We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Nearby Hotels
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$397
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$379
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$689
US$671
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$656
US$506
BlueBay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
US$196
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,076
US$1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,033
US$551
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$723
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,173)
Filter reviews
8,173 results
Traveller rating
5,715
1,609
527
182
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,715
1,609
527
182
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily conciergemolekids zonekids clubsunrise grillfc poolnaos buffetolio restaurantheated poolbana fusionthe pirate ship poolbedroom master suiteballoon animalsdinner reservationsfamily vacationkids poolbubble bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,220 - 4,225 of 8,173 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

There was a problem with the AC in our room, our room wasn't ready on their most crowded weekend of the year. Now what?? They gave us an awesome room upgrade, gave our travel friends the same upgrade- 9 of us in all!! As we were leaving to go home, and experiencing our post holiday blues, we decided to book our return visit for next year! Would recommend this resort to any upscale group looking for an awesome family weekend, trust me you'll want to tell ur friends. The people at the resort are natural at hospitality, they truly love to make you feel at home and special. One tip- order the family concierge rooms early.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus La Perla Playa del Carmen.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Walking through the lobby of La Esmeralda is like a dream: beautiful soothing music playing, the smell of lemongrass and floweres wafting through the air and the peaceful gurgle of the water elements surround you and make you realize that you truly are in paradise!
We stayed a week here in April and never wanted to leave! The architecture and amenities are stunning, the lush landscaping envelopes you and the staff does everything they can to make your stay one to remember.
DINING:
Mole- authentic Mexican restaurant was wonderful with exotic fare from different regions of Mexico. Don't leave without trying the roasted grasshoppers with your guacamole! Romina was a delightful and professional waitress.
The Market- a wood-fired grill themed restaurant with amazing meats sliced at your table. We were treated to outstanding service from Enrique and Jose!
Vento- Our favorite meal of the week! Mediterranean themed, with a lovely shrimp dish and delicious desserts. Lizbeth explained each dish in detail and took great care of us!

ROOMS: We had a swim up room which was so convenient and such a luxury! The rooms were beautiful and the waterfall shower made us feel like we had our own private spa for a week!

BEACH/POOL: The pool is beautiful and expansive and winds throughout the property. It features a swim up bar and lots of activities in the afternoon such as water aerobics, DJ dance parties, and salsa lessons. The beach is not huge, but has beautiful sand and the water was really warm when we were there in April.

PROS: The staff is amazingly friendly...everyone has an Hola and a smile for you when you walk by in the hall. When we called for room service they told us they would be there in 15 minutes and they were actually there in 10 minutes! We experienced the same promptness with the housekeeping staff.

The grounds are luscious and spa-like with coy ponds and turtles sunning themselves, and soft couches and cabanas scattered everywhere for you to relax in.

CONS: We had a room with a mini kitchen but there were no utensils, cups or dishes in the cabinets.

The pull out couch in our room was really hard and uncomfortable. We requested a roll away bed after the first night. It was not comfortable to sit on as a couch either.

Overall, we had a magical experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda and would recommend a stay there to anyone who was in need of some pampering in the middle of paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiersten67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

It is magnificent when we know through your notes that our principal goal was achieved, your entire satisfaction after enjoying all that Paradisus offers.

By your complete review, we can see that you have taken advantage of all the facilities, tasted some delightful meals at our restaurants, enjoyed the activities, walked by the sandy an unique beach, relaxed completely at your swim up suite; without excluding the warm service that the personnel provides every day. All your comments will be shared with all the staff you have mentioned in order to motivate them to continue pampering all of our guests the same way they did it with you.

We look forward for your next holiday in Paradise!

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My girlfriends and I had a fantastic time at the resort. It's a beautiful place. The food is amazing, (making restaurant reservations may present a bit of a hassle, so just stay on top of it and make your reservations early!), the stuff is very pleasant and helpful, the entertaining in the evenings is really professional and lots of fun. I highly recommend taking an advantage of fitness classes (yoga, Pilates or stretching) offered at the gym in La Perla with Franklin Conception. He is really good at what he's doing, very professional, pleasant and fun. I also would like to mention our waiter, Carlos, from Gabi bar, who added to our experience with his friendliness and attention to our needs :) I need to mention the beach though, if you are looking for a beautiful, spacious beach strip, this is not one of those. The beach itself is relatively small, a bit rocky and located between 2 public beaches. It was fine (thanks to our waitress Cecilia ) but if the beach is important to you, make sure that you'll see some photos of it for your own comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you for sharing with other tourists and with us your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

We are glad to read that you really enjoyed the facilities of our resort especially the Yhi Moves, the amazing food in our the restaurants, the night activities and the service of our staff. We will transfer you recognition to Franklin and Carlos, who took excellent care of you and they deserve to know they were an important part of your holidays.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Warm welcome, people that are so friendly that they ought to put on training courses to hospitality staff around the world. I was so stunned at their joy in service, and they truly cared about your happiness. They worked in teams that monitored the environments, the team members were enjoying being part of the team which was reflected in their service.

The property is beautiful, with well thought out design with wow spots, vistas, pools, sitting areas, bars and a huge number of restaurants almost all inclusive, the conference facilities were outstanding with all the auditory visual equipment and support needed, and catering to over 900 attendees at break times without a sweat for them of us.

The leisure aspect met all my needs and it was evident from talking to the families staying, that there was no complaints or moans being aired just amazed at the quality of service.

I would like thank all the staff for my wonderful stay, and for the waitress Dominga, Arias and the teams that made our stay such fun

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalleryAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are pleased to read you had an amazing overall experience from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda. We trust that our concept, our service philosophy, our LUXEclusive plan, modern facilities, and the professional care provided by our staff are meaningful attributes to satisfy or even surpass all our guests’ expectations.

Your appreciation to some employees´ work like Dominga and Arias will be sent to them in order to motivate them to keep their enthusiasm in serving our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The property was beautiful, the staff were very accomodating and helpful, best all inclusive with premium liquors, frozen drinks and tequila. I was surprised though that very limited wine selection available with all inclusive. Beach access was great with food and drink nearby. Definitely more of a property for laid back vacation - not much night life on the property but easy access into town. Conference facilities very good, dim lighting in breakout rooms though.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a swim up suit - great porch and access to pools.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanch58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Paradisus experience with us and with future tourist.

We are pleased to read you had an amazing overall experience from your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda. We trust that our concept, our service philosophy, our LUXEclusive plan, modern facilities, and the professional care provided by our staff are meaningful attributes to satisfy or even surpass all our guests’ expectations.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to your second home, Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews