We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place and Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palm at Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palm at Playa
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Place and Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was recently in the Mayan Riviera in September on business and decided to try this hotel out. I arrived by car from Cancun and once in Playa, it could be a little hectic to find, but the streets are in quadrants so after 2 laps, I had found the hotel. I was instantly greeted on the street and told to put the car in the garage which is situated below the hotel.

Check-in was a breeze and the staff, which were not in great numbers but again this is not a major chain hotel, were very kind. The room was clean and spacious with a ginormous shower with dual "rainforest shower heads", nice but in my opinion a little waste of space. The hotel had two restaurants, one at the bottom and the other at the top. Unfortunately, and this goes for all of Playa del Carmen/Cozumel restaurants, you will not find real traditional Mexican food but rather Authentic Mexican food to cater for the mass tourism. Back to the subject, if you decide to eat at the hotel, the prices are fair and I strongly recommend the roof bar/restaurant that was recently opened in September 2013. A young man by the name of Martin attended to my dining experience and was very thorough in explaining their menu and recommending a dish. Hats off to you Martin!

For business, the location is great as you are close to a majority of the stores I needed to visit as well as the ferry that takes you to Cozumel.

The only "negative" comments I do have are the following:

1. The Internet - It is slow for a hotel and the connection was not the best but after expressing this to management, they confirmed they were working on increasing the speed so hopefully by now, guests are experiencing a faster internet.

2. I asked for a 5.45 AM [no typo] wake up call during my stay at the hotel and never received the call from the front desk. In any case, I always have x2 alarms set in the case one mis-fires. It's probably only human error, but should not be overlooked at all.

3. I stayed in room 007 [Mr. Bond] which was on the ground floor and in the back of the hotel, which I liked, as you don't have all the noise from Quinta Avenida. There is a mutual room shared between my hotel room door and that of the neighbors, to which our rooms never connected, but the issue was at night when I would get to sleep, the door to the entrance would often open and close making it difficult to sleep. Next time I will ask for a room in which the door is in the hallway and not behind yet another door.

Overall I gave this hotel 4/5 points as it truly is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the hotel [away from Quinta Avenida] are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    253
    53
    20
    22
See reviews for
120
676
62
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The terrace pool at this property is amazing and the staff are very friendly. Special thanks to Adrian and Carlos for making our afternoons want free! The rooms are also very spacious, take the upgrade to a loft room, it is worth the few extra bucks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicapoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at The Palm at Playa hotel for 4 nights when we came for the Mi Casa Es Su Casa music festival. We were very pleased overall with the hotel. The free breakfast is amazing - good, rich coffee, a big bowl of fresh tropical fruit, eggs, beans, and potatoes, plus a variety of bread and pastry. The restaurant staff was accommodating too, as my better half wanted just egg whites. I've never had a non-US hotel be so accommodating of special dietary requests.

The food on the rooftop is equally good. We spent an afternoon by the infinity pool, and ordered up some yummy ceviche with our drinks for a snack. The attendant helped us set up the large umbrellas, crucial for me to avoid sunburn.

The front desk staff even helped me to call the local transport company, when the driver was late picking us up to return to the airport. We had already checked out, but the guy at the desk helped me to find out what was happening with our transportation.

The only miss I noticed on the trip -- bed linens weren't changed daily. Normally I'm OK with this, but we had both been on the beach and so any sand that got in the bed lingered there for the duration of our stay. I'd have preferred if housekeeping would at least shake out the linens before remaking the bed.

Overall though, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior are quieter. Skip the juice at breakfast and get the bowl of fruit. You'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GradAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

From the second we checked in to the walk to the taxi to go to the airport, EVERYONE AT THIS HOTEL TREATED US LIKE WE WERE THE ONLY GUEST IN THE PLACE!

EXAMPLES:
I could not turn on the high tech air conditioning unit, called front desk, they said someone would be to me in two minutes. I thought, "sure". They were there in LSD than two minutes.

Front desk staff super helpful, bell staff could not do enough for you, bar staff kew your favorite drink and exactly the way you liked it and never forgot, waiter at breakfast (which was prepared to your order served with coffee that would make Starbucks jealous) was one of the nicest folks ever. Even the general manager of the hotel would stop to make sure all was well.

Very nice hotel, rooms were beautiful, roof top pool area was right out of Architectural Digest. Steps from all the restaurants on 5th and one block from the water.

Oh and the price was very reasonable. Stay here.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on interior garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Love, love, love this hotel. Its new, stylish, and modern. Great value, free breakfast and wifi. Its downtown so it can be a bit noisy, but if you're here to party, you wont notice. The rooftop pool is the best, Friday night was ladies night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frazsorrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed there a couple of nights and overall it was just perfect. The rooms are great, spacious and new. The restaurant downstairs was awesome!! I had breakfast there both days. The only thing I can complain is about the guys at the front desk, they weren't really that helpful and polite. I asked for an iron the first day and it never came. Housekeepers, guards and waiters on the other hand were always smiling and making me like at home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerardoAlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan M, Director General at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the lack of service at the front desk. Thanks to your comment we have instituted a follow up procedure to ensure that all guests’ requests are fulfilled in a timely manner. Comments like yours are appreciated as we strive to be better every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We checked in at The Palm at Playa Hotel, Mexico on the 15th of June, 2013 and had a really memorable stay there. The staff were courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. They upgraded us to a suite as we had requested for twin beds and those rooms were full up - of course, these requests are subject to availability, but their entire attitude said - "We want you to be comfortable and to enjoy your trip here!" - wish there were more like them!
The tour organisers were called in within 20 minutes of our mentioning it - and they worked out a fantastic tour to Tulum and Coba, in fact, it was the most memorable one of all the tours we took in Mexico. The guide was superb and spoke excellent English.
The rooms were clean and the location of the hotel could not have been better - just off Fifth Avenue - with good music, good food and the beach right next to us.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Radhika (India)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radhika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm at Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm at Playa

Property: The Palm at Playa
Address: Calle 8 Norte entre 5ta Avenida y 10ma | Manzana 29, Lote 5 Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palm at Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a boutique hotel in central Playa del Carmen, The Palm at Playa goes beyond the typical hospitality by offering the true lifestyle-beach character. With an accurate service, contemporary-beach design and a superb location by the "5ta Avenida", the town's most vibrant area, The Palm at Playa puts the best in town to handy distance.There are 69 resort-style accommodations which include lofts and apartment-like suites, very chic, generous in space and details. Our Restaurant Calle 8 offers Mexican contemporary cuisine at local prices, while the gym, yoga and holistic-themed therapy rooms at the Spa are still parts of the experience.But our star is the rooftop with the Bar and swiming pool. It's a perfect spot for celebrating the occasion in a stylish atmosphere, a place where dramatic ocean views and rounds of mojitos and margaritas flow constantly. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi and snack bar are the prefect set to relax under the warm and balmy Caribbean sun. But at night the whole terrace transforms itself into to a jazzy-vibrant stage. A chic and trendy place meaning the perfect setting for young souls seeking the groove, while gazing at the horizon and the sizzling lights of Cozumel Island.There are many things to know about The Palm, but the true is just feeling good factor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Palm at Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm At Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing