We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever such a waste of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #146 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived here early September 2013, the hotel staff were rude and unhelpful, the room was discussing and not fit for humans, it's was filthy and unsafe, the sockets were hanging out of the walls and floor tiles were broken, we could have upgraded our room at a high unreasonable cost because the whole resort was unkept and rundown, the swimming pool is tiny and raised from the ground no different to a standard bath tub. We ended up paying an extra $80 per night to move to the gran Porto real which was of a completely different standard it was on the beach front with a huge marble reception as you would expect when arriving at a 4.& 5 star hotel. We ave written a complaint to our travel agents because of how bad this experience was this hotel is no more than 2 star if that!

Room Tip: Go to the gran Porto real. Please do not waste your time or money on this hotel it will surely ruin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we also are checking about you mentioned, we really apologize if you have any inconvinience with us.
We hope you give the oportunity to hostess you again. All you comments are so value for us to improve our facilities.Thank You very much,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

It has been 5 years since I visited here and back then it was the same as the reviews repeatedly state: Rooms are dated, not on the beach food (but a close walk), food is mediocre but has a great location and price can't be beat especially at Christmas time when I am travelling.

Am I excited to stay here? It would not be my first choice but I know what I am in for with this 3 star (nothing more than that for sure). Plus having being their before I that with the great location I can do many things on my own and that is what sold me more than anything else (next to price of course).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TMooreCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comment, we really apologize if could not exceed your expectations, it is so important for us you share your experiencie in Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. I already talked with Cheff and Food and Beverage Manager to make some corrections. Thak you again for your time. We hope you give us the opportuniy to hostess you again. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

is great to be in real playa, it doesn't matter rain ir sun because is carribean with dream.
my friend and i love to be hanging around with the staff from ANIMACION. good, just awesome, 3 people doing everything. Dabijel and the girls daily on the beach with jokes, smile and energy, very energetic, the dance and games shows never get bored, YOU MUST SEE, the have a long day on the beach with the activites (kayac, bocca, strechitng, volleyball, tennis.....) and after to present a show with 100% energy, my respect!!! we come back very soon to see our friend Viannei the corerographer,
beverage foot, great bartenders, big hello to "everyone" in the restaurant. THE 5TH IS PERFECT, SO MANY THINGS TO SEE AND DO.
the biggest problem is in the lobby (as always), bad attitude, try to sale, if you don't get what they offer to you they get mad and rude with you - special Fabricio. the manager just staying around and talking with them, they have nothing to do or what?

However, we will still pick up this resort, is a great choose with the price and location, keep in touch with the staff

Greetings from Ontario...Welker

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelkMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We really appreciate your comments, and we thank you for your time, all these motivate us to continuo improving service and facilities.
Hoping that you are coming back again.
At any time you are so welcome,
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

just a great vacaction with all the benefits. amesome and friendly mexican staff with a natural smile, they offer you all you need. the rooms are old and very sad, "needs maintenace". the both general manager are very arrogant and not helpful, they give in a very rude way order to the employees "not professional".
my kids are in love with the enterainment team - wonderful show (latino, moulin rouge...) always helpful on the beach with funny activities. Thanks to Danijel with his charm and organisation in the resort, he offer us a room upgrade and the premium package. Mony and the new girl very lovely, Mony has 24 horas energy...WOW
Once again, thanks the enterainment team and all the people which work around the restaurant and bar.

Ray

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raymond_69d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you very much indeed with all your comments and time, it is so important for us, and motivated us to improve service and facilities. Thank for mentioning oour Animation Employees We really hope that you are cominga back again soon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Super nice holiday week, very warm welcome. Very clean, well maintained, great site, excellent food, super friendly staff, especially manager, Senor Aguado and Senor Cenovio that are always present, smiling and welcoming. Special thank you to Senor Aguado for his kindness, animators Daniel and Monica for their boundless energy, waitresses Christabel and Selene, always cheerful and our service with the constant smile, Carlos at the front desk also always nice and smiling, Alejandro, barman at the beach for his very good service. Thanks to you, we have experienced a memorable vacation.

If you want to spend a week's holiday and feel as a family, go to this hotel, we recommend it. You will feel appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LilyPare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We really appreciate your comments, and all these help us continuo improving our facilities and service. We really hope that you are coming back again.. I wil talked with our staff about your comments, Thank You again,
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a great resort, rooms are nice and clean, all inclusive is the best. My husband and I enjoyed the trip until we were bombarded by the salespeople inside the hotel. You think you have to worry about peddlers on the beach, not here, worry about them inside. If you can avoid them, youre sure to love this resort

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frazsorrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We really hope that you are coming back again, these coments help us a lot.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Adult resort on the beach on 5th avenue it's a great resort in a great location
Only tiny negative lunch buffet could be a bit better but still very good
5th avenue is very nice to walk on in the evening for fun shopping or dinning good deals but you have to negotiate hard lol
Love it
Will go again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We really appreciate your comment, it is so important for us to continuo improving service and facilities, about the garden we are making some changes and they will look nicer.
We hope that you are coming back again, this is your home in Playa del Carmen,
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#188 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,841 reviews
4.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#66 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#35 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
10,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £51 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing