We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gustavo Martinez”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #152 of 216 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We just got home yesterday from a nine day stay at the Real Playa del Carmen. We just wanted to tip our hats to our bell boy Gustavo Martinez and the rest of the staff. Although this hotel is not a five star hotel, by any means, the staff and especially Gustavo, helped to make it feel as though it were a five star hotel. He was so friendly and helpful, always with a smile and a helpful tip for our adventures in Mexico. The hotel itself needed some help..mostly in the kitchen, as the food was not great. We knew it was a 3 star going into the trip, and we made the very best of our time there. Thank you so much Gus, we had a wonderful time!

Paul and Deb. Trudell

Room Tip: We upgraded to a family room, it just gave us more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for yoor comments, aslo for mentioned Gustavo, I already spoke with the Food and Beverage Manager to check ouy what you wrote down in this comment. Best Regards. We really hope that you are coming back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

we recently booked an all inclusive vacation with you costing us $4955.66 can dollars to a resort in playa del Carmen mexico
at the Real playa del Carmen resort.

we were absolutely disgusted with the conditions of our room.

for nearly $5000 , we expected better.

the night we arrived, our bathroom floor had water all over it , we had to call someone in to fix it right away,
a maintance guy came in , said he fixed it, but clearly didn't, we had leaks for the entire 2 weeks, we had to put towels down to soak up the water every day .

our fridge was empty upon our arrival and the fridge was filthy and gross

we called the front desk to have it filled, they said yes right away...we waited and waited , we wanted water
more than anything at that point, no one came, midnight we called again,
the guy said tomorrow 11am someone will be there, we had to go out and get a bottle of water at a store costing us $4.00

next day guy came filled our fridge with 2 water 2 pop and 2 beer ......very disappointing!

our room was covered in mold .

we were offered a flat screen tv .....we were not given a flat screen tv, it was an old bunky tv that had Spanish channels.
we had one English station that was porn!

we were offered a cd/dvd player.....it wasn't hooked up and we couldn't use it , because it didn't fit into the electrical wall panel.

the spa , was gross, it had a massage table in there covered in black mold and other stuff I cant describe.

we were getting a lot of mosquitoes in our room and later found the problem , the window in our room, which was looked, but it
wasn't closed all the way........

the furniture was old , our couch in the room, stank and it was covered in stains and spots.

right next door to our room, lived the locals, who mostly every night had their music cranked and made quite a
.disturbance.and had a barking dog that started every day at 4am .

the food was terrible.......it was all you can eat and drink , but they only served draft beer in the dinning area, if we wanted a bottle of beer we were told we had to have it in the lobby only.

we are truly disqusted with our vacation and will never go back.

does anyone from your agency ever go to these places and do an inspection.

angry and upset , it was the worse vacation we ever had, it was our first time to mexico and our last !
we were robbed of our money and taken advantage of , the website offereing all these great and wonderful things, are a rip off

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OCEAN6173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, we also are checking about you mentioned, we really apologize if you have any inconvinience with us.
We hope you give the oportunity to hostess you again. All you comments are so value for us to improve our facilities.Thank You very much,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel has an excellent location right off 5th Ave at 34th. There is a fun Cuban bar across the street. Easy access to the beach at the sister resort with a 10 minute walk or some shuttle service early and late in day. Restaurants, shops and services within walking distance.

Guests
The hotel offers several levels of service. Room, all inclusive and shared inclusive(which gives access to food and facility at Gran Porto down by the beach). Many guests from Norway and France provided an international flavour to the atmosphere. Staff were practicing their french skills and I was impressed by some who spoke three languages quite well.

Facilities
This place seems to be winding down their business. We were told that ownership had changed hands for Real Resorts and that this particular hotel was slated to be offloaded by the new owners. Watch for possible break in the arrangement with Grand Porto for beach access if this happens.
No effort is being made to maintain the furniture or have consistent furnishings across rooms. Our friends had a 'daybed' sofa and one coffee table with bunk beds in their room. We had one chair and a table in our room. Another room had a pull out bed with badly stained cushions. We had the Master Suite Upgraded and attached pictures will show how sad the rooms are.
You must ask for a hair dryer and coffee maker, but they were delivered promptly. The iron and ironing board supply is limited and shared.
They provide small soap and shampoo. Bring your own conditioner, and body lotion etc.
The balconies - we had two- are solid walls with just enough space for two chairs and a sm table. Felt like sitting in a well.
Towels were fine, but bring faceclothes as they are only providing a large bathtowel and small thicker foot rug. Beach towels were plush and always available.
Gardens were very lush and shade could be found all over. In fact, if you were looking for a sunny spot by the small pool, you would have to move around during the day. Sometimes it was difficult to find an open lounger.
Cleaning was great - as long as you put your housekeeping sign out. Fridge was not too cold, but stocked regularly.
Bikes were available to be signed out for free near security by 10th ave. They are in poor repair and impossible to adjust seats due to a lack of regular lubrication and proper tools to loosen/tighten bolts. When asked, staff attempted to help, but they are fighting a losing battle.

Staff and Service
The one redeeming factor that brought my rating up to average from poor is the staff. They were friendly, accommodating, working hard at making our visit pleasant. When we ran into problems (no water one day and bug infestation in bed another) they responded quickly and worked to resolve the problems. It was obvious to us that they were trying to have a good attitude in a situation where the owners were not providing the budget to function like a normal hotel where capital improvements are part of a rotating plan.
We didn't see the animation team at work during the day, but did experience the evening entertainment, consisting of trivia contests. Seemed fun and a nice change from the costumed karaoke performances of other resorts.

Food
The main buffet area has low lighting and a fairly limited selection. The fare is Mexican, but without proper labels, we found the choices a bit questionable. The regular huge tray of brown refried beans brought many minutes of entertaining comments from visitors. (looked like diarrhea).
Generally there was a changed daily 'grill' meal - which we stuck to. Then about 8 trays of 'other hot' items and three 'salad' trays plus cut up fruit. We never had bacon or sausages offered at breakfast, but you could choose a Julianne ham for omelets or scrambled eggs at the grill.
Often you found the saucers for coffee cups stacked where small plates were required and plates where the coffee cups were stacked. No biggie, but showed the lack of training for staff.
Restaurant hours go from 7 am to 5 pm then don't open for supper til 7 pm.
The 24 hr snack bar was stocked minimally and often out of coffee at 6 am when we were up too early for the 7 am restaurant opening.
We always missed the deadline to reserve for Maria`s, so can`t comment on it.

Beach
This is located in town. Sister hotel beach access is available by the Ave Constituyentes Ferry dock 10 blocks away- about a ten minute walk. The public beach can be accessed by walking north to 38 and down two blocks also.

Overview
For the location and minimal facilities, this is an adequate vacation facility for those who are only needing a sleep spot and plan to enjoy 5th Ave and tours etc. Simply do not expect the brochure pictures to adequately illustrate what you are getting. I would have rated it poor had it not been for the hard working and friendly staff.

Room Tip: This is in the middle of the city, so traffic noise should be expected as well as music from bars an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OntarioJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We really apologize if we could not exceed your expectations, it is so important your experiencie with us and change and improve facilities. We will take care of it. Thank You. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We arrived at the Real and were greeted with friendly staff. The hotel is small so the food selection is minimal. I found the actual hotel smaller than what the pictures indicated but all the staff were very friendly. The hotel is kept very clean. We had a regular room which we found to be very quiet. We are not fussy people so we were happy with the accommodations. If you want fancy, stay someplace else.
The hotel is situated on the north end of 5th Avenue which was great. We walked 5th avenue everyday and sat at a table by the street to people watch. We were within one block of the nice beach which we also walked daily.
They claim this is a four star but I would rate the hotel as a 3 star.
We spent one day at XPLOR and I highly recommend taking in this event. It was well worth the money. We purchased our tickets from Jorge, just outside out hotel.
I would have no problem returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our friends had a room adjacent to the construction and found it to be very noisy. We did not exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAL1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We really appreciate your comments and time, also so important for us to change and improve service and areas. Thank You again Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I have a Real Club membership, but this was our first visit to this property. It's hard to believe it is in the same group as the other resorts - Gran Porto and The Royal. At check-in, we asked for an upgraded room and we were happy to pay an additional $35 per night for the Presidential Suite. The room was terrible. Our small half-bath at home is larger than this bathroom and I'm not exaggerating. The TV remote was bolted to the wall, so you had to get out of bed to use it. Other than a king bed, there was a couch in the room (which faced nothing, there was only one TV) a set of bunk beds, a small fridge and a dresser. The in-room "safe" wasn't bolted to anything and could be picked up and carried.
We arrived at about 5pm and were starving. The restaurant doesn't start serving until 7pm so we went to the 24-hour snack bar. Every pan was empty. There was a salad bar of sorts but it had not had any attention in a very long time. No staff were present. We went across the street and ate.
My husband tried to order a premium brand cocktail and was told it would be another $35 per night "upgrade"!
At 9pm, the dinner buffet was staff-less and the serving dishes were mostly empty.
The pool is smaller than our pool at home.
The WiFi disconnected after about 5 minutes of inactivity and I had to log in again with a lengthy password.
There were a lot of smokers at this resort, many more so than other resorts we have stayed at. We didn't meet another American family - everyone we met (or overheard) were either European or Canadian.
The breakfast buffet was okay, but again, pitifully staffed.
The next day, we walked to The Royal to switch resorts before 9am. They were full but promptly moved us to The Gran Porto Real across the street. The difference in the level of service is astounding.
I wished we would have toured this resort before we booked here!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept and pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darcie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We really apologize if we could not exceed your expectations, it is so important your experiencie with us and change and improve facilities. We will take care of it. Thank You. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A great place to stay, and I would definitely stay here again.
Location was great, everything was at close distance. What made the place so attractive was the staff. They were amazing, everyone starting from the bellboy Gustavo, the front desk personal: Claudia, Fabricio, the 2 Carlos, Jesus and others that I do not remember their names, were always friendly and welcoming. The bartenders particularly Freddy, Antonio & Roberto were very professional, friendly, and fun to be with. The staff at restaurant offered a great service with a big smile and kindness, the ones I remember the most were Cristobel, Lilia and Selena.
The entertainment team was super friendly and fun to be with.
I was very surprised to read some nasty comments regarding the hotel personal, I definitely experienced the opposite.
In some occasions I had the pleasure to meet the General Manager Aguado and his assistants, they were very kind and friendly.
Even the security staff was very friendly and professional.
The hotel per se is a bit outdated, but is located in a great location, also is very clean and functional, in other words you get what you paid for, and more.
I like thank all of them (My new Mexican friends) for having a such an unbelievable time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giovanni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Gerente at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We really appreciate your time and comments, they are so important for us to improve and motivated us to continuo. We hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Beautiful beach.Ok food nice staff ,but watch out the will try to darge you into a time share The tried one at that hotel and us thinking they felt bad They moved us again,but too bully us into a over fourty thousand time share again.Run dont whalk when they ask yo if you would like to know more about the hotel....

Room Tip: A room with a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa04, Gerente at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We really apoligize if We could not exceed your expectacions, it is so important for us all your notes which you wrote down, Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#83 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
2,940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#193 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
16,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £49 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing