We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly and relaxed”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda del Sol
Gavle, Sweden
1 review
“Nice, friendly and relaxed”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

New owner(s) since a couple of weeks who are working very hard to attend to all guests and issues that might turn up. Very friendly and social owner/staff who will go out of their way to fix whatever comes up and will make sure you have a good stay. A bit of a distance to the center/beach, but appreciated since Playa is extremely hectic (the collectivo is only five pesos). A restaurant nearby plays pretty loud music, but will stop at midnight. Comfy beds! Warmly recommend this if you're not all about crazy all-nighters but rather prefer a chilled place where you can relax, cook your own food, just watch a movie on their flat-screen or have a cocktail in the bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
12
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa del Shiva for five nights. New management had just taken over the hostel and worked meticulously to ensure that our stay was fantastic.

The hostel is located in a great local neighbourhood so the food options are plentiful and cheap. You are far enough away from the craziness of the town centre so that you can relax, but you're close enough to go out and party if you wish to do so. There is a nice bike track that takes you from the hostel directly to the beach in under ten minutes and the hostel offers guests brand new bikes to ride anytime for free.

We stayed in a lovely and spacious private room with ensuite. The room was very clean and maintained to a high standard throughout our stay. The ensuite was huge! We also got a chance to check out the dorm rooms, which looked spacious, clean and comfortable.

The outdoor area and pool were great for relaxing and winding down after a long day. There is a kitchen for guests to cook their own meals and a large living room with a flatscreen TV. The new owners, Kevin and Marcus, cook a nice breakfast every morning and are both really cool guys and are good for a chat.

We can't say enough good things about this hostel, based on our wonderful stay. My boyfriend and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLSTEEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

If you don't want to be in the middle of everything this is perfect. Located a short walk from the town center this hostel is very well run, and really nice. Free push bikes to use to get to town if you want to save on taxi/colectivo or can't be bothered to walk. Good price, free Wi-Fi and a great toasted sandwich for breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Previous reviewers raving about the helpful/friendly staff and clean rooms brought me to the Casa del Shiva a month ago – and whilst I wouldn’t dispute those two plus sides, I didn’t find the overall experience nearly so pleasant.

My first gripe was the location – it’s located between 120th and 125th streets, which equates to 24 (big) blocks away from the beach – the town only even goes a couple of blocks further out; so fundamentally it was the worst possible location for a beach twon. We initially were going to walk from the main bus station (near to the beach) to the hostel, but when we were doing a block a minute, it soon became clear this wasn’t an option with heavy bags. Luckily the cheap collectivo shuttles do the trip pretty quickly, but if you have luggage, or have just arrived in Playa and don’t have your bearings, getting ripped off by a taxi is really the only way to get there. In addition, the area around the hostel looks a bit dodgy. The hostel does have a very extensive security system, but the fact that they need one in what is a generally a very safe town says something about that particular part of town.

The second gripe was the beds. To put it simply, it would have been more comfortable to sleep on the floor – because both the beds and floor were rock hard, but at least the floor didn’t feature a forest of old, unpadded and broken springs.

The third was the plumbing – the digestive system of a previous room guest seemed to have rather severely lost a battle against a bad burrito, which it had obviously blocked up the pipes; and the unbearable smell kept on getting worse and worse throughout the stay.

The fourth was the price – bad locations, bad beds and bad plumbing are something most hostel-goers are willing to put up with if it’s the cheapest hostel in town. However the casa bills itself as a “boutique hostel”. The rates weren’t exorbitant, but it definitely would have been one of the most expensive hostels in town.

Even the potentially good things about the hostel didn’t go so well. They generally offered cheap dinner meals (50 quetzales) but were apparently too busy when we were there (even though we didn’t see many other guests at all). They offered cheap washing (again 50 quetzales, for a whole load) but the washing mashine can’t be very good because a third of my clothes were still dirty. They has air-conditioning, which was a great relief in such a hot climate – but they limit guests’ use to a couple of hours a day. And they had a lovely pool (albeit much smaller than it looks on the web) – but who needs a pool when your staying in one of the world’s premier beach towns? Well I suppose that isn’t really a rhetorical question – a pool mightn’t be completely useless when you’re actually half an hour’s walk from the sand and saltwater!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroldo_Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Casa del Shiva is a beautiful hostel situated away from the chaos of central Playa. The centre is a 5 minute trip by colectivo and costs 5 pesos, making it really easy to scoot in and out of town if you want to. The hostel is spotlessly clean, super comfortable and has a great laid back atmosphere. The rooms are light, airy and colourful and the communal areas include a pool, chillout palapa and fantastic outdoor BBQ. The staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful and our home cooked breakfasts and dinners were amazing. Huge thanks for a great stay, a proper home from home! I would highly recommend and will definitely stay again if I am ever back this way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckystravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I was more than pleasantly surprised when I checked into this place.
Very friendly staff and with a nice chilled atmosphere. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfy.
Location was perfect for me, 5 minute taxi away from the chaos of playa del carmen centre. It was nice to chill by the pool one day and use the complementary wifi too. If your looking for a good, clean hostel with a friendly atmosphere, i would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marco002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I was traveling the last week in Playa del Carmen and fund a great pleace with a very kind people in Casa del Shiva was the perfect experience to my trip.
The house is beautiful, big, clean and the lounge area and the pool is the perfect touch for this experience in Playa.
All the staff was very nice, they gave me maps and some tips in the downtown and the dinner was awsome!! A great chef!!
Thank you Shiv and Miguel!!
See you soon!!

Room Tip: The girls bedroom is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimeMago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.6 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
520 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
12.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,746 reviews
13.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,677 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre Av 120 Y 125, Playa del Carmen, Mexico (Formerly Casa del Shiva)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside the tourist driven madness of Playa del Carmen, Hacienda del Sol provides the best of both worlds. Live among the locals with local prices. Save on drinks and food with a variety of local establishments within walking distance. When you're ready for the craziness of Playa or just want to hang at the beach, take one of our bikes, for free! Or take a 5 peso, 10 minute colectivo ride straight into the heart of Playa's party zone. Feeling lazy? Lounge by our pool, or under one of our two breezy cabanas and enjoy a beer. A relaxed environment only minutes away from the infamous 5th avenue. Here at Hacienda del Sol we have 3 lovely dorms, 4 Deluxe privates and a Quad private. Our rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and spacious. All include comfy beds with fresh linen, personal power points and security lockers. They all have fans or AC is available for a small fee. We have a fully equipped kitchen and an outdoor BBQ, which we put to use at least once a week! We have a big screen TV in the common area with hundreds of movies on offer. WIFI of course is complimentary. And we also have ample off-street parking for cars or motorbikes. In short we have everything a traveler could desire, so we hope you'll come and enjoy Hacienda del Sol! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing