We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #38 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We, with another couple, had booked a 1-week stay at the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda recently. On our arrival day we were offered, and accepted, a free upgrade for 2 nights to the Blue Diamond by Bluebay, which is just a few resorts up the beach from the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda. We spent the last 2 nights of our trip at the Blue Diamond.

Our rooms were about mid-way between the spa (just past the lobby) and the Ambar restaurant/lagoon area (mid-resort). This resort is narrow across but very long from front to back, and the walk from our room to the beach area was approximately 15 minutes, and not shaded, so it was very hot. However, there were shuttles and the staff were happy to shuttle guests frequently. Guests can call the concierge and request a shuttle, or just wait for one to come along.

Our Jr. suites were absolutely gorgeous. They included huge windows/patio doors overlooking a private patio, a comfortable sitting area, a large closet and a beautiful bathroom with side-by-side rain showers. Our room also included a soaker pool on the patio, which could be filled upon request. We didn’t use ours because we spent more time at the beach, but it looked very nice. We were told rooms included an ipod dock, however ours didn’t, but our friends’ did. The mini bar was well stocked and we had turndown service while we were out for dinner.

The resort has 2 a la carte restaurants – the Ambar, which is in the middle of the resort and open exclusively for dinner; and the Aquamarina, which is beside the pool and overlooking the beach and served breakfast (buffet and a la cart), lunch and dinner. We enjoyed breakfasts and lunches at the Aquarmarina but our dinner there was a complete nightmare. We went late and there were only 5 occupied tables and 5-6 staff. After ordering and being served nachos and salsa, we waited 45 minutes before our first course arrived (which came BEFORE the amuse-bouche and the soup, which were both intended to be served before the first course). My friend almost got up to get our own wine, because the servers didn’t offer any, nor bring it even after we’d asked, and they took away our water glasses when they brought the wine, after the 2nd request. Despite the bad service that night, the food was good. The staff seemed to be always busy and rushing, but also very confused and we weren’t sure what they were busy doing, as I said there were only 5 tables occupied and the service staff outnumbered the tables. Service at that restaurant during the day was excellent, so maybe they were just training new people that night… Dinner at the Ambar was amazing. Great service and even better food. We also ordered a variety of snacks from the Seviche snack bar near the pool and they were also excellent.

The infinity pool is not very big, although it wasn’t very busy, being a smaller resort, and it was very quiet. There were no activities or games on the beach or by the pool. It was very relaxing. They did have shows in the evening outside beside the pool, however the facilities & lighting for this weren’t great and the 2 shows we saw had no more than 25-30 people watching, which seemed a shame. There is a bar (M-bar) open in the evening mid-resort above the Ambar restaurant. It had music playing but when we went there were no other guests there. There were a few people by the pool bar in the evening, but they mostly cleared out after the show and the music playing was resort-elevator music. We asked the bartender if it could be changed to something more upbeat and he said it wasn’t allowed. So don’t expect any kind of nightlife here.

There were lots of chairs available on the beach. The ocean bottom is quite rocky after the first few steps into the water, but it isn’t far before the bottom is sandy again. And although the water wasn’t clear, it was cleaner and less weedy than at the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda.

Wireless internet was free, worked well and was available in the rooms, by the pool and even on the beach.

Staff were very helpful, and engaging and overall service was beyond excellent.

This resort was beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay and didn’t regret going, but after 2 days we were starting to get a little bored and were glad to return to the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda for our last afternoon before travelling home. This resort would be perfect for anyone looking for something classier and more luxurious, more quiet and low key than the average all-inclusive resort.

Room Tip: All rooms were very quiet and private. Closer to the beach & pool would save you some walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gotta-c-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just return from 4 days at the Blue Diamond, we spend the first 3 days of our trip at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda and they proposed us to change. The hotel site is wonderful and the rooms are great but we had a couple of problems. In our first room we didn't have hot water and the air conditionning didn't work, the first morning we had to leave early because we had an excursion, we ask for the shuffle but it take 40 minutes so we didn't had time to eat and they refused that we took food out of the restaurant. The hotel expend to a mile long so you have to take the shuffle. The second day they accept to change room because they still didn't fix the problems, we lost a lot of time calling them and waiting for them to call us back they said the room will be ready at 16:30, we call to be sure it was ready before leaving the beach but we finaly had the new room at 18:30. The second room was a beautifull suite next to the ocean with a terrasse on top, it was perfect.

We leaved the hotel very early for our plane so we ask the room service to be at our room at 5h20 for breakfast on our patio in front of the sea, they never showed! Finaly we went to the lobby and we received the breakfeast there (it was not what we order) and it arrived at 6:10 (the airport transportation was 6:20). Some people waited 3 days to have hot water and others were frustated because they waited an hour for the shuffle and were affraid missing their flight.

So the hotel, the site with the lagoon, the cenote... the rooms, the food are wonderfull, like in a movie but I would have prefer a less beautiful hotel and no frustrations.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are wonderful and you don't have to use the shuffle most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were given the opportunity to transfer from the BlueBay Esmeralda to this resort for our last night. We couldn't get over how amazing this place is. The service and food is 5 star and beyond. The rooms are heaven. The grounds are astounding. Thank you so much Blue Diamond for such an amazing experience! Look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We returned from Blue Diamond last week, and miss it so! We had wonderful service and delicious dining. Our room overlooking the ocean was perfect-immaculate and spacious. A wet-bar that was ours to use freely. We had a Nespresso machine in the room which we loved. If we wanted something, all we had to do was mention it, and it was ours. The staff went out of their way to please, and always around if you wanted something. Our thanks to Sergio, Jesus, Roman, Anita, Gabriela, and all of you who were so helpful, cheerful and happy, making our vacation even better. Oh, and I can't forget the Temazcal Ceremony! Breathtaking!

It's hard to say exactly what made this such a great experience. The physical resort is awesome (rooms are gracefully beautiful and lavish), food is excellent (not the faintest hint of steam table), and the service enthusiastic, but there was something beyond. Some quality of the place brought out a special feeling in the guests. While I have enjoyed conversations in other resorts, here I found guests and employees to be absorbing, warm, and friendly.

We will be back next year!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussinExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My boyfriend and I went for a week to Blue Diamond by BlueBay and the constant service never ended. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. This hotel had the prettiest views I have ever seen.I highly recommend staying here. The room is unlike anything I have even seer so spacious and posh

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We can't say enough about this fabulous resort. The pool, beach, villas, food and the staff were superior. This is a 5 star resort. The beauty of this experience is the tranquility of
the surroundings from the villa overlooking the river, the rooftop view of the ocean, jungle
and river. The outstanding cuisine, service and the staff who were always warm, friendly
and delivered the most exceptional service. We were completely catered to both with drinks at the pool and throughout breakfast, lunch & dinner. This resort offers the utmost in privacy in a serene and peaceful environment. A huge plus is the town of Playa Del Carmen is only 6 miles away for shopping or a night out on the town. Golf is also covneniently located nearby. For a truly one of kind luxurious and the ultimate in a relaxing vacation is the Blue Diamond. Antonio, Gabriella, Daniel, Amando, and every one of the staff were not only outstanding but just a treat to engage in conversation. We love this place and want to go back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have just returned from a luxurious and much needed relaxing vacation at Blue Diamond, developed and operated originally by the Mandarin Oriental chain of hotels. The impeccable detail in design is signature "Mandarin," but the newly trained service staff and freshen-up that the current management team has provided made our trip one-of-a-kind.

From the elegant, relaxing and detailed summary greeting we received at the Front Desk to the last-minute work our Concierge, Darwin, did to try to get us a few extra nites, we were almost pinching ourselves to make sure that it was real.

The resort is impeccably respectful of the environment in which it was built, along lagoons and in deference to the cenote that is in the center of the property. Our villa (A Junior Suite) was tastefully designed and featured a rooftop sun deck (beautiful panoramic view of the ocean and land) and a perfect place for my man to enjoy a Cuban cigar and a cold Dos Equis, which were heartily stocked in our fridge and part of the "inclusive" package.

The villas or suites are all connected by stone walkways and rich and luxurious Brazilian hardwood "boardwalks." You are transported from place to place via golf carts and a delightful and happy driver (it's never too far to walk, but the rides are always fun and they pick you up within 5 minutes, typically, for transport to a restaurant or the beach, or the spa.

The beach is manicured every morning and throughout the day, our lounge chairs featured fresh terrycloth pillows (tied on and arranged with two towels, one rolled up to prop up our feet!) and clean chairs. Snorkeling was included in our package, and there are kayaks and a catamaran on the beach for use by the guests.

The infinity pool is surrounded by chairs and beautiful draped "beds," all fitted with cotton covers and great place to snooze or read.

This is not a "tacky" swim up bar kind of place. There are only 120 rooms or so and this place is for people looking to relax and celebrate not go crazy and party. They joked at the front desk: "there is no spring break here." Meaning: our guests are here for a different reason!

There are only two "physical" restaurants, altho lunch ceviche (there are several choices) is served from the lower level of one of them, right on the beach if you want it, or by the pool. We had fresh ceviche and cold beer right at our lounge chairs every day.

We are food 'snobs' but we couldn't complain about the food in any way. While the menus are "fixed" each evening (featuring a type of food, perhaps, such as Cantonese). While it's not the 'five star" Zagat's highly rated food you would expect from an upscale metro restaurant with a superstar chef, were often delighted and never disappointed. It isn't mediocre by any stretch. We enjoyed delicious rack of lamb, sea bass cooked to perfection with delicate sauces and even perfectly seared steak. I highly recommend the citrus plate at breakfast; it features grilled grapefruit drizzled in honey and that ONE thing, along with a steaming hot pot of French press coffee, started every day perfectly. They also feature healthy shakes and fresh juices as well as your standard fare of yummy omelettes, mexican style scrambles, and a long list of specialty poached egg platters. It was ALL GOOD.

There was entertainment every evening, from a violinist at dinner to a Cuban salsa band by the pool one night while we were there.

The spa is expensive for what I consider to be "standard" service. But typical for massages and facials and the like (we got a couples massage and it was very very good). I would recommend they make mani-pedi a lot less expensive (drop the "spa" moniker) so that women like me who rarely get time to get that done can go and get it done onsite and then see all that the spa has to offer. And oh boy, is it grand. The spa features a private pool, huge tiled, domed steam room, a couples steam room, a giant Jacuzzi pool (indoors) and another outdoor jacuzzi. On windy days the spa pool is a great place to bake. The bathrooms, showers and dressing rooms are beautiful, and you get your own locker as usual.

The workout room features that amazing Brazilian hardwood and brand new equipment, plenty of cardio equipment and cold bottled water and towels...oh, and yoga.

I can't say enough about this place. And since I've now nearly written a "novel," I'll simply say: GO. Don't pick any OTHER luxury all inclusive until you've tried this one -- which will set the standard for all other choices!

Room Tip: Rooftop Jr Suite was our favorite, choose close to beach or .. if u can swing it, on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBayBelleVue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Jayla,
We are really delighted with your wonderful descriptions. I have shared your wonderful remarks with staff and we do appreciate your attention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, with your friends!
Kind regards,
Blue Diamond team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,154 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,607 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,417 reviews
2.3 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £316 - £802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing