We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danijel - Mony....fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #147 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 11 October 2013

just a great vacaction with all the benefits. amesome and friendly mexican staff with a natural smile, they offer you all you need. the rooms are old and very sad, "needs maintenace". the both general manager are very arrogant and not helpful, they give in a very rude way order to the employees "not professional".
my kids are in love with the enterainment team - wonderful show (latino, moulin rouge...) always helpful on the beach with funny activities. Thanks to Danijel with his charm and organisation in the resort, he offer us a room upgrade and the premium package. Mony and the new girl very lovely, Mony has 24 horas energy...WOW
Once again, thanks the enterainment team and all the people which work around the restaurant and bar.

Ray

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raymond_69d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you very much indeed with all your comments and time, it is so important for us, and motivated us to improve service and facilities. Thank for mentioning oour Animation Employees We really hope that you are cominga back again soon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Super nice holiday week, very warm welcome. Very clean, well maintained, great site, excellent food, super friendly staff, especially manager, Senor Aguado and Senor Cenovio that are always present, smiling and welcoming. Special thank you to Senor Aguado for his kindness, animators Daniel and Monica for their boundless energy, waitresses Christabel and Selene, always cheerful and our service with the constant smile, Carlos at the front desk also always nice and smiling, Alejandro, barman at the beach for his very good service. Thanks to you, we have experienced a memorable vacation.

If you want to spend a week's holiday and feel as a family, go to this hotel, we recommend it. You will feel appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LilyPare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We really appreciate your comments, and all these help us continuo improving our facilities and service. We really hope that you are coming back again.. I wil talked with our staff about your comments, Thank You again,
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a great resort, rooms are nice and clean, all inclusive is the best. My husband and I enjoyed the trip until we were bombarded by the salespeople inside the hotel. You think you have to worry about peddlers on the beach, not here, worry about them inside. If you can avoid them, youre sure to love this resort

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frazsorrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We really hope that you are coming back again, these coments help us a lot.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Adult resort on the beach on 5th avenue it's a great resort in a great location
Only tiny negative lunch buffet could be a bit better but still very good
5th avenue is very nice to walk on in the evening for fun shopping or dinning good deals but you have to negotiate hard lol
Love it
Will go again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We really appreciate your comment, it is so important for us to continuo improving service and facilities, about the garden we are making some changes and they will look nicer.
We hope that you are coming back again, this is your home in Playa del Carmen,
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

So we have been to playa a couple of time's and loved it. We were recommended this hotel from flight center, they said it was four star.Not even close.The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly and caesar at the bar was fantastic.As far as the rest of the resort,very disappointed.Food in cafeteria"not hot",the hotdog's you had for dinner the night before were the same one's fried up for the, I guess " BACON " substitute with your eggs.If the hotdog's were not consumed in the morning they would make their apperance yet again at lunch.The SPA building was not open,at all ( we were there for 10 day's).Our room didn't even have a tiny little fridge,with all the money they take off you,this seems like a small price to pay for them not to loose guest.We had to pay an additional $150.00 for the 10 ten day's to upgrade,to a room that had a fridge.We weren't there 20mins and already I was upset because of that.Their beachclub is very far away from the actual resort,about a 25min walk down the beach,there were no snacks there of any kind,what does it cost to open a few bags of chips.Right behind the beachclub,is their sister resort,we went into the lobby and the man said we couldn't come in. Guess we had the wrong color band on our wrist,or we probably would have had to pay an additional $200.00 or $300.00 dollars to use the facilities.Our air conditioner very loud, while other guest's were very quite ?Very noisey birds and pigeons,but I realize it's hard to put little muzzle's on them.By the pool for all guest,including children of all age's were a group of 20 year old boy's that were very drunk and continued to drink for the entire day. They were using very vulgar language and throwing their empty cups into the pool.This happened on more than one occasion and nobody seemed to be doing anything about it, or seemed to care.The window lever in our bathroom shower did not work at all. The 24 hour snack bar was just chips and peanut's, the few tomatoes and celery sticks that were there were barely clinging to life.Constant banging from the construction crew.There was a time share note on our door,to come to a presentation.The ping pong table had like three operable legs so only the person with the two good legged side could be victorious.And last but not least,was the cleanliness of the room, could have been better,we would ask for more toilet paper and the girl would forget to leave it. We would ask for a couple of extra water's and she wouldn't leave any extra. I had to fight an army of ant's in our shower for a bar of soap everyday, Im sad to report that the ant's were victorious,there was also alot of mold. Thank's for making this such a crappy experience for us,wont see ya soon. Happy Travel's.

Room Tip: Do your research before you leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We really apologize if we could not exceed your expectations, and all you notes are so important for us, we hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again and show you how important are your notes. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Visited in August 2013.

PROS:

Fantastic location, right on quinta avenida so no need to take taxi's etc.
Service is good. Ana, who works in the restaurant, is very friendly, polite and attentive.
Clean. Room was cleaned every day and bed sheets every 3 days.

Entertainment at night. It was simple, nothing fancy but better than nothing at all. The entertainment team were exceptionally friendly and fun to be around!!

CONS:

Food was horrible. Of the lowest quality. I did not enjoy it at all. Perhaps that is because I am used to big harty meals back home, however when I ate outside the hotel it was a lot better. I would say this hotel is a little expensive when everything is all inclusive yet of a very low standard.

CHARGED EXTRA. Extra charge for transfer to the hotel yet it was not my fault. My flight had been cancelled and I had let them know this. They told me I did not have to pay yet when I checked out I was made to pay for this!!! Totally unfair as it was written in the e-mail that they observe the flights all day, when it's delayed and when it's cancelled.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel as they can be very devious and charge people extra when they shouldn't. The food is the worst ever! And its a little on the expensive side.

The only thing going for it is the location really!!

Best of luck!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hdaohda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

First of all, we thank you for your comments, we are doing our best to improve Food and Beverage departament.
We hope that you are coming again to show you our changes.
Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Okay, so this has taken me nearly a year to review. Me and my boyfriend went on our first holiday here,in September 2012. Playa Del carmen is a lovely rural area, perhaps a quieter version of Cancun.

When we first arrived at the Hotel we were greeted kindly and taken to our room, it was upstairs in an apartment block. When we entered the room it was very hot and stuffy, due to the fact that our air-con was not working. We were rather peeved but it wasnt too much of a worry, then we decided to take showers to cool down. I HATE creepy crawlies, so to find large ants in the shower and on the walls was horrible. Because of this we went to reception to ask to switch rooms, they were completely happy to let us do this and took us and our belongings to a new cooler, bug free room. This meant we could relax. The room also had a fridge stocked with fizzy pop, water and local beers.

Our new room was very clean and the bed was huge! On our first night we ate at the hotel's A La Carte restaurant. I was impressed by the menu and the attentive service offered by the waiters, still with a view of the main entertainment it was an enjoyable experience. For the other nights we ate in the buffet restaurant. It was ok, food was enjoyable some nights, others a bit bland but the highlight was the american cheese burgers. These were my favourite. Breakfast was brilliant and the lunch time selection was good too. (i must add that i can be a little fussy.)

We took a trip to the beach, which was easy to get to whether you walk or take the shuttle service provided by the hotel. Here we met our favourite staff members. THE ANIMACION TEAM!!
these were the most amazing people who always included you in activities and they were soo helpful. Honestly without these people our holiday would not have been as good!

My overall verdict of this hotel is if you are not a luxury snob, you'll do fine here, food is not bad, staff are amazing (special thanks to sonia the waitress and the animacion team.) and the area is brilliant. Free bicycle hire from the hotel too!

i would go back to this hotel, but only for the staff really, i do think id like to try someplace new.

Room Tip: definitely go for the upgrade if you can afford. ps, keep curtains shut to conceal privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank naomilr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much indeed for yoour comments, it is so important your experience with us, and motivate us to continuo improving facilities and service. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards from all Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,809 reviews
0.4 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#38 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#78 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £52 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing