We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Los Itzaes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Itzaes Hotel
Ranked #94 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Nice clean rooms, great staff, close to everything. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hud687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2007

I loved this hotel! I went to Playa as part of a trip for my school's Spanish club. After spending a week in a crummy hotel in DF, this hotel was a welcomed relief! The bathrooms are amazing, everything is clean, the staff is fantastic, and it is right in the middle of everything. The rooftop pool was a very nice suprise as well. We were even able to get buses to pick us up at the hotel to take us to Chichen Itza and Tulum. Its a very short walk from the beach, and has a lot of nearby restraunts. Our room even had a nice balcony. Some friends of mine had a corner room and it too was fantastic. Don't pass up on this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eleona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2007

When we arrrived on the bus from Cancun, my sister and I walked around Playa del Carmen looking for a place to stay that wasn't near noisy construction. Lunata Hotel (written up in our guidebooks) had no vacancies, so we asked the hotel owner if there were other hotels nearby she could recommend. She mentioned Los Itzaes. It looked very expensive when we walked in the lobby, but it turned out to be a manageable price. The price was well worth it. It's a small, elegant, clean, and low-key hotel. There were no obnoxious hotel guests to put up with. We stayed there for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. However, if you're looking for a hotel with a lot of extra amenities - like room service, this is not it. Plenty of restaurants nearby though.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank jcg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2006

Los Itzaes is just as nice as everyone in these reviews has said. I stayed there last night (November 26, 2006). The hotel is only a few years old, so it is still rather new and very well-maintained. The lobby with a skylight and hanging garden is delightful. And the rooms are clean, and spacious. The bathrooms are sufficiently large, with modern fixtures and a large glass-door shower. The room furniture is tasteful modern, and the king size bed was perfect - not too hard like so many in Mexico. The location is why the hotel is not as expensive as others this nice. It is on 10th avenue (between 6th street and 8th street), which is one block west of 5th avenue (go figure), which is where all of the restaurants, bars and shops are located. The beach is on the other side of 5th avenue, which makes it about two blocks away. Everything is very close and a safe short walk away. The hotel offers free parking in a secure lot directly across the street, and every guest receives a free breakfast of eggs with bacon, or pancakes, or cereal, as you wish. I usually stay in very nice business hotels and this hotel was fine for me. If you have trouble walking, ask for a first floor room because like almost all hotels in Playa del Carmen, there is no elevator. In summary, excellent new hotel in a good location for a terrific price.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mm6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2006

I wish that we had stayed here longer!! The hotel is very clean and lovely, with an overhead garden as you enter. The rooftop pool is beautiful. This is a smaller hotel with the most outstanding service- Cynthia Sanchez is a hard working, great hotel manager, and Viginia will make sure that you have everything that you need. We didn't stay very long here, because my fiancee and I wanted to go to an all-inclusive. So we only spent two nights here, then went to the Gala which was awful, so I wish that we had just stayed at LosItzaes!! The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and we loved the big shower. This place is worth every penny and more!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank primadonna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
bloomington, indiana
212
Reviewed 12 April 2005

This year marks the third year in a row I have stayed at Los Itzaes and, if I don't buy something in Playa, next year will be the fourth. I have traveled extensively for over 20 years and I love this hotel. I agree with the person who said it's hard to share these finds because you want to keep it to yourself. Rooms are very spacious, with a small fridge, air conditioning, cable television, etc. For the first time this year, there is a computer set up in the lobby and free for guests to check e-mail as long as you don't monopolize the computer. They say you are limited to 15 minutes, but if nobody is waiting, they seem not to care if you stay on longer. The staff, managed with great competence by Cynthia Sanchez Sosa, is uniformly pleasant, bi-lingual (at least) and will go out of their way to assist you. A stay comes with a pass to the beach, a beach towel for the day, and a lounge chair rental for free. You may also opt for breakfast included, which is very good and prepared and served very well by Juan Jose, who has been there all three years since I have stayed here if memory serves. I also am fond of the location. It is only three blocks from the beach, but one off 5th Ave., which can be noisy. Moreover, there is a great music bar across the street called "Captain Dave's" where Grady and his Fiends (sic...someone crossed out the "r" in the sign) hold forth nightly (picture attached). Overall, this is a hotel that you keep coming back to because you know the alternative is likely to disappoint.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, New York
16
Reviewed 2 March 2005

Myself and 2 girlfriends just stayed at Los Itzaes from 2/20/05 - 2/27/05 and we had a terrific stay at this quaint, clean and quiet hotel. The location is perfect as it's a 2 minute walk from 5th Avenue where all the shops and restaurants are yet you are not in the middle of it. We had access to the Playa Tukan beach club that was a lovely 10 minute walk through town. Helped digest the wonderful breakfast we got every morning. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and cleaned everymorning. When we got back to our rooms from the beautiful beach, we were greeted with a animal shaped towel. The lobby is filled with beautiful fauna and Mayan artwork. I would return in a second.
If you would like more information: nyctigress@earthlink.net

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#37 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#78 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#89 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen
#43 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Itzaes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Itzaes Hotel

Address: Avenida 10 Lote 3 Esq. 6 bis, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £54 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Itzaes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Itzaes Hotel is a recently renewed boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen, only steps away from the famous Quinta Avenida. Inside this colonial style hotel, you will find 16 spacious rooms, each with a small balcony where you can do some sightseeing as well as relax and enjoy what will sure be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Los Itzaes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Itzaes
Los Itzaes Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing