We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fantastic getaway!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I just returned from a long weekend at the Blue Diamond and cannot wait to return. A friend and I traveled for a girls weekend and loved the resort. We stayed in a Palafitos Sun Deck room which is the upper level with a private sun deck overlooking a lagoon. It is the closest room type to the beach without actually having a beachfront room. The room is huge, comfortable, and has a well-stocked minibar.

The beach is beautiful. Not sure about previous rock complaints--there were only a few and quite easy to step over. Kayaks are free and fun to use. Plenty of beach chairs are available and the staff will move them for you to any spot you like! Plus, beach chairs and towels come with pillows by the beach and a really nice terry cloth-covered cushion by the pool. Beach service is excellent, and Cesar is your man on the beach!

Three restaurants plus a pool/beach-side menu are great and there are plenty of choices. Breakfast and pool snacks are especially good, and there is an extensive drink menu.

The service is attentive without being overbearing and little touches like concierges and turn-down service are nice (your room is re-stocked in the morning as well as at turn-down).

The resort is all-inclusive, and all adult. This was great for my friend and me, because aside from the massages we got (highly recommended as they are awesome and the spa is beautiful), all was prepaid. Plus, no kids means a very relaxing vacation. I would avoid the car service arranged through the hotel site--we had a bad experience. Choose something else.

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Palafitos rooms closest to beach and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geauxtigers318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    283
    105
    47
    35
See reviews for
76
1,030
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Allowed my husband to choose our honeymoon spot and he exceeded my expectations.
Service was exceptional and despite the resort being all inclusive food was made to order and there were NO buffets. With only 128 rooms the resort had a great boutique feel and we really enjoyed the spa. Alcohol was top shelf and we enjoyed the concierge service who went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. This is the perfect all adult resort for being alone with your spouse down to the dirty movie channels and bottles and bottles of free alcohol in the room.
We loved all the wait staff especially Cesar. Be sure to book your transportation to the hotel with Best Day and great souvenirs can be found on 5th Avenue Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurants are good idea since getting around is by golf carts or walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Supasups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We traveled all over the world and we can say that this resort is one of a kind in Mexico. The development has been planned with the respect of nature, they plant trees and shrubs for several milions dollars and avoid to destroy the mangroves zones where not necessary. The architecture integration is a succes. The rooms are spacious and extremely well designed. The staff does everything they can to make us confortable and happy. The food is delicious and we do not understand the bad comments in certains reviews about so so food in this resort after many dinners in Michelin rated restaurants like Guy Savoy, Joel Robuchon or Daniel Boulub. Please take the good decision and book this fabulous resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beringerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Simply put, after our experience at Blue Diamond me and my wife are spoiled. From the car service from the airport to the resort and the ice cold, fruity libations waiting on us upon our arrival to the four course meals and overall hospitality, Blue Diamond delivered. The staff scores major points. Jesus greeted us and was a delight to get to know. Florasel was always on time with the golf cart. Darwin gave us a nice tour when we arrived. Roberto and Jose always had drinks ready with very little wait. I hate I can't remember our wait staff, but there was a gentleman at Ambar that was a pleasure. In fact, he feed the crocodile that occupied the shore below our table. He was an awesome guy.

We made this trip for our honeymoon and have every intent on going back to celebrate our year anniversary. The food was stellar, the views were excellent and the massages, well, they might have been the best ever.

It was truly a relaxing, enjoyable and overall experience of a lifetime.

Thanks!
Billy and Jessy Draper

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBillyDraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Beautiful resort, everyone very friendly and always there to serve your every need or request.
Great food and always served gourmet style. You really feel that you are at an expensive
restaurant every day!

I have to say Richard Eisenmann "Ricardo" exceptional service and ALWAYS with a smile.
Thanks Ricardo for the great beach side lunches. We truly enjoyed meeting you and having you serve us!

Great place to Relax and Yes we would definately go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyLeeRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

but I didnt. I experienced a little bit of all the negative reviews. I think the food is bad because of timing issues, i.e. I had ordered a pasta dish and when it finally arrived to the table it was stuck together from just being left sitting for 10 minutes - same story for dried out salmon. Rooms are nice but dont make up for the dissapointing food. Our best meal was in Ambar, although my boyfriend ordered the quail and that was inedible and presented in a very unappealing manner. Staff are sweet, or pissed off (I can only imagine its internal stuff that make some grumpy), some do wait around for a tip (let you know that they are leaving) but that is ok. One time share guy at the "concierge" near the beach was VERY agressive about "having breakfast" with us. Everytime I said "No thank you we just want to spend the time together" he answered with "we will pick you up at 9:00am" You really have to be ready for him and insist NO!!!!!!!

We moved down to Mezzanine in Tulum and that was PARADISE in every manner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Excellent small hotel, super nice and friendly at the front desk. Great food and great drinks, great atmosphere. But SPECTACULAR personality for Ricardo, at Aquamarina! Worth mentioning, Dagoberto also. Great SPA. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rborjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,059 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
18.0 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing