We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #23 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Allowed my husband to choose our honeymoon spot and he exceeded my expectations.
Service was exceptional and despite the resort being all inclusive food was made to order and there were NO buffets. With only 128 rooms the resort had a great boutique feel and we really enjoyed the spa. Alcohol was top shelf and we enjoyed the concierge service who went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. This is the perfect all adult resort for being alone with your spouse down to the dirty movie channels and bottles and bottles of free alcohol in the room.
We loved all the wait staff especially Cesar. Be sure to book your transportation to the hotel with Best Day and great souvenirs can be found on 5th Avenue Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurants are good idea since getting around is by golf carts or walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supasups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We traveled all over the world and we can say that this resort is one of a kind in Mexico. The development has been planned with the respect of nature, they plant trees and shrubs for several milions dollars and avoid to destroy the mangroves zones where not necessary. The architecture integration is a succes. The rooms are spacious and extremely well designed. The staff does everything they can to make us confortable and happy. The food is delicious and we do not understand the bad comments in certains reviews about so so food in this resort after many dinners in Michelin rated restaurants like Guy Savoy, Joel Robuchon or Daniel Boulub. Please take the good decision and book this fabulous resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank beringerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Simply put, after our experience at Blue Diamond me and my wife are spoiled. From the car service from the airport to the resort and the ice cold, fruity libations waiting on us upon our arrival to the four course meals and overall hospitality, Blue Diamond delivered. The staff scores major points. Jesus greeted us and was a delight to get to know. Florasel was always on time with the golf cart. Darwin gave us a nice tour when we arrived. Roberto and Jose always had drinks ready with very little wait. I hate I can't remember our wait staff, but there was a gentleman at Ambar that was a pleasure. In fact, he feed the crocodile that occupied the shore below our table. He was an awesome guy.

We made this trip for our honeymoon and have every intent on going back to celebrate our year anniversary. The food was stellar, the views were excellent and the massages, well, they might have been the best ever.

It was truly a relaxing, enjoyable and overall experience of a lifetime.

Thanks!
Billy and Jessy Draper

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBillyDraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Beautiful resort, everyone very friendly and always there to serve your every need or request.
Great food and always served gourmet style. You really feel that you are at an expensive
restaurant every day!

I have to say Richard Eisenmann "Ricardo" exceptional service and ALWAYS with a smile.
Thanks Ricardo for the great beach side lunches. We truly enjoyed meeting you and having you serve us!

Great place to Relax and Yes we would definately go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NancyLeeRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

but I didnt. I experienced a little bit of all the negative reviews. I think the food is bad because of timing issues, i.e. I had ordered a pasta dish and when it finally arrived to the table it was stuck together from just being left sitting for 10 minutes - same story for dried out salmon. Rooms are nice but dont make up for the dissapointing food. Our best meal was in Ambar, although my boyfriend ordered the quail and that was inedible and presented in a very unappealing manner. Staff are sweet, or pissed off (I can only imagine its internal stuff that make some grumpy), some do wait around for a tip (let you know that they are leaving) but that is ok. One time share guy at the "concierge" near the beach was VERY agressive about "having breakfast" with us. Everytime I said "No thank you we just want to spend the time together" he answered with "we will pick you up at 9:00am" You really have to be ready for him and insist NO!!!!!!!

We moved down to Mezzanine in Tulum and that was PARADISE in every manner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Excellent small hotel, super nice and friendly at the front desk. Great food and great drinks, great atmosphere. But SPECTACULAR personality for Ricardo, at Aquamarina! Worth mentioning, Dagoberto also. Great SPA. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rborjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The room smelt of sewage and the restaurants really badly needs a manager.Food I would rate a solid 3/10 and I saw many many people complaining of the bad service (especially at breakfast).
The people are very nice but the resort is a bad need of a do over.Well done Mandarin for selling it very smart move.Too many much much better hotels there for me to ever go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,499 reviews
1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,251 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,724 reviews
2.3 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,218 reviews
4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £291 - £627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing