We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature-filled Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #14 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nature-filled Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Viceroy is great for couples and singles who want a beach front location and luxurious privacy. The villas are all tucked away and have their own outdoor plunge pool, shower, hammock.......The rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable.

The jungle setting is lovely. Not intimidating at all since it's beachfront and there are other hotels on both sides. Saw monkeys, lizards, interesting birds. A little nature-filled oasis.


We did the all-inclusive option and thought it was good. Happy to eat there every day -- good food, variety...lovely beachfront setting.. Service was usually very good. Slipped occasionally (slow) but the pace of the place is fairly slow and relaxed so it didn't matter much. There was a little confusion on what was and wasn't included - but all got resolved with a visit to the front desk.

The spa was a disappointment only because we signed up for 3 different treatments and it all got confused and we ended up with odd hybrids of the original bookings. They were very apologetic. The spa is pleasant and outdoor treatments are possible.

Room Tip: Luxury villas are a few minutes walk from the beach. If you want to be closer to the bar/restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Linda H,
Thank you for choosing our jungle retreat in this last visit to Mexico.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoy our services and restaurants Coral Grill and La Marea that much.
We are working with our Wayak Spa Team to improve our service. We do care about our guest experience and I appreciate that you have provide us your input.
We look forward to host you again at our jungle retreat.
Yours Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    139
    59
    26
    20
See reviews for
48
729
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calvia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I honeymooned in November for 2 weeks. Weather wasn't great but what a place.
On arrival we were well looked after. The villas are beautiful. Bed is heavenly. The pool was freezing & we had no sun shining through so we had to write that off sadly. It was one of the reasons we chose Viceroy. Food is fab! Great wines but menus lacking in variation. More or less ONLY Mexican food. I could eat the fish tacos & nachos every day, amazing. I am BIG on wines & was so surprised by the Mexican wines, they are very good. You need to pay a bit but so good. Service is good but sometimes things were forgotten & sometimes we were sitting for ages before we got any service. Spa is amazing but way too expensive! I would love to go back but I was not happy with the 26 % I had to pay on everything from daily tax on room / day, mini bar, all food & drinks! 15 % is service & the rest is tax! Too much! I would like to tip my waiter what i like & not 15%.....For this reason I will think twice about going back.
Beach is nice but NOT sandy though shoes are provided. There is a beautiful pier to swim from but with the waves it's really hard to get in & out. For a child or older person it's not possible.
All in all, it was amazing. Playa Del Carmen is fun for a day or two but in the Hotel there is nothing to buy so stuck up with cards, games etc..... And bring strong repellent!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end up next to the pool, 0 privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaCarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear NinaCarola,
I appreciate that you have shared your comments regarding your stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya.
It is a wonderful place to enjoy such special occasion.
Since your last visit on November we have done changes in our menus and offered various options for guest that have special diet restrictions. The fish tacos and nachos are one of our guest’s favorites so in your next visit you will find these in our menu as well as our "Antojeria" Night, where we bring characteristicly street food from Mexico to your table.
Your comments are very much appreciated and once again we hope to host you back perhaps in your Anniversary.
Best Regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent two weeks at The Viceroy and its was one of the best holidays I have ever had. The staff were professional, attentive and genuine. The food was delicious with a good selection of different options so we never got bored - the grilled fish tacos were amazing. The rooms were spacious and cleaned perfectly each day. Thank you to Pancho and Pepe for the 1st Class service we received each day on the beach - they could not have done a better job. Also thank you to Luis and Alberto for making our stay even better than expected.

We will definitely be back and would recommend the Viceroy to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday with great service in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: The all inclusive package is the best option to take
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Alistair B,
I am very glad that you have taken the time to share your comments.
It was a pleasure to host you. Our Chef Jetzabel is always trying to surprise and enhanced the experience of our guest. One of our gems is our staff and I will share your comments with Pancho and Pepe.
We all are looking forward to your second visit.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Just returned from our trip to the Viceroy to celebrate my wife's milestone birthday and our anniversary and are trying to figure out how to go back! If you are looking for a laid back place to unwind, this is the place! The food is great and the service is incredible. If you are celebrating something, let them know. They will make is special! The entire staff makes you feel like you are their number one priority, and there is no "not my job" mentality. They all jump in and do whatever if takes.

Our room was prefect. The two daily services were great, and every night at turndown we found some creative towel sculpture waiting for us. One my wife birthday, a three tier towel cake and a room full of balloons was waiting for us in the afternoon, and at night the whole room was covered in rose petals and the bed was surrounded by candles. One tip, if you give them a couple hours notice, they can crank the heat in the plunge pool, and it turns into a big hot tub, a great way to end the day after dinner.

We chose the Mayan Indulgence all inclusive package, which worked out great. Unlike other all-inclusives, there were no surprises at the end of the stay. Our only additional charges were for additional gratuities, which I gladly added.

One special mention, Francisco, our beach server, took incredible care of us. He made sure that we were never without a cold beverage, iced down in buckets. If we went for a walk, there were two beers waiting for us when we got back. I think he reads minds! Great job Viceroy, see you soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have plunge pools, but oceanfront are not as private as the ones back in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Scott B,

It is always grateful to learn that you have had a memorable experience with us and it definitely motivates us to keep our service. The entire team at Viceroy Riviera Maya, including Francisco, expects your return to our jungle refuge in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Laid out like a tropical rain forest hideaway, with gorgeous spacious villas tucked away among the foliage for seclusion. This does mean you may be a good few minutes’ walk from the beach, as we were in villa 39 near the front entrance. They take you on a walking tour on arrival to find your bearings, though we arrived in torrential rain , so being led around after dark with umbrellas just felt more disorientating. Much better would be to have a site map in the room and offer the tour in daylight when the rain stopped! Hand cut soaps with lovely smells are produced on arrival too.

Be aware the villas are shady due to the setting, so don’t expect to be able to get sun when in or near your room. We enjoyed spotting the wildlife, including a very tame raccoon, howler monkeys and various birds in the trees. Particularly enjoyed watching the pelicans fishing every day from the little wooden jetty.

The villa is lovely, with a private plunge pool, hammock and an outdoor moon shower ( plus a lovely big one indoors too!). Tequila and fruit on arrival in the room. Daily news sheet left at the door each morning.

The spa is lovely , with a big Jacuzzi pool and a very hot steam room for each gender( a bit too hot for our taste). A great way to end the day. And we had a free hour massage included in the special 5 for 4 night deal .

The beach is stony alas, so you need to use the wooden pier to reach swimmable sea, bit it was too rough to swim in during our stay. There are safer shallow parts a little further along the beach, outside other hotels. There’s a decent pool as well of course and we found chairs and shade readily , with staff happy to move them around and bring more towels.

Service is excellent throughout, with very attentive staff, even a man who cleans your sunglasses!

Breakfast is superb, a definite highlight to eat near the sounds of the sea. I recommend the green juice with chaya. Restaurant quality is very good, but be aware that it is all rather expensive, priced throughout in US dollars and aimed at those with deep pockets, so you will find the food spend is quite high as it isn’t really easy to eat out a lot. 35 dollars return cab fare to get to the main strip of playa del Carmen.

The main problem we encountered which you need to know is mosquito bites. We got loads of bites here. They have all the usual coils and sprays in the rooms , but the maids leave the doors open when cleaning so you will find mozzies in the room and throughout the walkways which will bite if you are prone to them. Strong repellent is required! Maybe we had it bad as it rained extremely heavily for 12 hours just as we arrived, then was lovely and sunny thereafter. I suspect the rooms further from the shore may be more inclined to mosquito problems – I think I’d prefer to be nearer to the sea in future.

Good to see a hotel willing to allow us to keep our room til checking out at 4 without making it difficult, though maybe it would be more of an issue if really full ( it was only 50%).

We enjoyed it greatly here, just wished the mozzies didn’t get at us so much!

Room Tip: secluded ( 39) or nearer the sea but more exposed to view, whichever you'd prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was my 2nd time to Viceroy Riviera Maya, last time it was the Tides. This is a great hotel to relax and enjoy the beach. If you are looking for load of activities go somewhere else. The rooms are secluded and comfortable. The beach and pool are very nice, and the food is above average. All the rooms have a private plunge pool and plenty of space to relax. The Coral restauraunt near the beach has great breakfast(included in my package) and good lunch. Dinner at Marrea is pricy but worth a visit. It was better this time then when it was the Tides. The staff is amazingly accomodating and polite. Just a great place to relax and be romantic. The ocean is beautiful, but the bottom is rocky. It's better to swim off their private pier. The pool is very nice and quiet. Definitelty get a beach hut for the hot mid day sun. The Oceanview rooms don't have the privacy that the more secluded jungle rooms have. Not sure why anyone would rent them. They don't have great ocean views anyway. Stick to the jungle rooms for better value.
My only issues were as follows:
-Food and beverages are very expensive. A salad with 5 shrimp is $24. Margarita is $12
-They only will sell you bottled water at $5 a pop. Since the tap water is not good they should really give you free water. I found this very annoying. When it is 87 degrees you need to drink a lot of water.
-waiters are a little pushy with the booze. I don't like being told to order drinks
-Rooms are little dark. Bathroom lighting is minimal. Could use a little more lighting.
-great outdoor shower, but not bathtub. No need for two showers.
-New gym is nice, but always smelled.
All in all this is a wonderful property. Grounds are spotless, staff is amazing, and the vibe is mellow and relaxing. I love eating meals in barefeet. Great spot for a honeymoon or a special occasion. Homeade soaps, sunglass washers, and an afternoon nap on a bed by the beach make this the premier property in the area.

Room Tip: I took suite 25 on both visits. Far from the beach, but the quietest and most secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxnBaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear MaxnBaci,
As always we appreciate your kind feedback on your recent stay.
Its great to hear the comments of our guests in order to continue to learn and improve life in paradise for upcoming visits. As per your kind comments on our food and beverage, please know we are constantly revising our culinary offers in order to be able to provide our guests with the best food and beverages at the best values. Regarding the gym and rooms comments, I have taken actions to make sure your comments are noted and we have a better air and light flow at the resort.
Finally we would like to thank you for coming back to the Viceroy and seeing the improvements we made in the past year.

Kindest regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville,ky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

It was our fifth time to the resort, and it was better than ever! All the new touches, the upgraded units, the improvements to the outdoor eating area, and the new workout facility were great additions. The staff was friendly, attentive, and genuinely wanted to make our stay the best it could be. On my birthday the staff surprised us by decorating the entire room with rose petals and candles. The food was fabulous! They made anything we wanted, and we're happy to do so. The outdoor shower was wonderful! The pool side sevice was outstanding, placing our lounges in the sun or the shade at our every whim, wiping the suntan lotion off our sunglasses, and refreshing our drinks as soon as the ice melted. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the place, but I should stop now, because this is one of the best kept secrets in the Myan Riveria, and I want to keep it that way!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms, and a room where you are secluded from other guests, so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avid_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,147 reviews
7.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Property: Viceroy Riviera Maya
Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travelbag, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing