We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #144 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is one of my favorite parts of the city. Just close enough to easily walk to most attractions, while at the same time being out of tourist areas.

Real offers good food, suitably comfortable rooms and a number of little amenities that fit nicely with the location (bicycles, street-side lounge, etc)

Room Tip: It's a compound, so the rooms are quiet. However, I preferred the rooms on the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you very much indeed for you comments, we really appreciatte your time and notes. which motivate us to continuo improving service and areas. We hope that you are coming back again. You have your home in México. Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    341
    141
    100
    107
See reviews for
183
397
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We picked this hotel based on the location, and never dreamed it would be so good in so many other ways! It is small, which meant we did not have to walk far for anything. Meals, drinks, and personel were always convenient. We really loved sitting in front of the lobby each night with a drink, watching the parade of 5th avenue strollers and listening to the great Cuban music right across the street. Easy walking to anything you wanted, coffee cafes, food, shopping, and constant activity. Ingrid helped us out so much, with a room upgrade which was well worth it--even a patio with a hammock! We so enjoyed learning a bit of Spanish from the tireless waitresses, especially Norma and Cecilia. And Sandra in the lobby helped us to book some perfect excursions, and looked out for us as well. We really liked the beach club at the Gran Porto--it is in a protected corner, so the waves were tame and we could swim every day, even when the rest of the beach was too rough. The animation team of Dani and Moni were unbelievable, so talented and friendly. We can't say enough about how much we loved this place, and it was such a bargain. And the most comfortable beds we've ever had in all of Mexico!

Room Tip: Ground floor with a patio are well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OMEXICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
We really appreciate your comments and time, it has been so kind for mentioning some Employees, Animation Team basically and they are so happy with it. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Please keep in mind that this is your home in México, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. What can i say, i got the best value for the money. This hotel is located perfect, close to everything you need, nightlife, beach, 5 avenue, resturants and moore. They clean the room perfect every day, the all inclusive buffe and bar are perfect. Ive never seen so helpful and kind staff at any hotell and ive been traveling alot. I give this hotell 10 of 10!

Special thanks to,

CESAR, best bartender in the world, numero uno. This guy is the reason why i love this hotel, everyone who stayed at this hotel loved this guy, perfect service and always happy and he takes care of everyone!!

Adrian also a bartender, i thank you for all the help u did for us, perfect service.

Resturant manager Bersain, hes always there for you, and if u need anything just tell him, he will get right back at you. He helped us with alot och things and i thank you!!

Caleb, works in the lobby at the reception, very friendly and great service, if u need anything or if u have any probelm with the hotell or in the room or with ur booking, just talk with this guy and he will help you out.

Lillya, waiter at the resturang, she will always be to ur favour if u need anything at the table, always shining and smiling, and very nice service.

A big thanks for allt of you guys, you are the reason i had a good stay at this hotell. Your manager should be very proud of you. I am recomending this hotell to all the prople i know that are traveling to mexico.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank salle_salle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank ou very much indeed for your comments, we really appreciatte your time and notes, and hoping that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards from all Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kramfors, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I Think this resort was very good! i Went there with my family and it was a very calm place if you think that the Place is on the 5th avenue the long food and shopping street. the service was awesome and with that i mean everyone =) And the team of course, The Animation team who have the activities at the beach for the whole day and at night they having there own show's with different themes! Thank you Dani and Moni for that and the rest of the people on the resort! I can probably think of coming back to this hotel..

Room Tip: i have only one thing to complain about, and that is the AC in the smaller rooms, they are very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
We really appreciate your comments and time, it has been so kind for mentioning some Employees, and they are so happy with it. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Please keep in mind that this is your home in Playa del Carmen, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Our visit to real was a pleasent one. The hotel is a bit dated but location was excelent for us. It is on 5 th ave. So it near the tourist center. On the otherhand if you walk away from the beach you can find local people. From real you are in walking distance for beach, shops and all other activities. While you are near everything real is still relatively quiet.

The staff is really friendly. Everything just works. Food is nice althought it may be bit boring at evenings. From bars one can get whatever drinks you desire.

Rooms show age but they are charming. Beds are large. Warm water is not a problem. There is an tv which have some english channels but I was not able to find any english speaking news channels.

Pool area is not very large but it is enough. And it is nicely garden styled.

With all-inclusive you can use services in the beach club. Which is nice because the beach is an Paradise.

I really recomend to go bars which locals use. Food is cheap and excelent there.

There might be more luxurious hotels in Playa but you will have hard time to find friendlier place. And then there is the location, location, location... I did really enjoy my stay at Real

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your comments, and we are so happy with your vacations spent in our property, this is your home at any time. All notes and comments are so welcome to improve. Also employees read your comments and were motivaded to continuo with the good service. We really hope that you are coming back again soon.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbor Vitae
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here Mid March 2013. I enjoyed my stay in this tropical setting. The facilities were very good and unique compared to the "big white box places" in the area. The beach was a 10 minute walk or 2 minute free shuttle ride away. The food ranged from OK to very good. The people working there were very friendly and charming. Always eager to help us. And those two "Animation" entertainment folks were a bit funny and lots of fun. I liked it here.
Joe

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with an outdoor balcony, I like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your comments and time, it is so motivated all your notes. We really hope that you are coming back again soon, this is your home in Playa del Carmen, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Well, we enjoyed the people who worked at this property, very nice and accommodating. Diana, Caleb & Evelio were awesome. Food was alright. I ate a lot of fruit and the deserts were awesome. We paid extra to go to Porto Real's food service and amenities. Well worth it. There was more to choose from. The Real Playa is centrally located for not being on the beach (we thought it was), what do travel agents know, anyway! Seem that most people went out of their way to make our trip better. All inclusive meant that we had access to food and beverages 24 hrs a day. When the restaurant closed there was always a snack bar open with a variety of meat, cheese, fruit, desserts and beverages including beer on tap. Room was quiet, a/c was also as quiet as a/c can be. Our room was a standard room with all inclusive. We didn't have any of the problems that others have had.
We had a chance to visit the other 2 properties, there is no comparison between the properties, which are 2 times as much.
On the down side this was billed as a 4 star property I think it is more a 2 or 3 as far as the rooms and amenities go. As far as the staff goes, they were 4-5 star. We were always waiting for the other shoe to drop. Playa del Carmen has changed since we were last there. We seemed to get just half the story at first then when we got the other half it usually cost us more money. If you're thinking that American Express Travelers Cheques are a good bet, think again. No one wants to touch them, even the major resorts. Good thing we brought cash too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laidbackaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank ou very much indeed for your comments, we really appreciatte your time and notes, also that mentioned some Employees. Hoping that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards from all Staff. You have a home in Playa del Carmen, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#86 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#102 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Property: Real Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing