We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling of exclusivity in low prices!”
Review of The Palm at Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palm at Playa
Ranked #20 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have just got back from my second time in Mexico and second visit at Playa del Carmen. I stayed at The Palm for 5 days and had a great experience.

The hotel has a minimalistic/contemporary design. It is located at the heart of Playa and close to everything. On my arrival I was greeted by the friendly hostesses at Reception and was also given the opportunity to book a complimentary welcoming massage - which was amazing. Travel tips provided by Reception are also good. A voucher of 10% for the beach bar Sensi is also part of The Palm hospitality (would recommend going to Sensi in the evening, great live bands and good food)

The hotel and room is exactly as presented at the pictures. We were allocated a room at the back which gave us peace and quiet. Rooms are beautifully designed. As part of my job I travel a lot, staying at 4/5 star hotels and the rooms have nothing to envy from some of those. Only difference is that at the Palm you don't get to pay the pretentiously high premium price you get to pay at the others (and some times with no reflection of the price on the quality of the room).
The bottled water provided at the room every day was free of charge.

In terms of sleep quality overall was ok. It could have been better if our room wasn't lit because of a floor light at the bathroom - door was transparent and our room was lit as light was coming in - I guess minor detail for others but not for me as I enjoy sleeping in the dark!

There is a pool terrace which is magical at night; nice breeze, relaxed ambience/lighting, lounge music and good margaritas to kick off your evening. Bar staff was very cool and friendly - they have helped out to prepare a small birthday celebration for me :-).

Breakfast at the restaurant is good - you choose from the a la cart menue - and late timings until 11am are great taken that this is a party town and late mornings are scheduled for most days. Be alarmed though, even 5 mins after 11am and charge applies for breakfast. A bit of shame this lack of flexibility; one day we arrived at 11.10 and were told that we had to pay.

I feel there is some space for improvement around staff friendliness at the restaurant (although Eddie is a bright exception cheering our mornings every day), a smile is the simplest thing but does create a good atmosphere. Maybe it is a 'lost in translation' thing though.

A bit disappointed that my birthday wasn't noticed by the Reception staff, as seen at the previous reviewer's comment below. That would have been a nice touch! Maybe something to note for other guests in the future!

Overall, would highly recommend. Great for singleton groups as well as couples. Although if you are looking for a 'love nest' disconnected from the world this is probably not your choice as the hotel is very lively!

Room Tip: If you want more peace ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKbliss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear UKbliss,
On behalf of the whole team at The Palm, I would like to thank you for your valuable comment.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the suite, the restaurants and the rooftop area. Also I trust you could enjoy the fantastic lifestyle of Playa del Carmen.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another sun and beach experience.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great location if you're looking for easy access to 5th Avenue and the beach. New modern boutique hotel, very comfortable accommodation. On the downside, very noisy, rooms lack any sound proofing and you're exposed to internal and external noise, which at weekends can go on until the very early hours. Staff friendly, but lack consistency in service and very disappointed money taken from our room. Roof top pool bar excellent, cocktails thrown together rather than created. Hotel restaurant served great food.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank F_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear FM WIlliams,
Thank you very much for staying at The Palm and for your valuable comment on us.
I offer my sincere apology for all things you couldn’t enjoy during your las visit, regards to the comments about your experience I have taken note and will discuss these issues with the department heads.
We hope that despite these issues you had a pleasant stay, and I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again to The Palm at Playa.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Palm at Playa has less reviews than many of its counterparts, so we took a bit of gamble coming here. It has paid off. The room is appropriate for 2 people, it is cheaper than many of its competitors and the breakfast sumptuous. I would stay here again, in a heart beat.

Room Tip: 107 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderingpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Wanderingpuri,
Thank you very much for giving us this opportunity. We have no so many comments yet because we just open two months ago. Therefore we truly appreciate you post and your excellent rating to The Palm at Playa. Also, we hope our location has allowed you to enjoy the magical lifestyle that Playa del Carmen offers to its visitors.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another experience in couple. Personally be happy to greet you next time.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General Manager
The Palm at Playa
Lifestyle Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Let me start off by saying this is the first review I've ever written, but I felt it was necessary for such a nice place. It was a little difficult to find (If you're walking toward the water and you've passed the burger King you went to far :) The main entrance was very nice, friendly staff, clean elevator. Our room was EXACTLY like the pictures shown. We went with another couple and stayed at their double room. Now, be sure when you go there you request the double rooms that are laid out IDENTICAL! There is another double room that the second is more of a kids room. If you go there with another couple, one is a Master and the other is NOT. We made sure we got the two Master Suite rooms. They appear to still be in the modeling phase as the main areas were a little bare, but who cares as the bedrooms were super super nice and we never hung out in the main area anyhow. The balcony/roof was cool with a pool and hot tub, with mojitos FREE at night (This could have been a promo so don't expect it). The breakfast was complimentary with a good selection of Eggs, Fruit, Coffee, Grapefruit juice, hashbrowns, and bacon. The only thing that they promised was a room full of bottle water which wasnt there and they charged for it (Small issue).

We DID hear the adjacent building roof party, but if you turned on the fan it drowned out 85% of the noise. Honestly though, this place was great for a Mexican hotel. Cleanliness was top notch, staff was great, location was PERFECT (3 min walk to water).

All and all, the only issue i'd see is if you were a really light sleeper you'd have some issues, but expect that with ALL hotels within a 3 mile radius of this one. No exception.

Bedrooms: Waterfall showers (FYI to make it warm turn to cold, wait 2 min, its backwards), Clean toilets, clean beds, soft, comfortable, spanish TV (Not really on much), Pics are accurate.

Gym: New, with weights up to 55lbs, little cardio and a few benches (No bench press)

All and all we were super happy with the stay and 100% recommend it. If you are a light sleeper maybe ask for a north facing room.

Room Tip: South facing, Third Floor. Master Double Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Steven R,
We are grateful to you for choosing The Palm at Playa, and especially so for sharing your experience with us in detail.
Our hotel is a special place for people who want the best of traveling and we are proud that you were able to enjoy your stay at The Palm. Also, as the hotel with the best location in town, we hope that this visit has allowed you to enjoy the magical lifestyle that Playa del Carmen offers visitors.
In The Palm at Playa will be waiting for your next visit. Personally I'll be glad to say hello.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
Lifestyle Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Palm this past week. The rooms were very nice as well as the staff. It was my husbands birthday and when we came back to the room to clean up for the evening the whole room was filled with ballons and streamers. Also strawberrys and cake. We didn't tell them it was his birthday, they figured it out from our passports. It was a wonderful touch. If the people at The Palm is this review Thank You Thank You

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Paula F,
We at The Palm at Playa thank you very much for your gracious review.
While I don’t doubt the aptitudes of The Palm’s team, I'm very happy to realize that our receptionists could arrange a celebration of so few information. I trust everyone else reciprocated to you with the same attitude as them and you were able to enjoy fully your visit to Playa del Carmen.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another birthday celebration, and so personally I'll be happy to greet you next time.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
Lifestyle Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Roof terrace is amazing, with hamac and beds in the pool. Waiter's cool with pink glasses. Try the tuna tartare with a hint of ginger sauce, you'll order a second plate for sure. Room great, with huge shower and double jets, each with its own control.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Etienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear EtienneJ777,
We at The Palm at Playa thank you very much for your gracious comment and for recommending the tuna dish to our future guests.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another holiday, and so personally I'll be happy to greet you next time.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
Lifestyle Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Pros
Nice size room
New hotel
Nice bed and pillows
Modern style boutique hotel
Beautiful rooftop pool

Cons
Shower lacking water pressure
Very noisy at night because it is close to bars and nightclubs
Rooftop bar can't get a drink rigth
Staff are friendly but do not deliver what you ask for
Breakfast included menas you get to choose one single item from the menu plus one single glass of juice. NO refill.

Overall good but has to be polished. Not the place to relax. Good place if you want to party and be around all the downtown fuzz.

Room Tip: Never pick a room facing the street. You won't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Souza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear RafaelMS,
Thank you very much for staying recently at The Palm and for your valuable comment on us.
I was very pleased to read all the positive notes you had for our hotel. Regards to the cons and comments about I have taken note and will discuss these issues with the department heads.
We hope that despite these issues you had a pleasant stay, and I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again to The Palm at Playa.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,927 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#11 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#42 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#27 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm at Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm at Playa

Address: Calle 8 Norte entre 5ta Avenida y 10ma | Manzana 29, Lote 5 Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £92 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palm at Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a boutique hotel in central Playa del Carmen, The Palm at Playa goes beyond the typical hospitality by offering the true lifestyle-beach character. With an accurate service, contemporary-beach design and a superb location by the "5ta Avenida", the town's most vibrant area, The Palm at Playa puts the best in town to handy distance.There are 69 resort-style accommodations which include lofts and apartment-like suites, very chic, generous in space and details. Our Restaurant Calle 8 offers Mexican contemporary cuisine at local prices, while the gym, yoga and holistic-themed therapy rooms at the Spa are still parts of the experience.But our star is the rooftop with the Bar and swiming pool. It's a perfect spot for celebrating the occasion in a stylish atmosphere, a place where dramatic ocean views and rounds of mojitos and margaritas flow constantly. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi and snack bar are the prefect set to relax under the warm and balmy Caribbean sun. But at night the whole terrace transforms itself into to a jazzy-vibrant stage. A chic and trendy place meaning the perfect setting for young souls seeking the groove, while gazing at the horizon and the sizzling lights of Cozumel Island.There are many things to know about The Palm, but the true is just feeling good factor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palm at Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm At Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing