We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS VACATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FABULOUS VACATION”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hi. We just returned from a wonderful experience at paradisus playa del carmen la esmeralda. The resort is brand new, clean and modern. The weather was glorious every day. The ambiance was great. The staff was amazing. The swim up room with the jacuzzi on the patio was so comfortable and so beautiful. But the pool was cold. The pools were always fresh and clean but once again one downside: not heated. Even thought the sun is strong and the temperature was in the 80's, I would've liked the water temperature a little warmer. Israel at the pool was always so attentive making sure we have chairs and enough towels! The bartenders were always around and very helpful. David at the spa gave me an awesome professional massage that i will always remember! Turn down service was always nice especially having the chocolates for a midnight treat.
We were treated so royally! The staff went above and beyond to give us a vacation that we will never forget. We felt genuinely constantly cared for and pampered everywhere on the resort.
But there are a few ladies at Guest Services, we have to specifically thank for making our vacation so great: Vania! you are just an amazing and kind individual. From preparing the jacuzzi full of colorful balloons for our sons 2nd birthday, to providing him with crayons, to answering all our questions with so much patience as well as solving any issues! You are the best!
A shout out to Julia and Mirdza for always being so kind and helping out with a smile and remembering us by our first names! Thank you!
We had a fabulous vacation and look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We had a swim up room with a jacuzzi on the patio. the room was comfortable. the pool was cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKauffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a fabulous vacation in our property. It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,801
    1,388
    462
    155
    112
See reviews for
4,864
869
30
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were looking for an upscale resort for my 50th birthday celebration, but as we were bringing our 17-year old son, we could not book an adults-only resort. We assumed we would have to forego some level of service and amenities if staying in a "family" resort. We could not have been more wrong. We stayed in the family concierge section and as far as we could tell every person was treated as royalty.

I cannot say enough about our amazing concierge, Orion. He helped us with everything from dinner reservations (on our first day he offered to make a reservation at a different restaurant each night of our stay so we could try everything) to spa reservations to stocking the room with our favorite treats. On the day of my birthday he and his team filled the room with 50 balloons (boy was I surprised when I walked in!) and filled the jacuzzi with rose petals! He also personally delivered 2 dozen roses to Passion restaurant for my family to give to me. To say he went above and beyond is an understatement.

Our son did not require the services provided for the younger kids, but we saw Orion every day walking around with a backpack filled with toys, balloons, coloring books, etc to be ready at a moment's notice to help make a child's day on the beach, at the pool, or just walking around the resort. He seemed to genuinely care for each and every person and called us all "his families".

As our son will be 18 by our next trip, we wandered over to the adult side of the resort to inquire about the differences. We were told there is no difference, except that in family concierge the kids are the VIPs. We could see that, as the kids are definitely the focus, but we also felt pampered beyond belief. Everyone on staff was nice, helpful and seemed sincerely happy to be there.

This was a wonderful trip and we plan to go back.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms' balconies seem more private as there is nobody above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your vacation.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are thrilled to know that you had such a wonderful time here at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda and we are glad to learn that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area.

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Orion, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

Thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you again.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Saved for ages for this hotel. The grounds and rooms are immaculate and 95% of staff are lovely and really healpful! Particular thanks to Gregorio, Ali and Valerie who brightens everyone's day! Take note; the Family Concierge upgrade is ONLY worthwhile if you like a heated pool. The other pools are amazing and they have lots of seating areas and the poolside BBQ and restaurant are great. Don't waste the money. Our Concierge was too young and really not much assistance. Beach was okay (stung by jellyfish; ouch!) but beach service was awesome. Please don't be fooled by "coupons"; prices for spa services and wines are the same with or without the coupon. And please DON'T open your credit card to the hotel. We and many others were charged fees we did not approve. Use your credit card to pay for any upgrades when and if you want them.

Room Tip: Family Concierge Room 3401 had an awesome deck! Ask for higher floor as you get lovely breeze and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your comments with us.

We want you to know that the comments and observations we receive from our guests are always taken very seriously, as they tell us what we are doing right, wrong, and how we can improve it, please be sure we will sharing your comments with our staff in order to take actions to give an exceptional service.

On the other hand we appreciate your kind words about our facilities and for complimenting the service provided by our team. We will surely congratulate Gregorio, Ali and Valerie in your behalf.

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at Paradisus La Esmeralda in mid-December 2013 with our 2 year-old. It is a new, clean, modern resort, with higher than the average all-inclusive resort dining options. Our son loved the heated pool in the family concierge area the most, as well as the special treats our wonderful concierge, Gilmer, planned for him: in-room cookies, a treasure hunt, balloon bubble baths, pool toys. Gilmer went above and beyond for us. He even remembered that I commented on our first day there that my son loves Mickey (the toothbrush they placed in the room for him had Mickey on it) and a few days later, one of his bubble baths was full of mouse balloons! Now, that is personalized service. Thus, if you have small kids go for the family concierge service. A set of toiletries, sunblock, slippers, robe for children is placed in the FC rooms. My son did enjoy the slides in the main, not heated, pool but he did not last long before he got cold and asked to go back to the heated pool. I do not think this is a big issue in the warmer months though. Gilmer made our dinner reservations and was very accommodating even when we had to cancel Passion at last minute and change to another restaurant because our son had a meltdown and we couldn't leave him in the Kids' Club upset. We are planning to go back and request Gilmer again. Another lady concierge (Linda perhaps? - I am ashamed the name has escaped me) was extremely sweet as well in assisting Gilmer and helping us with an issue (our things were removed from a Bali Bed by another guest and we could not locate them the whole morning - finally we found them). We did have a few issues (one being the temporary dissaperance of our stuff) but nothing major and they were eventually fixed. The issues: First, we booked on the Melia website and they offer a free transfer to the hotel. At the airport, the Otium transport company could not locate our transfer reservation. We waited almost 2 hours!! in the airport, again, with a tired toddler, until they sorted it all out - I even called Paradisus from a stranger's phone and the guest service told me they do not offer free transfers! "Come again?! Yes, you do, it is on your own website bottom-right, once you book!" Finally, cringing, they decided to take us to the hotel. So, a bad start. Slashing a half-star because this was one of the worst experiences I ever had with a hotel service (transfer reservation dissapeared). Second issue, upon check-in we were placed in a room that had a powerful mold smell. I can only suspect they had a water line leak or an AC problem on that line. We were moved the same day upon request to a room that was fine. I am taking another half star for that because seriously, who puts a family with a 2 year old toddler in a moldy-smelling room when you are (clearly) not at capacity? We even unpacked, blasted the AC and went for a walk thinking the vent hasn't been on for a while but upon return it was worst and quite disgusting and by then my husband's allergies were acting up, he was miserable and clearly not too impressed with my choice of resort. However, it slowly went uphill from there. As I said, Gilmer was extremely sweet and helpful and that sort of made up for the bad start. Ah, I almost forgot the pillow service he did for us. Lovely, it basically makes your beds pretty and ready for sleep with chocolates and aromatherapy. The FC pool servers, Hernan, Gregorio (though he needs to smile more) and others were nice and accomodating. Also, the girls at FC check-in, Angelica esp., were sweet. We would most likely go back hoping they sorted out their issues I mentioned and will request Gilmer.

Room Tip: FC is a must with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeliaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

Regarding the couple of cons you mentioned they have been shared with the management as to evaluate and take the proper actions. Please rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback with our staff for our improvement and in order to achieve our guest’s entire satisfaction

On the other hand, we sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our facilities and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area. Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Gilmer, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back, and you can be sure that we will never cease in our efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Its a beautiful hotel and the restaurant mole is amazing. If you have dinner at mole make sure you find the waiter Erick. He is the best! Erick is nice, great customer service, and he and the chef Julio gave me and my girlfriend a special dinner that wasn't on the menu. I grew up with Mexican food and chef Julio cooks amazing food! Deserts are the best and the steak was simply amazing. Chef Julio came to our table and asked if we had any food allergies or if we ate red meat. On our last night chef Julio cooked amazing steak and lobster meal with a Mexican chocolate desert. The restaurant is well lit with awesome decorations and family friendly. Mole also has a huge wine list with first class service and food. Chef Julio and waiter Erick are the best and I cant wait to go back to hotel and restaurant mole!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwilo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Excellence is defined as exceeding expectations. Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is the definition of excellence in a resort.
We have just returned from a Christmas 2013 vacation with my family of 10. Our ages ran from 14 months, 4, 6, 9, 35,40 and 66. All of us had a wonderful time and were treated like special guests. The way we and all other guests were treated was incredible considering the resort was full. We all enjoyed the numerous pools designed for all tastes and ages as well as the beautiful beach. Chairs were plentiful even with a full house.
The weather was wonderful. The rooms (we had swim out rooms) were large and immaculate. The service at every level was prompt, efficient, friendly and attentive. The restaurants are varied, well staffed and most of all the quality of the food and the selections were amazing. We are well traveled and used to top quality hotels. This resort compares to any top hotel in all the important categories.
We want to express special thanks to some members of the staff that stood out:
Oliver Bothfeld ran guest services like a team of personal advisors. He seemed to be everywhere making sure guests were enjoying themselves.
Paul Caballaro, the front desk manager went out of his way to make sure that my family's room requests were satisfied.
Isreal Castellano, the pool concierge made meeting the needs of his guest his mission in life. He was constantly checking to see if quests were comfortable or needed any assistance.
Daniel Lozano, the general manager is charming and must get credit for making this wonderful place so enjoyable while seeming effortless.
The bottom line is: If you want to have a wonderful family vacation in a top quality resort with a warm friendly staff, We urge you to go to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.
Ken & Andi Simon

Room Tip: Swim out rooms are great. Like having a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Simon,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us and with our future guests.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing experience here at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service beyond our guest expectations and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My family loves this hotel! The hotel grounds and public area are lovely, very relaxing. The staff makes this hotel! The staff are friendly, professional and incredibly attentive. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference and loyalty to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

It is a pleasure for us to read you had for third time an amazing experience in our Resort, we are very happy to learn we were able to create another memorable moment. As for your comment about the service, it is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

We will be waiting for you in your forth visit, in order to creating more wonderful memories.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#57 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,320 reviews
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,431 reviews
16.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Priceline, Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing