We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with Manuela”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda del Sol
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This review is coming a bit late considering I was here back in early April!
Nonetheless I had a fantastic stay at Hacienda del Sol with Manuela and her guests. Manuela has set up her home such that there is always available interaction both with her and the other lovely guests should one choose to do so. I chose to do so and had very interesting chats with the other guests, was invited out for dinners and even helped Manuela do some local shopping for chairs (a very fascinating experience!)

Hacienda del Sol is situated away from the main touristy strip of Playa del Carmen and overall provides a much more 'authentic' experience with good food readily available in the surrounding neighbourhood. Manuela is always ready to help so you will be in good hands when you stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrotherLehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Even though it is not in the center, this hostel is a great place to stay. It has everything that a good hostel needs and even a pool which is very useful in the hot Mexican weather. Rooms are clean and comfortable. A really good deal for the price and perfect for meeting other travelerers and hanging out with them by the pool. The distance from the beach didn't bother me at all because there are cheap colectivos passing by all the time so it is very easy to get to the center and even walking there is fun. The owner makes a lot of effort to keep it a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siva999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived at playa de Carmen and despite having the address several taxi drivers were unsure of it's location. Though finally taking a 80peso taxi, we later learnt that the majority will accept a 30peso fare. When reaching the hostel we were greated by a very friendly host who quickly gave us a tour of her great house and pool. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy and large. The communal areas were great and the pool was lovely. The kitchen area was fully equipped and also very clean. On Monday night we were welcomed with free happy hour and socialized with friendly guests and the host. The location is far from the town; we did not find this an issue but rather meant we had peacefully nights sleep. However just as we were ready to leave with 100% positive views, the host very rudely openly accused us of stealing beers from her fridge. We found her accusation greatly offensive and even threatening. At one point she shouted we would not get our deposit back until we confessed. Needless to say we had not stolen anything but found ourselves unjustly in the firing line. The situation comepletly ruined our experience and we were shocked and hurt with how unprofessionally she acted. Nice stay but a very sour end.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eck15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really nice hostel. The area looks bad, but its friendly and safe. 7 mins colectivo from the beach. Big pool, TV and places to hang out. Decent kitchen and BBQ. WiFi only in communal areas. Enough plugs in room but not by all beds. Small, decent lockers. The mattresses are quite worn, you can feel the springs. But its a good place to chill out and explore the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a great place, very high standards in all aspects with a wonderful welcome from Manuela who is the best hostess you could wish for - warm, friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, well furnished and beautifully clean with en suite - what more could we have asked for. The public area is great with sparkling swimming pool and plenty of places to sit around and chat and join other discerning travellers. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice large house in a seemingly not so nice area. Not the cleanest of places but it was alright. We stayed too long and the atmosphere started to wear a bit thin compared to our first impression of it. We met some great people though. It's very far from the town but that's made up for by having to get to town in a colectivo which feels like proper mexico and is very cheap. 30 mins to walk

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3nights, we got a private room with our private bathroom and it was really clean! The bed was enormous and we slept like babies! The owner manuela is extremely kind hearted and welcoming! We had arrived around 8pm and they were having a BBQ and she greeted us with he arms wide open! You can tell she loves having people around, and she works so hard for the hostel to be perfect! Nice kitchen to make your food and save money too!! Thanks for everything!! Xxx manuel and karolan

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karolambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
13.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,420 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
12.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#74 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
13,709 reviews
2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
16,898 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre Av 120 Y 125, Playa del Carmen, Mexico (Formerly Casa del Shiva)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside the tourist driven madness of Playa del Carmen, Hacienda del Sol provides the best of both worlds. Live among the locals with local prices. Save on drinks and food with a variety of local establishments within walking distance. When you're ready for the craziness of Playa or just want to hang at the beach, take one of our bikes, for free! Or take a 5 peso, 10 minute colectivo ride straight into the heart of Playa's party zone. Feeling lazy? Lounge by our pool, or under one of our two breezy cabanas and enjoy a beer. A relaxed environment only minutes away from the infamous 5th avenue. Here at Hacienda del Sol we have 3 lovely dorms, 4 Deluxe privates and a Quad private. Our rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and spacious. All include comfy beds with fresh linen, personal power points and security lockers. They all have fans or AC is available for a small fee. We have a fully equipped kitchen and an outdoor BBQ, which we put to use at least once a week! We have a big screen TV in the common area with hundreds of movies on offer. WIFI of course is complimentary. And we also have ample off-street parking for cars or motorbikes. In short we have everything a traveler could desire, so we hope you'll come and enjoy Hacienda del Sol! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing