling from UK (/Europe) a high proportion of your cost will be the airfare, not the hotel. By contrast, if you are only a short flight from USA, then you'll pay considerably less - this means it's highly accessible to 20/30-something Americans, and lots of 'em (!)

Overall, it should be great. It could be great, yet the IS something missing...

Would I return? I think it unlikely.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your comments with us.

We want you to know that the comments and observations we receive from our guests are always taken very seriously, as they tell us what we are doing right, wrong, and how we can improve it, which is why we truly appreciate your willingness to share your impressions. Please rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback with our staff for our improvement and in order to achieve our guest’s entire satisfaction.

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back, and you can be sure that we will never cease in our efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here in December 2013 for a family vacation. The place is perfect. We stayed in a swim-up 1 bedroom master suite, which was extremely well-thought out in all details. Needless to say, the kids loved the swim-up patio. The design of the whole hotel is very pleasing and even the night entertainment was better than I had anticipated. The bars serve all drinks as part of the all inclusive. The food is excellent (both the buffet and the many a la carte restaurants). In addition, and this often makes all the difference, the staff everywhere is truly nice, especially in the restaurants. Last but not least, our concierge (Rosario) was simply the best; nice, attentive and with a sweet disposition that always made us feel welcome and special. I would definitely recommend the resort without reservations.

The only minor thing is that the beach is rather small, though much nicer beaches are available within a short walk on the shore. The walk feels great after all the food anyway ;-)

The next comment is independent of the resort per se, and has to do with the Melia Club. Should you decide to spend some time speaking with the Melia Club people who want to sell you membership in the club after a showcase presentation, be aware that while they are nice, the goal is to sell you a membership on the spot. If you are like us and will not in principle make such decisions on the spot, do not go for the showcase meeting---we regret that we did. I would also tell the Melia Club people that they should have a different strategy to enroll people like us in the Club: rather than the usual "decide now" meeting, they could provide info on their product to take with us and compare with other similar products. If the product that Club Melia sells is as good as they say (the resort certainly is), then they should stand by it and let potential customers study the offer (including the small print) afterwards. The "decide now" strategy comes across as cheap "car salesmanship" which does not match the experience at the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations. We are glad to read we accomplished our goal during your stay.

It is a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed our facilities your comfortable room and the service provided by our team. As for your observations, please be sure that we will share this information with the Meliá Club in order to verify the process and make the proper corrections.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very decent resort that is clean and well taken care of. Staff is nice and friendly. Orion was our assigned concierge and he did a nice job keeping us well-attended. Family concierge option is highly recommended if traveling with kids. Heated pool is definitely a plus, especially on rainy days.

The outdoor kidszone area needs a face-lift and more playground-type toys. The indoor one also needs to have more small toys available for the little kids to play with as well as more light added (a bit dark in the evening).

It'd be nice to have those super comfortable bali beds available / equipped for sleep out at night, even with a small fee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quecuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

It is an honor for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area; also we are glad to learn you enjoyed our facilities.

Our guest's feedback is imperative for our improvement as a hotel, so we certainly appreciate yours observations, in order to provide all of you unforgettable experiences.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to make more travel memories.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We are just back from a relaxed trip to Mexico to the Paradisus Esmeralda in Playa Del Carmen
Here are some of the 'likes' we had with the resort

Rooms were beautiful and clean
Resort property and pools were excellent
Food was consistent and our favourite restaurant was the Asian theme where the chef dazzled us with his culinary and cutlery skills
Service was very good
Weather was good - we had 2 days with rain though

Not so 'likes' of the resort
Beach was so so and not the best for our 7 yr old to swim
My wife was stung with a Jellyfish and we ran into some other people that had this happen as well
THey should have posted that the waters were dangerous on those days and they did not
If you did not have the Family Concierge you would be swimming in the regular pool which was cold
Thank god we had a heated pool to swim in
We went to the Asian restaurant for dinner on Xmas eve to find out you could not order off the menu and most of the restaurants had a SET menu for Xmas. We were never told this
I had a massage and tried to redeem the $50 off coupon and was refused as they told me it had expired? Why give us one then tell us it expires on the 22nd of December ?

All in all a nice place .
Dominican or St Marten is next on the list

Room Tip: Make sure you get out to the Family Concierge before 7am or you wont have a place to lay down. Our t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilbarchan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.

Your review it is very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. We already let the differences departments know about your notes.

On the other hand, we are glad to read you enjoyed our facilities, the dinning experience, especially at Bana Fusion and the service provided by our team.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The adults and children all had a great time. Hotel was beautiful and the service was great. The food was really good and there are allot of different restaurants to choose from. A really fun family vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellyfinkelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with our future travelers.

It is a pleasure for us to read you had an amazing family vacation and to know you enjoyed our beautiful Resort. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, we are happy to learn we accomplished our objective during your stay.

Will be an honor for us hosts you again in the near future and repeat this memorable experience.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in april 2013, we had concierge service, and overall we are satisfied with this state:

Room: nice and specious. We had concierge service and we were very pleased with Aldo who was helping us all the time.
Water in the concierge pool was warm.

Hotel Staff: nice and friendly

Beach: is small

Food: was good, service was quick, only in mexican restaurant we waited for a long time

Day care: nice place, our son 21 month liked it, staff is very nice so we could live him there for couple hours at evening.

Overall i think hotel is nice, yes i agree with others that hotel needs minor managment improvements. I think this place is nice for familes with small kids since its very out-of-the way. not much to do at night

I will concider it for our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iriskab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Paradisus during your beach getaway to Mexico.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about your nice room, our facilities, the culinary experience we offer in our different restaurants and the service provided by our team. Also it is an honor for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area.

Please rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback in order to provide you the reasons to come back.

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
4,390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
2,940 reviews
1 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#41 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
2,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
9,470 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £241 - £682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing