We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing atmosphere with incredibly friendly owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge

Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge
Ranked #40 of 1,220 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant, bar, lounge you name it. Los Tabernacos has something that will please everyone. Sports events on giant screen along with themed nights party starting in November. Come have dinner in our friendly laid back atmosphere, the owner Daniel will make you feel right at home. Then at 10:30pm is when the party starts up until.... Los Tabernacos is the restaurant / bar that you will have you coming back for more.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing atmosphere with incredibly friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Daniel is an incredible host! What an amazing atmosphere. Cheering on the Habs during the playoffs at Tabernacos was priceless! If you want to eat during a habs game, plan on showing up a good 2h before the game. If not, come by for some beers (25 pesos) and amazing atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    127
    28
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“If you like hokey, this is the place to be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I went there with Canadians guys I met in Playa Del Carmen. They suggest me to try "Poutine", so I took one. I would say it's a huge concentration of fatty and the toast is very strange for me. For sure I'll never eat it again.
Very friendly atmosphere, nice staff and excellent mojito ;-)
I highly recommend to book before to get a table

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globe_trotter_maxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a great time at Los Tabernaco, sharing drinks with Daniel whose hospitality made you feel like you were right at home.

The food was excellent and the service was phenomenal, Molly the waitress was inviting and on point.

This place is a definite must if you like hokey and good food and friendly atmosphere.

We'll definately go back and highly recommend that if you go to Playa Del Carmen, that you check it out.

Daniel & Adele

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gotodanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hockey and food fan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We found this place accidentally and WOW glad we did, from the moment we waited in line, we were told to be there by 4:30pm on game night if we wanted a seat. Being huge hockey fans and not to mention hubby is a Montreal Canadiens fan we were there on time a we got a seat. Waitress was at our table quickly to take our order. Wow was I happy to open the menu and find chicken wings and poutine. It was a absolutely delicious. Atmosphere was just fabulous, the owners are very friendly with all patrons, the waitresses are great I can't remember our server's name she was a tiny little blonde she spoke great English and French, and a very pleasant attitude....the only sad part about that night Montreal lost to Tampa Bay....not to worry game #3 in the playoffs and Montreal has the series 3-0
Can't wait to go back and watch another game...not to mention eat some very yummy food

Thank you for a wonderful night in Playa Del Carmen
If I may quote my husband "calice that was good"

P.S I wish I knew the recipe to the ranch dressing they serve it was soooo good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rafflinaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best poutine in playa del carmen !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited the Los Tabernacos last friday night while the Montreal canadiens were against Tampa Bay and WHAT A Party !!Same as we were in Montreal with the hot weather !The poutine was excellent(i had the mexican one) ,very good service and not too pricey..The owner Daniel,very friendly, gave us all a tequila shot at the end of the game ..We loved this place ,we will go back for sure ! keep up the good work guys!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 252Sebastien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing