We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon... met all expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #12 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently married, we had a big decision to make. Where did we want to spend our Honeymoon? I had heard from colleagues and friends that Viceroy Riviera Maya offered it all; Intimacy, destination, service, unique accommodations and all was true. There are not enough words to explain how special this hotel is. They pay attention to the smallest of details. My favorite detail occurred at 11pm at night. We were just returning from watching the LA Kings win the Stanley Cup (yes, huge King fans) when upon walking into the bathroom the tub was filled with bubbles and delicately placed were red rose petals. The water was still hot as they had timed our arrival perfectly. This is just one example. My husband had never been to the Caribbean before so we wanted to explore it all. We had many questions. The Butler staff saw to every question and always answered with a smile. We asked for recommendations on local spots and they had a new place for us to explore each day. We fell in love with an ocean front bar in Akumal called La Buena Vida and had a great Italian meal in Tulum at Posada Margherita. We were truly looking for something exotic but realizing our actual wedding was a destination wedding, we could not image another long flight. Mexico is so close and offers everything we were looking. Viceroy Riviera May was a perfect place for our honeymoon and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a private getaway. Don't forget to ask for their 'Signature Privacy Suite'. You will have your own plunge pool and no one will be watching!!

Room Tip: The Signature Privacy Suite was our favorite offering a large private pool, outdoor shower, private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AADill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear AADill
Thank you for making us your hotel of choice and we are happy to hear that you loved every aspect of Viceroy Riviera Maya experience, from the hands on personalized service to all the little touches we offer. Viceroy Riviera Maya prides itself in providing guests with amazing hospitality and there is nothing more satisfying than knowing our guests had a fun-filled memorable honeymoon at our romantic hideaway. We continuously strive for excellence in all aspects of the guests experience and from your review it appears that we have achieved this once again. We look forward to host you again for your first anniversary!
Best regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manger
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the minute my husband and I arrived at the Viceroy in Riviera Maya, it was perfection. From the hydrating coconut drink to every member of the staff knowing our names, it made the experience personal from the start. Our room was incredible-the presidential suite had everything you could imagine and was immaculate. The pool outside our suite was gorgeous and the chaises enabled us to relax in our suite as well as by the beach.
The staff was so attentive to our dietary needs and Manny was exceptional. Each night there was a different dining experience that surpassed the one before. The food was all delicious and healthy and the wine and drinks were amazing.
We went ATVing and snorkeling one day and the staff at the hotel arranged for our transportation and everything involved. Everyone made sure we didn't have to lift a finger and could just relax.
The beach huts were amazing and so tranquil-the water was crystal clear and made relaxing by the beach so easy. I really cant think of a single thing I would change about the entire experience and can not wait to go back again. Was the greatest detox from life and a hotel that truly sets itself apart from others due to its exceptional service and amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sol G,
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit at Viceroy Riviera Maya. We take great pride in the range of services and facilities we offer and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed them. We enjoy making all our guests feel at home and assisting them in any way we can. No request is too large or too small for our team here. I truly hope you both had an enjoyable time.
We look forward to welcoming you to our jungle refuge again in the future.
Best Regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were originally scheduled for 4 nights but stayed 5 nights Did the all inclusive Worth it
The breakfast is fabulous Lunches are great Fresh ceviche if you like it Salads terrific

Dinner could be sketchy depending upon what you ordered Desserts were awful except for the ice cream Fortunately they have hired a new chef.

Pepe is the man at the beach and pool Service with a huge smile Everyone loves Pepe He is the shining star of the staff.

Manuel the manager is delightful Ask for his Mannie margarita

Downside We had a late flight and had to shower in the spa because we had to check out of our room.

The spa is not AIR CONDITIONED except for the spa rooms. Hotter than you know what The girls were sweet and put me in an Air conditioned spa room so I could put my make up on.

Manuel Please get AC in the SPA for dressing etc... It was awful I was drenched with sweat trying to get dressed.

The grounds were fabulous and spotless. The service personnel knew your name and were always helpful

Cannot wait to return Fun to visit with people or just be quite

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKWhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear EKWHouston,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya. I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team. Our staff is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review.
It is always our earnest hope that every guest has an outstanding experience each time they stay with us. Your feedback boosts up our confidence and encourages us to deliver the best service and attention.
We look forward to see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After 7 nights of roughing it south of Playa Del Carmen, we booked the Viceroy for our last night before heading back to the US. Our welcome to the hotel was 5 star, with our host offering a shady spot to rest, a fresh coconut drink and a tour of the property. Our villa was absolutely stunning with plenty of space, great lighting, a private pool, hammock, outdoor shower, marble bath, flip flops and robes for all three of us and custom hand made soap cut fresh just for us. The beach here is stunning and everyone who waited on us was interesting in pleasing our needs. The breakfast and lunch we had were pretty tasty, but the dinner could have passed for cafeteria food..all three of our dinners were extremely sub par and it took over 30 minutes for dessert and about 20 minutes for the bill with only three other tables seated in the restaurant.
I should note that the villas are in a jungle setting and a short walk to the beach. Also, note that a basic breakfast with juice, poached eggs and fruit for three cost $100US so be prepared for the extra $$.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Beth B,
Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay, and for highlighting our great services and amenities that we offer at Viceroy Riviera maya.
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in the Riviera Maya and that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We do appreciate all of your feedback as it does help us to identify areas for improvement to enhance the overall guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I visited the Viceroy Riviera Maya for an anniversary/birthday trip. I can't say enough great things about this beautiful resort. We stayed 5 days in the Royal Villa. The room was excellent and very private and clean. Also, the grounds surrounding the villas are beautiful. The only thing more beautiful, was the people who work here. Mannie and Pepe truly go out of their way to make sure you feel that it is your home away from home. The service can not be matched. The food was made fresh, and the presentation was excellent. I especially enjoyed the X'pa fruit salad for breakfast, and the fresh guacamole and fish tacos for lunch. I can't say enough wonderful things about this place. In regard to the negative reviews, yes there are a few Mosquitos, but use the bug spray at night. The water is beautiful, and perfectly fine for swimming- few rocks but nothing to keep you from going for a swim. Yes, it does have a jungle like setting. It is very private and beautiful. All I can say is that if you have the opportunity this resort will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmchann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear rmchann,
Many thanks for your kind words on your recent stay with here at Viceroy Riviera Maya. We are all so pleased you find that the food, service and facilities exceeded your expectations. Viceroy Riviera Maya creates an atmosphere that is relaxing, quiet and comfortable for all to enjoy. Our staffs really do take great pride in what they do and as a result the delivery of quality service that you may only get at our jungle refuge. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Best regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first stay at Viceroy and it was incredible. The service was outstanding -- the entire staff called us by name from the first day and were so eager to please us. Pepe and Francisco were always there on the beach or by the pool to make sure we were taken care of. The food was excellent, the spa was fabulous!! We are already planning our next trip to Viceroy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear DCFloyd,
Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am extremely happy that you were able to enjoy the natural warmth and hospitality of our team. Our aim is to always provide a variety of excellent food, beverages and a wonderful experience at Wayak Spa to all guests at our home while they are here with us. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future to experience another fabulous experience at our little paradise.
Kind Regards
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you are looking for a smaller (I think max 92 guests) boutique hotel with excellent service at Playa del Carmen you can stop looking. Me and my wife went there for one week of vacation and to perform a Mayan Ceremony. I don´t know what else to say, other than everything was organized perfectly, the food was great, the service exceptional and extremely nice. They will do everything to make your stay memorable and as relaxing as it can get. The best about this place is the quietness - once you are in the "jungle" going to your apartment it feels like you are far far away from all the noise of big towns. The Spa is great, the beach awesome. Wifi coverage was excellent, too. I can recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet place with good people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Herr_herden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Herr_Herden,
Many thanks for taking the time to complete this review of your recent visit to Viceroy Riviera Maya! I believe you truly captured our resort and gave a thorough overview of our staff and the delivery of service. We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Cordially,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,251 reviews
2 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,431 reviews
6.5 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £329 - £1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing