We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #31 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Playa Del Carmen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treasure hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel really is amazing as it looks. Every detail has been taken care of and the family concierge was well worth the extra money paid. Gilmer really made the stay unforgettable for us and our two little children. From cookies every night to chocolates galore and bath tubs with balloons. We loved every minute at this hotel and the good was cut above the rest.. Fine dining every night.
We will definatley return as regular guests to this hotel. It has been added to our list of favourite hotels.
Once again we thank all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Mun82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us part of your Paradisus experience. It is a real gratification for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Family Concierge guest. Be confident that Gilmer will receive your recognition to his attentive service to motivate him to continue pampering our guests that same way he did it with your family.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to make more travel memories!

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,058
    1,445
    477
    158
    117
See reviews for
5,140
897
30
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Service Staff was excellent, Rosario, Migugi, Rui, Griko, Jaimo thanks for your attentiveness and service. The Resort was great, but I can subject that for any company wanting to have a convention or business gathering this would be the perfect place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind compliments toward our staff. It is thanks to our excellent team that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests. We will surely congratulate Rosario, Migugi, Rui, Griko and Jaime in your behalf.

Remember that Paradisus will be waiting for your return.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very good option in Playa Car. The Resort is top quality in rooms, restaurants, Pool Area, entertainment, the Kids Club is amazing and good quality the a food. Our Family enjoyed the stay and we recommend it for all it offers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Checamy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that your overall experience was fantastic and you truly liked the facilities, the quality food at our restaurants, our unique nightly entertainment and all the services offered at Paradisus.

Thank you for your review and we will be waiting for your return at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a wonderful week at La Esmerelda May 26-June 1. Myself, my husband and our two children (ages 4 and 1) could not have been happier at the resort. We booked a junior suite room and upgraded to a swim up room at the end of the week. We really enjoyed the swim up room and would definitely do the same in our return trip.

Prior to our trip, I was on the fence about upgrading to the family concierge. We did not feel that we missed out without the family concierge. We were still able to make dinner reservations at the restaurants that we wanted at the times we requested. We were able to get a covered cabana bed next to the main pool and the main pools were not cold (as they are not heated pools) That being said, the hotel was not at full occupancy the week we were there. I think that the family concierge would be worth it during high season.

I would like to especially mention the help of Abraham Ortiz whom we met upon check in. He is extremely kind, friendly and helpful. He gave us a tour of the resort, got us set up with lunch and made all of our dinner reservations for us for the week. He went out of his way for us, helping my husband work with the front desk with questions regarding upgrading our room. On our last day, our transfer to the airport did not arrive, and Abraham was our go to--he made several calls to the transfer company. He did not leave until he knew that we were safely on our way to the airport. We were very lucky that he was with us.

All of the staff at La Esmerelda were very friendly, kind and helpful-- the servers at the restaurants, the ladies at the pool, the staff at the beach. Wherever we were in the resort, the people who worked there would say hello and ask us if we needed anything. My husband and I noted how hardworking everyone was.

I would not hesitate from recommending this hotel. We are already thinking about our return trip with friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DHanna4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to know that your family and yourself were able to live the Paradisus experience and you loved it. It is satisfactory to know that you enjoyed the comfort in your beautiful swim up room, the pool area and the friendly customer service. Abraham Ortiz has been informed about your recognition to his attentive job. He is a true example of the warm service we strive to provide every day in our resort.

Thank you for your recommendation and for your preference. It would be fantastic for us to host you again to provide you another wonderful family vacation.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is our 5th time to the Playa Del Carmen area but our first time to a family friendly resort. We used to go the Secrets and Excellence resorts. We have also stayed at the Grand Velas on the west coast of Mexico. WE LIKE NICE RESORTS!!! This property is absolutely stunning and smells amazing! Traveled with my husband and our 5 year old son.
Check in:
We were dropped off at the front of the resort and then taken via golf cart to the Family Concierge area. Check in was pretty smooth. I did not like the location of our original room and this was changed with out fuss from the staff. We had to wait a little longer because our room needed to be cleaned but that was fine. We had lunch at Hydro Grill while we waited and just relaxed outside of the Family Concierge building.
Room:
We were in a one bedroom master suite, ocean view and we added the Family Concierge services. We had room 2346 and had a fantastic view of the pools, grounds and ocean as a lovely back drop. I knew going into this that there would be distance between me and my ocean view but it was exactly what I expected. The rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed and really lovely. Our balcony had a table with four chairs, a couch and a big round Jacuzzi.
Pools, beach and grounds:
The pools are really nice, we spent a good amount of time in all of them. Every day we used a Bali bed inside the family concierge area but just on the edge, you could see the pirate ship pool from there. No one ever used those beds except us. So we never had an issue getting it. Israel, the absolute nicest person around that family concierge pool set it up for us every morning. He is so kind, loves his job and it shows in his constant smile and attitude. On his day off, he asked his partner to do it. He always greeted our son and us by name and happy to see us.
The beach is very nice, we enjoyed it in most afternoons. Loved the walk there and back. The grounds are so lovely, just gave us an opportunity to take it all in. There are lots of iguana's and a few coati around. Keep an eye out, our son really enjoyed seeing them!
Dining:
Mole is great, ate there on our second night. Hector is passionate about what you order in how he presents it and explains it. He was a pleasure to dine with!
Vento is just fantastic. We ate there two times. Hector, another fantastic waiter took care of us. After our first meal, he invited us back and said he would have the chef take care of us and make us something special. Our second night was so good. Chef Jorge brought out each part of our meal with Hector. The presentation was unbelievable!!
The Market is very good and service was great, we ate dinner there once and lunch a few times.
Bana, we ate there three times, twice for sushi and one night did the hibachi cooking show. Service the first night was poor at the sushi side, the other two nights service was very good.
Naos is the buffet. We only ate there for breakfast and our first dinner. If it is busy, service is just OK and you might have to wait for water or coffee. The food was fine, cook to order eggs and omelets are really good. Lots of choices for any kind of breakfast food.
Hydro Grill, great lunch food and the nicest staff!! Geronimo and Selena, thank you for taking great care of us!
Sunrise is also nice for lunch!
Kids Zone: we did use it for our son for several dinners (4). Yessina is top notch!!!!!! She works non stop to keep kids happy. Her coworkers too, just great! I was not sure that we would utilize this service but once we met the staff, we were comfortable and so was our son.
Spa, it is phenomenal and just beautiful. I had two massages with Ketty. She has such an kind spirit and is a top notch therapist. Do yourself a favor, use the spa area prior to your treatment. It is such a relaxing environment.
All of the staff around the resort really seem to love kids. It was so nice the way they treated our 5 year old son.
I have saved the best for last, our family Concierge Allan. He is so very special to us now. Allan is the one that took care of my displeasure at our original room. Allan is the one that took exceptional care of us to make sure that all of our needs were met. Allan is the one that made our son's trip one that he will remember for a very long time. One day our son said, "Allan takes such good care of me". The treats, the cookies and milk at bedtime, countless balloon creations, an in room scavenger hunt, two balloon and bubble filled baths. Allan found us every day and checked on us and to say hello. I was a little concerned to use this service and not be in that part of the hotel. It was not an issue at all. While all of the staff at this hotel are really wonderful. Allan made our stay what it was, a truly special family vacation. Thank you again Allan for taking such wonderful care of us during our 9 days there!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cmenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your comments with us.

It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed the special benefits of being a Family Concierge guests. Our staff works very hard to provide our families an unforgettable experience trough little details and special amenities for our youngest guests.

Your recognition to the service received from Israel at the pool area , Hector and Chef Jorge from Mole restaurant , Geronimo and Selena from the Hydrogrill , Yessina at the Kids zone, Katty from the Yhi Spa and especial mention to Allan your butler; will be sent to their supervisors in order to motivate them to continue pampering all our guests.

Please remember that in Family Concierge you will find your home away from home in front of the Mexican Caribbean.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have done a ton of research on great family hotels in mexico and the caribbean. This hotel is the best that I have seen for young families. I would say its best for kids under 7. The family concierge service is well worth it. Its hard to understand what is included and if it is worth the price, but it is! Upon check in, the kids get a book bag filled with a hat and T-shirt. Then in the room they give you all kinds of children toiletries. I can't forget the children's bath robe and slippers. The hotel itself is new and nice. Food is pretty good for an all inclusive. Try the tasting menu at the french restaurant. Its an expensive added cost but it was amazing! The experience was up there with Eleven Madison Park and Jean George. Very cool ambience. The kids loved the pirate ship and the FC pool. You can't compare it to a traditional 5 star hotel, but for its category and for being an all inclusive, it is definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: The one bedroom master suite was perfect for a family. They have joining suites if you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that you had an amazing overall experience from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

As you mention in your comments, at Family Concierge we truly enjoy pampering our guests, specially the smallest ones, who´s happiness is reflected in every single smile they show on their faces. It is satisfactory to know that your kids enjoyed the special gifts for them and they loved the pirate ship and the private pool.

Remember that at Family Concierge our youngest guests are pampered the same way you do it at home and we will be waiting for your prompt return.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a family trip and found the Paradisus to be exceptional. All the good reviews you have read are true. If you are looking to relax this is the place to be. When you are under the family concierge plan everything is done for you. You have nothing to think about except yourself. Gilmar who was our concierge went out of his way to be helpful and immediately dealt with any request we had. The grandchildren were very pleased when Gilmar would bring them cookies and balloons for their bath. The jacuzzi is lots of fun for the kids to play around in as well.
The food was remarkable and we didn't have anything to complain about. Fuego was my favourite and the veal just melted in your mouth. There are numerous restaurants and some for adults only as well.
We opted for the double master suite and can tell you that if you are looking for space and comfort this is where to be.
With the family concierge plan you have your own restaurant, pool and beach area which is never crowed. There is always a sunbed or lounger for you at whatever time of day you go.
Adrian at the Hydro grill was very helpful and attend to all our needs.
The playroom and swimming area is great for little children if you have any.
We also found the staff to be very respectful and courteous at all times.

Room Tip: The master suites and very large and comfortable. If you don't feel like going out for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nunzia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Paradisus - Family Concierge experience with us and with future guests. We are glad to read you had a relaxing stay with us and your kids enjoyed the amenities specially prepared for them , because our youngest guests deserve everything and those details are simple one way to make their stay memorable.

As well, it is satisfactory for us to read that you were delighted by the food at our restaurants, especially Fuego, that you had a great time at the beach and pool areas and most of all the staff friendliness .Gilmer and Adrian will be happy to hear that they contributed to your stay.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,701 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,650 reviews
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,421 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,976 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing