We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxed”
Review of Lido Club de Playa

Lido Club de Playa
Ranked #15 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Colibri Beach has been remodeled and the rooms are beautifully decorated in the original rustic Mexican style! You will love the warm and welcoming environment and immediately feel at home! The Colibri Beach is located right in the heart of Playa del Carmen on the beautiful beaches of the Riviera Maya with a total of 25 rooms and 5 small cabanas. Most rooms face the tropical garden and some of them have gorgeous ocean views. When you step out of your room, you are directly on the beach and can feel the pure, white sand under your feet. Guests of Colibri Beach are always welcome to the beach club Lido with it's fun and hip Palapa swing bar as found in the good old, original Playa times. The Lido offers excellent food and delicious drinks right on the beach, all at affordable prices. The friendly staff is attentive, professional and always ready to take good care of you and your needs! Being in the heart of downtown Playa del Carmen, Colibri Beach provides easy access to all the restaurants, shops and bars on 5th Avenue directly around the corner and even the nightlife is steps away on 12th Avenue. Because of this, a car is not necessary or recommended. There are many destinations to explore and excursions offered along the Riviera Maya which we would be happy to recommend. In addition, numerous water sport activities such as fishing, snorkeling, wave-running, parasailing and more are available right outside your door, along the beach. Enjoy a wonderful vacation at the Colibri Beach... We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel and all that Playa del Carmen has to offer for a fun and relaxing vacation!
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxed”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent a couple of days at this beach bar it is comfortable and pleasant. The food was okay, overall a good spot to laze the day away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    182
    43
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing beach club!!!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We tried 3 or 4 other beach clubs before discovering Lido and we're so glad we did! Everything about this place is head and shoulders above the rest, from the attentive and ever-so friendly service of Laura, Gabby and Karla, to the fantastic food, the big comfy mattress beds and the clean toilets. The girls really looked after us and always had a big smile, just what we want on our holidays! The location was perfect too, right bang in the middle of the main beach at Playa. Amazingly all this was up to half the price of other clubs we visited, one of which charged us £7 for a bottle of water, and none of which matched the atmosphere of this place. At Lido expect to pay only around £12 each per day for beds, a few beers, lunch and 4 or 5 bottles of water, great value!
Thanks to Laura and the girls for helping to make our first visit to Mexico a memorable one...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot for food & drinks on the beach”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I live in Playa Del Carmen and love going to Lido! It is great in the daytime for breakfast (until 12:30) or lunch. The food & drinks are very affordable compared to the other places along the beach. The service is great, especially Lau, Gabby and Alfonso! There are tables and chairs in the sand, swings at the bar, and beach beds to choose from (beach beds are free if you spend 100 pesos per person). We've also been there at night and there was a DJ playing on the beach and it had a great vibe. Not to mention the beach breeze is great to cool you down when you're dancing! Love Lido, one of the best places in PDC!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to have a drink and a bite on the beach.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This spot is perfectly poised to take in all the beauty of Playa D.C. You have stunning views of the beach from a cabana or a comfy cushioned lounger with Excellent service. My server on several occasions was Ricardo Perez, and he not only was on the spot with cold beers, but was very knowledgeable about the hot spots in Playa. This hombre was legit, and so was Lido bar. Don't miss out on unwinding here before the busy night of partying. Thanks Ricardo, till next time...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas in Playa del Carmen!!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

If you like a TRUE Cadillac margarita, where you can taste the tequila & watch them squeeze the fresh lime, Lido is the place for you!!! Our style of margarita is all booze.....good tequila, triple sec, a splash of fresh lime & the perfect floater of Grand Marnier....& that's it!! No mix & no fuss and we discovered that at Lido today!! Karlita makes THE BEST margaritas in Playa!!! Lido is right on the beach, under the Palapa & has swings for chairs at the bar. We are so happy right now......you should be too. Come to Lido & ask for Karlita!!!! You won't be disappointed!!!

Helpful?
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lido Club de Playa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Lido Club de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing