We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So special for our 14th anniversary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #13 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So special for our 14th anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We are staying at the Viceroy Riviera Maya as we speak! I am so surprised at the "so-so" reviews. We have been treated like royalty! Its our 14th anniversary and Roberto has gone out of his way to make us feel special. On our anniversary evening, we returned to our room to find rose petals leading a path to our room with the #14 outlined in a heart, with candles lighting the way. So above and beyond. Our room is private with a gorgeous bathroom, plunge pool and beautiful bedroom. Our friends had stayed here a couple of months ago and recommended it. We have been so thoroughly pleased. The only negative is that the Azul is a little loud but that's not the Viceroy's fault and we are in Mexico after all! The staff is friendly, kind and we have enjoyed both restaurants, wine selections and specialty drinks. Luckily we have two more days! Have fun and visit the Viceroy!

Room Tip: We like #19 and our friends were in #18. Can't go wrong as they are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDreams25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear TravelDreams25,
Is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay, from the privacy of our Villas, the amenities that we offer as well as both restaurants The Coral Grill and La Marea, featuring Mexican Cuisine. Thank you for have chosen us to spend such a special occasion with us.
It would be a pleasure to have you back for your 15th Wedding Anniversary.
Yours Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    144
    59
    26
    20
See reviews for
48
747
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The best feature is the magnificent attitude and service. All employees are tuned to making your stay wonderful. It is a high end hotel with corresponding prices, but you get what you pay for. Perfect for honeymoons.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Asamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Asamper,
We appreciate your comments. Our location is the perfect setting to celebrate a special occasion with your couple. Thank you coming to Viceroy Riviera Maya to celebrate your Honeymoon.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in the Viveroy Rivierea Maya in February 2014 for 4 nights, at the end of a 3 week private round-trip through Mexico. We looked very much forward to be pampered in luxury for a few days after travelling around in this beautiful country.
The room we stayed in (Ocean View) was beautiful, spacious and clean. We've seen better and nicer, but it was fine.
The hotel-pool was just opposite of our own private little pool which had no privacy at all. Therefore it did not really invite us to use this "private" pool. I do not know what was private about it.
The overall stay in the hotel was OK, but there were a few things that disappointed us dramatically.
On the whole premises staff is carrying cans with poison on their back all day long to - we assume - kill all "not wanted" animals. Since this hotel is totally Americanized, we assume this is appreciated by the guests so that there are no bugs, no lizards, no birds, no spiders, and basically not anything on the premises on in the hotels rooms. We found this rather sad. After all, you ARE in an exoctic country, but of course (??) when you pay 300/500+ US dollars per night for a room, you do not want to have bugs.....
Our room was close to the big wall around the hotel at the east side (to keep non-wanted out, or to keep rich guests inside???), and during the night there are big trucks driving past that wall with deliveries for the hotels along the beach. This is very very loud and kept us awake till at least 2 o'clock in the morning. Quite annoying.
The service in the restaurants is poor; they forget orders, they bring the wrong things, and although there seem to be an outrageous number of service staff, it takes ages before your order is taken and it takes ages till you're finally served (with most of the time the wrong order).
In comparison to other parts of Mexico (for example Tulum, Mexico-City, Acapulca, Veracruz, Oaxaca) the prices for the drinks and food are a rip-off in this hotel; extremely overprized.
The beach is nice and the hotel provides nice beds. If (!!? you are lucky you'll find a free bed. But, oh well, it is not too bad if you do not find a free bed, because the hotels next door offer rides with these water-scooters (water-jets) and the guests there race around on these all day long which causes loud noise and besides that disgusting petrol-fumes. So, all in all not very relaxing and in fact also rather annoying!

It was OK to stay here for a few days, but we will not go here again. There are MUCH better places to stay, more value for money, and more and better service for less money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Puksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Puksel:
We expect all of our guests to thoroughly enjoy their visit to our exclusive jungle paradise – and we’re pleased to say that the great majority truly do. Like you, they find our villas to be “beautiful, spacious and clean.” We’re only sorry that the other aspects of your stay didn’t meet your expectations. We have carefully evaluated your comments and are taking immediate steps to address your concerns. If your travels bring you back to Riviera Maya, we sincerely hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate why our resort has been consistently rated as one of the best in Mexico.
With best regards,
Pedro Lara, General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I escaped for a quick getaway before the arrival of our baby. We stayed early April from Sunday-Thursday and found the Viceroy to be a perfect, relaxing destination for our needs. We booked a van through the hotel for transportation to and from the airport and both were on time and easy to locate. The concierge also arranged a taxi to take us to Tulum and the cenote one morning as we felt we should explore the area a little while there. The remainder of our days were spent underneath the lovely beach cabanas or swimming in the beautiful pool. We decided to book the all-inclusive package and found the meals to be delicious and varied. Breakfast was particularly scrumptious with many Mexican options as well as variations on traditional options like scrambled eggs with chorizo or tres leches french toast. The Tuesday night street food menu provided a nice alternative from the regular fare. As I mentioned, we stayed early in the week and found the beach to be very quiet. Sure, there was the occasional merchant peddaling something, but none of them approached us under the cabanas and a quick shake of the head would keep them moving down the beach toward the other resorts.

We loved our villa and thoroughly enjoyed sitting outside listening to the birds and watching the monkeys. The plunge pool was very refreshing and a nice alternative to swimming at the main pool. We showered almost exclusively outdoors and the handmade soaps were such a treat to sample! The property is most definitely a beautiful jungle paradise, yet the staff are to be commended for their excellent service and maintenance. Maintenance of this jungle property is no easy feat. The housekeeping and maintenance crews work tirelessly to clear pathways of fallen leaves, clean and service pools, and clean your room when most convenient for you. Edgar at the beach was always one step ahead of us preparing our cabana or even cleaning our sunglasses. The service staff at the restauarants were so friendly and hard-working. Francisco kept us hydrated on the beach and would deliver my husband's beer at noon every day without being prompted. He was so kind and quick to respond to our requests and make suggestions. Gilberto and the dinner staff were very attentive and took excellent care of us at the Coral Grille and La Marea.

The resort is definitely not a fit for those seeking tons of activities, casinos, or entertainment. The resort has a casually elegant feel, which we appreciated. It allowed us to relax, enjoy long days on the beach, leisurely meals by the water, and quiet evenings. We were able to hear music from the Azul Fives property Sunday night, but it was over by 10pm. Many thanks to the Viceroy staff for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mey7,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, it's a really nice way to describe your vacation with us. We appreciate your detailed and positive review. At Viceroy Riviera Maya you can be as busy or relaxed as you want to be in a very tranquil and beautiful setting with our entire staff pending to provide a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked a beachfront room (one of only 2) and were shocked at the noise of jet skis and locals all over the beach day and night with unsupervised kids and lots of noise. Viceroy asked the jet ski rental to keep noise down -- to no avail. The jet ski rental is right next to Viceroy and the exhaust fumes and noise are unbearable. I later found-out that many locals live near and bring their families. There are also beach vendors that have no problem waking you and or yelling so you can see them walking around with a large snake, cotton candy and even a monkey. We check-out two days early and went to the Rosewood Mayakoba -- wish we had done it sooner!.

The hotel is beautiful and as long as you don't go to the beach, it's wonderful. But until Viceroy spends money to expand it's beach and keep some of the riff-raff out, I cannot recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you go, make sure not to book a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear David C:
Since we created our two beachfront villas, they’ve been among the most popular at our resort. In fact, many guests book them specifically to enjoy the dramatic ocean views and incomparable beach access. However, many other guests prefer the secluded serenity of our jungle villas, surrounded by dense tropical foliage and providing a truly intimate experience. Since you found our hotel so beautiful, we hope you’ll return and book a jungle villa – it’s one of the best ways to enjoy a truly authentic Mayan experience.
With best regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Viceroy is a very beautiful and peaceful hotel. Its good for anyone who wants to have a beautiful jungle-like scenery and wants to be secluded as well. The staff is friendly. We had a few problems getting taxis to and from this location in a timely manner. IT was hard for drivers to locate the hotel because it was in the back of everything. We had to take many side roads that were very dark and scary at night. The food and drinks were very average. My fiancé and I are glad we didn't pay the extra coverage for all inclusive meals and drinks because we ended up just settling for fries and a soda. We do not plan on revisiting this location, but it was a very nice experience and we enjoyed our royal villa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShayRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear ShayRenee
As you noted, our resort’s beautiful setting in a tropical jungle is one of its most attractive features. While the road to our resort does meander past lush foliage, it’s quite safe and most taxis are extremely familiar with Viceroy, and our location. We were quite surprised by your comments concerning our cuisine, which most guests truly enjoy. In fact, the all-inclusive option is the most popular for good reason: it enables our guests to experience the full range of savory cuisine offered at both our highly rated restaurants. However, we do appreciate your comment and we are launching a new menu for La Marea to extend our current culinary offer. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your royal villa and hope you’ll consider visiting again, and experiencing the complete array of culinary options offered.
With warm regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary, nc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The room, with a private pool, outdoor shower and out right beauty was amazing! Wait staff, including Pepe and Fransciso were great - 95% of them were the best! Food was pretty good. Service was slow. I say we hope to return because for the money I would want it be perfect. It was almost there... And, for the record we have already recommended it to several friends who are considering it.

Room Tip: There are just one or two rooms that do not have the privacy you would want. Directly ask for it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank four-from-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear four-from-nc,
We were pleased to welcome you to Viceroy Riviera Maya and thank you for your comments following your stay, particularly your mention about our team.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at our little paradise, in the meantime thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Yours sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Property: Viceroy Riviera Maya
Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing