We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$517
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$605
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$398
US$337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$271
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$2,204
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$682
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,001
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,474
US$1,080
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (8,183)
Filter reviews
8,183 results
Traveller rating
5,723
1,611
527
182
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,723
1,611
527
182
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily conciergemolekids zonekids clubsunrise grillfc poolnaos buffetolio restaurantheated poolbana fusionthe pirate ship poolbedroom master suiteballoon animalsdinner reservationsfamily vacationkids poolbubble bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,428 - 4,433 of 8,183 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

La Esmeralda is one of those places that you don't want to leave.. since the begging to the end this is a 5 star resort that deserves more than the 5 stars.. the service from our Family Concierge /Butler ALLAN was amazing, very kind and happy person.. always saying hi taking care of us and playing with our kids. The beach very calm almost like a real pool, the restaurants! our favorite was FUEGO, The Market and Naos.. what a VIEW! THANK YOU La Esmeralda Staff for making our vacations THE BEST!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis_Castwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your comments with our futures guests.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are we thrilled to know that you had such an amazing experience here at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda. It is an honor for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area;

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Alan, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to make more travel memories.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Excellent hotel and service. Our Family concierge, Gilbert, was wonderful and made us feel at home. My kids were really happy, had a great time and told me it was the best family vacation we've taken. I'm glad I took the Family concierge rooms and service; it wasn´t cheap, but it was worth every penny. The facilities are great, new, decoration incredible, the smell of the lobby and rooms amazing, the kindness of every member of the hotel wonderful and the food delicious. I´ll definetely consider to go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our Resort.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience, our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guest we are glad to read we accomplished our objective during your stay.

We really appreciate your compliments towards Gilbert: he is a big asset of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda, we will surely congratulate him in your behalf.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next beach vacation.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

From check in, till check out, our experience at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen was unforgettable. Food, staff, and hotel were amazing. One of the best parts was the ability to leave an under 3 YO without worries!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Veena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest thoughts, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations. We want to ensure that once you walk through our lobby doors, you’re able to relax and enjoy every moment of your vacation.

Thank you again for your nice review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from Esmeralda and had an enjoyable stay.
Rooms, beautiful, immaculate, very comfy beds, we didn't have a swim up but tried to get one they look like fun
Pools we did not book family concierge so we did not go in the heated pool. My kids had no problem in the non heated pools. It was cooler later in the day,after 5. Food and beverage service at pool was excellent.
Beach the beach directly in front of hotel was not great for swimming, lots of rocks and weeds but maybe 200 feet over it was beautiful. You do have to talk through a grove of trees to get to ocean but it is not unpleasant.
Food buffet did not have a huge selection compared to other all inclusives we have been to, but al a carte was excellent. Loved bana best
Kids activities they have a good kids club but this is the area which will probably prevent me from returning, there are very few evening activities for the 13 to 17 age group, for that matter I am not sure what they would have done if the weather had been bad as the kids club was open to the 5 to 12 age group.
A few extras which I had read on trip advisor which worried me about going. We saw 3 Mosquitos all week, yes it is an area where people live in poverty but I never felt unsafe, further I can honestly say I did not come across one staff member at the resort who was unpleasant.
The paradisus does have a program called family concierge, where for an extra cost you have a personal concierge, and access to exclusive facilities. We travel as a family every year to 5 star all inclusives and this is the first time we have come across this type of program and I have to say I am not a fan. We have been to resorts where there are personal butlers and I have no problem with this, I am opposed to not having access to the whole resort when I have paid $9000 for a week. This would be the second reason I old probably not return to this resort.
My husband and I went to their vacation "presentation" and while we did not purchase one we did find Jorge very pleasant, not over bearing
Rosario greeted us upon our arrival and made our dinner reservations, she always had a big mile on her face.
I'd not use spa
Evening shows were entertaining you have to see rock of ages it was awesome

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn you had an enjoyable stay in our property. Also it is a pleasure for us to read you enjoyed our facilities, your beautiful room, our a la carte Restaurants and the evening shows. We will gladly congratulate Rosario in your behalf thank you for recognize her work.

On the other hand, please rest assured we have already communicated your different concerns to our heads departments for immediate action and follow-up, as we are always in the pursuit of exceeding your expectations and provide you the reasons to come back.

We hope that these issues aside you would be willing to return and allow us to improve on your overall experience.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great stay with a few teething problems at the beginning. We booked the Family Concierge service and on arrival we were disappointed to not have the room ready with no bed for our son. Booking the family side one would expect the hotel to know we were arriving with a child! We had also booked a room with an ocean view but were told that was not possible as the hotel was fully booked. The hotel also had our 8 year old son down as a two year old girl - therefore leaving all the wrong toiletries, t shirt, bathrobe, slippers etc. We were not happy with our first concierge member who was very unhelpful and we requested a change to an amazing chap, Aldo, who made our holiday. Once we had sorted our initial issues out we found the hotel to be perfect in terms of choice of restaurants, bars, children's activities, spa. We have never booked all inclusive and we were so impressed with the quality and choice of food.

The pool areas and Bali beds are fantastic. We particularly enjoyed the family concierge pool area and the very helpful pool restaurant manager, Pablo.

Nothing was too much trouble for any if the staff. A very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: There are no views of the ocean! It was well worth paying extra for the family concierge if you get the right person.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

Regarding the couple of cons you mentioned, please rest assured we have already communicated your notes to our Family Concierge Manager for immediate action and follow-up. On the other hand, we are glad to learn you enjoyed our facilities, the culinary experience we offer and to know you had a very relaxing holiday.

Once again thank you for your comments, and will be an honor for us host you in your next vacation.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews