We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NEw York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two weeks in Paradise!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Excellent resort! We’ve been traveling to Riviera Maya at least once a year for the past 10 years. This was our first time at Paradisus La Esmeralda. We are a group of 4 families, 9 adults and 9 kids ages ranging from 3 to 14. I am writing this review on behalf of all adult travelers in my group so it is not a single opinion. We have traveled to this resort on recommendation of 3 different families that have stayed at this resort during 2012-2013.
1. Service: Excellent top to bottom! From top management to housekeeping, thank you guys! During the 2 weeks we have never ran into a staff member without a smile on their face nor have we ever heard a “no” to any of our requests. A group of 18 with kids is not easy to handle, but Paradisus did it with ease! Oh, and I forgot to mention, we had 4 birthday celebrations during our stay. I have made most of the restaurant reservations for the parties prior to the arrival and everything has worked out just perfect! Special thanks to Oliver Bothfeld for arranging everything prior to our arrival and making sure everything goes as planned. Thank you to Zezinho De Brito Da Silva for arranging a wonderful day trip Cancun for our “little” group of 18.
2. Rooms: Very Spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Our group occupied 3 Junior Suites, 1 One Bedroom Suite and 1 Master One bedroom. All rooms had great layout and plenty of closet space.
3. Food: food was very good, no complaints at all. Service in the restaurants was always excellent. We went to Naos for breakfast and lunch and even few times for dinner. Big thanks to Mizael, Fabian and Franklyn for keeping our glasses full! Good job guys! We’ve celebrated one of the birthdays at Vento-Mediterranean cousin and really enjoyed it. Market-Brazilian, great food, nice atmosphere, excellent service! Marcelino Uc, Jorge Martinez and Alberto Sanchez, you guys are the best! We had to come back twice! Rigoberto at Gabi Bar- Best bartender ever!
Bana – Beautiful, modern decor and great food! Had to come back for more, thanks to our hibachi chefs Ulysses and Ernesto, kids loved the show!
We tried Passion (adults only) and were very pleased. Very professional, excellent presentation and great food! Big thanks to our waiter Adrian.
4. Beach: beautiful white sand, calm water and plenty of places with clear water and no rocks for swimming. The beach is narrow but it’s a huge plus since you can watch your kids play in the water without getting off your chair!
We all enjoyed our stay at the resort and looking forward to comeback as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
It has been a pleasure for all of us to host you and we are happy to know that you and your family had an unforgettable stay with us and during your birthday celebrations. We are pleased to read you had an excellent overall experience while enjoying delicious meals at all our restaurants, the comfort and all the amenities offered in your room and the warm and professional service provided by our staff. We will keep the committed work to surpass all our guests’ expectations and continue with our most important goal, creating memorable experiences to all our visitors.

We sent your recognition to every member of our staff that you have mentioned, they will feel satisfied that you had great and pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future to make more travel memories!

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,975
    1,422
    473
    158
    116
See reviews for
5,048
890
31
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We enjoyed Dominga and Rigoberto at breakfast.
Fernando at Mole
Daniel and Astorio at the Asian restaurant
Eduardo at the Brazilian restaurant
Innonocence at the Mediterranean restaurant

The staff was helpful at the gym and its nice to offer yoga and spin and our room was kept very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom I`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This plae was amazing! Extremely accomodating but beyond that- they really go the extra mile to make us feel comfortable and happy. The service was impeccable, especially Rui- our concierge. The accomodations were great! The rooms are lovely and spacious and are cleaned consistently. The ONLY complaint i would have is that the beach is really rocky but that is out of their control.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

As you mention ,unfortunately the beach has some rocks along the coast. This is part of ecosystem. Allow me to inform you that we have a daily cleaning program to remove seaweed and rocks from the beach area, even though it is possible to find coral fragments brought by the waves. Unfortunately we are not allowed to remove all those rocks due it is forbidden by law to remove the coral or sediments where coral grows up, as they are an important part of the ecosystem.

Those coral fragments and rocks have gotten the beach as a result of the past hurricanes and storms, unfortunately we cannot have power under nature. Moreover, sadly, all the conditions affecting our beach and some others in the area are a result of the global warming. Our beach is part of a beautiful walkable bay and it makes the ocean very calm and free of waives.

On the other hand, we are pleased to read you our lovely and spacious rooms and got pampered by our warm staff, Rui will be delighted to hear that he contributed to your stay.

We hope you will visit us very soon to experience the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just returned from my son's wedding. The hotel did a great job. I was a little concerned because of some early communication problems, but they totally came through with everything they promised. Oliver at La Esmeralda, was so helpful and made sure that everyone was well taken care of. I can't thank them enough for our special weekend. The property is beautiful and has so much to offer. The spa was great. All of our guests had a great time. Can't wait to return for a vacation with our grandkids.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for describing shortly your amazing experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

We feel proud to learn you have had a great stay at the resort and our services and facilities exceed your expectations. We are glad to know the service provided by Oliver was helpful and personalized, always focused on your total satisfaction.

We appreciate your recommendation to other tourists to visit us and it would be a pleasure to host you again with your grandkids.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This resort is definitely over rated. Don't get me wrong, it was absolutely gorgeous. Very posh. But for the price that we paid (we had 2 rooms, one for me and my husband and one for our teenage daughters) I expected more. The resort is not accomodating to it's guests. We got the earliest flight out from NY and the latest flight back home in order to optimize our stay, since we were only going to be there for 3 nights. We had to wait 2 hours for check in to get our room. I'm sorry, but that is unacceptable to me. The travel agent/resort knows when we will be arriving. Our rooms should have been ready for us. Then when we requested a late check out (our bus left 2 hrs after check out) they wanted to charge us $30 per hour per room! That's insane considering the resort was NOT full. Eventually my husband was able to get an extra hour for each room. The wait staff was very friendly and worked hard but I didn't like that they accepted (and almost expected) tips. We've staid at other all-inclusives were the staff would not accept tips, which made you WANT to tip them. I just think the tip jars were tacky. The food was okay but nothing special. We were there in a large group and sat down to dinner each night. So the restaurants would bring out pre fixed dishes, an assortment of what they considered to be their best dishes, for all of us to share. Nobody got to order what they wanted off the menu. If you wanted to order off the menu, guess what - yup, an extra charge! Now for the best part - we were there for my sister-in-law's wedding and the resort ruined it! It was a total disaster. They ended up getting married on the beach in the dark. So sad, that's a day they will never get back. So instead of taking nice family photos on the beach we had to take them at the bar. And I'm sure the photos at the wedding ceremony are going to be dark. I mean really... the whole point of getting married on the beach is the gorgeous setting. The wedding staff lives in Mexico, they know when the sun sets. And don't give me the excuse that the brides were running late - what bride doesn't run late?! The wedding staff should have taken all this into consideration and recommended the wedding be an hour or 2 earlier. We made the best of our 3 days in Mexico and are so happy for our sisters but all in all I was not satisfied and won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Harmony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda. We have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important.

As service-oriented company, we have a firm devotion to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction; therefore, we are sorry to read you could not enjoy your vacation in this special celebration.

Please let us clarify some points that you mention. Regarding early check in / late checkout, as in most hotels, the check in time is at 3pm and the checkout time is at 12pm , that time allows our housekeeping staff to prepare and clean the rooms for the next guests . Normally if a guest wants to have an early check in or a late checkout , as in most hotels , this has an additional cost, if due to the occupation we can make an exception , we gladly do it without extra charge, but is not a warranty.

About tips for the staff, please be informed that our philosophy is always provide a friendly and professional service to all our guests , without expecting anything in return, when a guest is satisfied with the service provided automatically gives a tip with the heart, because values the staff effort.

Regarding dinner, when we have a big group dinning at one of our restaurants, for faster service and comfort of our guests, we handle the Family Style with no additional charge. We also offer some products such as premium steaks or lobster among others with additional cost, this information is given to all our guests before dinner so they are aware of the situation.

Thank you for sharing the details of your experience and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We would really appreciate if you consider us again to spend a fantastic time just like you have read in the majority of reviews on Trip Advisor.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geleen
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great service, beautiful designed resort, great variety in different restaurants, we especially enjoyed the mediterraan and Japanse!!
We would-be definitely recommand this resort for a nice and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very pleasant to know that our LUXEclusive plan was beyond your hopes, we appreciate that you enjoyed the food quality and variety in most of our restaurants, the facilities and the great service.

Thank you very much for your preference, your recommendation and we will be pleased to host you again in the near future to have relaxing holiday at the Riviera Maya.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very satisfied with the aestethics of this beautiful, sprawling resort, but it was the service that won me over. Lucia, our Family Concierge, was outstanding - attentive, thoughtful and doting on our 4 year old daughter. The restaurants were fine and the service was excellent. The staff at the Family Concierge Hydro Grill was outstanding - kudos to Danora, Oscar, Juvemlus, Hernan and Jonas. We will definitely return to La Esmeralda..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for your kind comments about the excellent service received by the Family Concierge staff , undoubtedly we will share them with Lucia Danora, Oscar, Juvemlus, Hernán and Jonas, we are confident that the recognition from our guests encourage them to continue his excellent work with future guests.

We hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,551 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,258 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,920 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Melia, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus By Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing