We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$517
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$605
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$398
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$271
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$2,204
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$682
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,001
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,474
US$1,080
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,877)
Filter reviews
1,877 results
Traveller rating
1,339
327
117
56
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,339
327
117
56
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsambar restaurantpatio suitecevichegolf cartoutdoor tubcenote suitebeachfront casitaamber restaurantcigar loungesteam roomconcierge officeall inclusive resortwalk in closetpool barquiet resortspa areahuge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,259 - 1,264 of 1,877 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

my wife and i started here for one night in December. We did not want to leave. Absolutely fabulous resort. We are doing to go back there. Staff could not have been nicer. everyone was genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeGaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This property is really quite unique and the food here is by any reasonable standard among the highest I have ever encountered in an all-inclusive anywhere and certainly, the best in Mexico. As with all experiences, the resort is not for everyone, but for many, it will far surpass reasonable expectations.

As with a few other resorts along the Maya Riviera, this is a long strip along a nature mangrove populated river that ends at the beach. There are a cluster of room pods along the strip, some looking at a cenote or a lagoon and others built around a beautiful water feature with unique and striking sculptural elements. The hotel is understated modern elegance; it is a former Mandarin Oriental and if you have ever been at a Mandarin, you will instantly appreciate its simple elegant modern architecture, white with dark wood accents and modern fixtures. (The one star review complaining of the rooms not looking like the website is absurd. No one will be disappointed by the large modern rooms with huge mirrored spaces and modern fixtures.)

The long strip means you may likely be a few minutes walk from the beach, but the view outside your room will most likely be of lush dense private jungle, a river or natural water body. (There are only a very, very few ungodly pricey beach units.) Unlike the Grand Velas with a view from each room of the massive resort in the foreground but also of the ocean in the background, yours will be an intimate perspective, lending itself to quiet reflection.

There are nearly constant forays by the bellmen on golf carts and we never called for transportation, but began the walk to beach and restaurants and we were picked up and transported quite easily the few minutes. Despite the mangrove forests, we saw very few mosquitoes. The beach is modest in size, just pristine and the facilities there are again, white and understated with a gorgeous infinity pool. You will never wait for a great lounge chair by the beach or by the pool. Sure there is a five foot strip of pebbles as you cross to the sandy loam of the ocean, but that is true with most Mayan beaches.

The food at the high end restaurant the Ambar was just outstanding for almost all our choices. Salads were elegant with more desired lettuces and lightly dressed and garnished with carefully crafted unique touches. No plate leaves the kitchen without a tiny swoosh of balamic or an elegant painting of a fruited sauce. The menu offers a page of special offerings (about 3 appetizers and 3 entrees) which rotates every 3 days. We ate off this menu and off the rich offering of the ordinary menu. We had perfectly cooked veal, grouper, tenderloin (not tasting as the beef sometimes found at latin american eaterys), shrimp, squid, with wonderful unusual accompanying risottos, creamed corn, cous cous. Portions were moderate and cooked nearly perfectly. and just plated beautifully.

Breakfast and lunch had many items of equal quality, with a few more "misses" or "just average" offerings among these settings, but still overall just beautiful cooking and presentation. It is unimaginable to me that someone would honestly assess the food as less than stellar and for Mexico and all inclusives, it is off the chart.

The service people working here are wonderful, but the service has hiccups. Bellman such as the kind and attentive Sergio and the engaging Alfredo will work very hard to meet your needs. The concierage Omar has lyrical English skills and great attention to detail. Ambar staff including the maitre de Martine and waiter Omar deliver first rate service. Our housecleaning was perfect.

So the hiccups? Management does NOT provide enough personnel at times when the resort is full and the wait for breakfast or lunch or even dinner is sometimes taxiing and this can be quite frustrating; its certainly unfair the staff themselves who are wheeling at these few most busy times. If this bothers you excessively, arrive earlier rather than later for the meal services. Certainly, this is a resort where you can't be in a hurry and why would you be? 2 hours is typical for dinner at Ambar. In fact, the staff sometimes worked extremely hard just given their limited numbers. So I urge management to get more help for these times.

The spa was disappointing in our view; we went to enjoy an amazing (complementary) steam room (an impressive huge circular hall), but found the combining of lockers to uni-sex created problems, and it was a complete turn-off to learn certain toilet doors did not close and a number of the toilets auto-valves were malfunctioning. (We found this issue at a number of common areas of the hotel.) Overall, we chose not to have spa services because of our initial impression being disappointed here.

This is otherwise a truly beautiful property. If you are a couple and you want quiet days and uncrowded sun lounging and especially quiet evenings with elegance, its just hard to imagine you would be disappointed at Blue Diamond. There will be no tour director, noisy dance music at the beach or pool. Occasional clarinet, and saxophone at dinner, xylophone once at the pool - that is the cadence of this resort.

Take the time to ask questions and learn about their wonderful staff. Tipping is discouraged but we always take small denominations and discreetly tipped good service.

We would return here, despite there being a few failings.

Room Tip: Do not worry about your room. If you can afford a lagoon next to the beach or a casita at the beach, it will be slightly more convenient but I would wonder if the extra cost is really worth it. All the rooms are spectacular.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foothillslarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We always get alone on vacation over Valentines day, found this resort through our membership to SLH. The private shuttle met us at the airport on time, and was very helpful on our ride down to Playa. We had a free upgrade in room from SLH, which the management did Honor, but we turned it down, the room we got was very private, direct sun on the patio, and it was much larger than the upgraded room. We requested bike and did get them on the second day. The shuttle rides on the carts are just fine, and very timely. The Resort could have been a bit cleaner, but no real complaints. The barteneders were up for making any drink you requested if you told them how to do it! Never had to search for a beach or pool chair, the place was full but seemed diserted? Food was fine, never had to wait for a table, the 3 restaraunts were sufficient. Staff was very helpful and fixed things as we requested, our audio system was bad on our tv, would shut off intermittently, they tried fix it numerous times, offered to move us to another room, but we don't go there to watch tv anyway, so we lived with it. We would definatley go back!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are unique, some are closer to the spa, and some closer to the beach& pools. We stayed right in the middle of the resort, large pation rooms, very private, be sure to request south exposure if you want sun on your patio.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rammkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very nice and very clean
If you just want to lay around in your room or if you really like walking this Is the place for you
The food is not 5 star honestly I've had better food at Applebee's
The service is extremely slow or nonexistent
It could be a great place but needs a lot of improvement

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was easily one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The staff was really helpful and very nice throughout our stay - special thanks to Caesar his amazing beachside service!

The room:
Before we arrived we read a number of reviews. Unlike some, we didn't have any issues with the hot water (the bathroom was nothing short of amazing, in fact). We were staying on the lagoon which was a great central location—we did have a weird animal on the patio one night which was more entertaining than scary. While golf cart rides around the property were easy to get, the walk to the main dining areas was really nice. This room was nothing short of awesome.

The food:
The food was good--fantastic compared to what I have heard about other all-inclusives. We weren't blown away, but many of the dishes were delicious. The tuna tacos were especially good! I think the real winners were the local dishes, but things that were called spicy were actually pretty mild. If you want to eat all day long, you certainly can!

Nightlife:
Non-existant. Seriously. We checked out both hotel bars after dinner. One of the four nights we were there people were actually hanging out at the poolside bar. For the most part the bars were empty of both tenders and drinkers—well before 10. We'd read about this and been told that our room had a DVD player, so we brought a few movies. There was no DVD player. We asked the staff and they said there weren't any. We did get a lot of reading done.

Overall, this is an amazing and beautiful place to come to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews