We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel stay in Playa”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda del Sol
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
“Hostel stay in Playa”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a great hostel for traveling on a budget in Playa del Carmen. I have been a frequent guest there both with the old owner and new. Each time I have been there, the new owner has always been more than helpful to me. This hostel has always been clean and well maintained. There is parking for my rental car and bikes are provided. There is a big kitchen to cook in if you don't want to go out to eat too. I have already reserved a room for my next visit!

Room Tip: They offer private rooms at this hostel which I personally like to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
12
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

First of all great great host! Clean rooms and a lot of space. Has a pool, well supplied kitchen, nice bbq area, bikes and all kinds of stuff! :) Only 30 peso ride with taxi to the center or 5 pesos with colectivo. In a very good area, a lot cheaper food than in the center. Only good things to say about this place! You get so much value with so little money, I recommend !

Room Tip: We stayed in a big room right next to the living room downstairs. I didn't see any other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Staying few weeks at Casa de Shiva on December 2012 coming back from my hometown
Friendly and social owner/staff,super clean dorm and large private rooms if you are staying downstairs good luck with the plumbing,location is a bit far away from 5th avenue so don't take the wrong local bus or colectivo or just ask directions to locals if you don't speak fluent Spanish use your LP bible.
Im agree with the other review ~ a pool mightn’t be completely useless when you’re actually half an hour’s walk from the sand and saltwater! the salt was eating my skin.
For British native speakers is the hostel to be but will be sad not interact with other Mexican travelers and have a taste of this beautiful country.
don't miss the taco restaurant behind the supermarket(Yucatan stylish food) on the intersection
down Benito Juarez ave.
Happy travels & enjoy the Maya Riviera

Room Tip: you can sleep on the hammocks as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for a number of days and when I arrived I was a bit put out that it is on the fringe of Playa Del Carmen and is 4km from the beach. Breakfast was included but never materialised. The place never saw a brush or a mop, nor kitchen cleaned during the time I was there. All I heard was moaning about how much work the people had to do, which was zilch, because they were getting over hangovers.This could be the besy hostel in Mexico but the people have to work at it. Its not only about taking money from the clients, you have to give them what they are paying for

Room Tip: check the place out first, I do hope they have their act together
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

New owner(s) since a couple of weeks who are working very hard to attend to all guests and issues that might turn up. Very friendly and social owner/staff who will go out of their way to fix whatever comes up and will make sure you have a good stay. A bit of a distance to the center/beach, but appreciated since Playa is extremely hectic (the collectivo is only five pesos). A restaurant nearby plays pretty loud music, but will stop at midnight. Comfy beds! Warmly recommend this if you're not all about crazy all-nighters but rather prefer a chilled place where you can relax, cook your own food, just watch a movie on their flat-screen or have a cocktail in the bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa del Shiva for five nights. New management had just taken over the hostel and worked meticulously to ensure that our stay was fantastic.

The hostel is located in a great local neighbourhood so the food options are plentiful and cheap. You are far enough away from the craziness of the town centre so that you can relax, but you're close enough to go out and party if you wish to do so. There is a nice bike track that takes you from the hostel directly to the beach in under ten minutes and the hostel offers guests brand new bikes to ride anytime for free.

We stayed in a lovely and spacious private room with ensuite. The room was very clean and maintained to a high standard throughout our stay. The ensuite was huge! We also got a chance to check out the dorm rooms, which looked spacious, clean and comfortable.

The outdoor area and pool were great for relaxing and winding down after a long day. There is a kitchen for guests to cook their own meals and a large living room with a flatscreen TV. The new owners, Kevin and Marcus, cook a nice breakfast every morning and are both really cool guys and are good for a chat.

We can't say enough good things about this hostel, based on our wonderful stay. My boyfriend and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLSTEEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

If you don't want to be in the middle of everything this is perfect. Located a short walk from the town center this hostel is very well run, and really nice. Free push bikes to use to get to town if you want to save on taxi/colectivo or can't be bothered to walk. Good price, free Wi-Fi and a great toasted sandwich for breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,127 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,892 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,828 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
13.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre Av 120 Y 125, Playa del Carmen, Mexico (Formerly Casa del Shiva)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside the tourist driven madness of Playa del Carmen, Hacienda del Sol provides the best of both worlds. Live among the locals with local prices. Save on drinks and food with a variety of local establishments within walking distance. When you're ready for the craziness of Playa or just want to hang at the beach, take one of our bikes, for free! Or take a 5 peso, 10 minute colectivo ride straight into the heart of Playa's party zone. Feeling lazy? Lounge by our pool, or under one of our two breezy cabanas and enjoy a beer. A relaxed environment only minutes away from the infamous 5th avenue. Here at Hacienda del Sol we have 3 lovely dorms, 4 Deluxe privates and a Quad private. Our rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and spacious. All include comfy beds with fresh linen, personal power points and security lockers. They all have fans or AC is available for a small fee. We have a fully equipped kitchen and an outdoor BBQ, which we put to use at least once a week! We have a big screen TV in the common area with hundreds of movies on offer. WIFI of course is complimentary. And we also have ample off-street parking for cars or motorbikes. In short we have everything a traveler could desire, so we hope you'll come and enjoy Hacienda del Sol! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing