We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a wonderful anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at Blue Diamond in mid November and it was everything the reviews had said and more. The service was the best I have had at any resort as well as the food. To have lunch delivered on the beach with real china and cloth napkins was really impressive. The staff goes out of their way to make sure that you have everything you need to ensure a relaxing vacation.
We told some of the staff that it was our anniversary, and a special table was designed for us at dinner. We loved looking at the ocean while eating dinner and taking in the beautiful views. All in all, we would go back again in a heartbeat, it was that special.

Don't hesitate to go to the Blue Diamond. The only regret is having to leave!

Room Tip: They have bicycles at the resort and golf carts to drive you to the beach or restaurants, so getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    270
    101
    46
    33
See reviews for
75
987
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This resort is the most amazing Garden of Eden!!!
All of the staff were the most amazing and want to take care of you!!!
The Spa is one of the best I have experienced…
The food is very good…
The guest suites are amazing…
I loved my time at this oasis and I will be returning many times again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSandH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJ
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Overall, Blue Diamond is an exquisite resort in Cancun. The rooms were beyond phenomenal (we had a Palafito near the lagoon) and so was the beach and environment on the resort. Nothing but great things can be said for the lobby staff - specifically Rahul! Rahul always greeted us with a smile and was extremely helpful during all occasions.

I was somewhat ticked off by the wait staff in the Aquamarina especially during the breakfast hours as they were not very personable. It took a long time to place our orders and they seemed to be stretched thin. Lunches and dinners in the restaurant were great though.

One thing that should be noted to future travelers is that room service is free after 11pm. This wasn't advertised nor were we told in checkin ( we arrived late - around 1030pm and were hungry), however, Rahul let us know and saved us from going to bed on an empty stomach. :)

Would I come back? Yes! However, I would like to have a 5 star experience next time where I can truthfully say everyone in the resort is deserving of a 5 star - including the waitstaff for breakfast at the Aquamarina.

Room Tip: Be sure to rent the Palafitos! Rooms are amazing and right on the lagoon. Be sure to bring bug spray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights in one of the junior suites (room numbers 3xx).
We had thee most wonderful experience from every possible aspect.
Room was spacious, beautifully designed and well equipped.
Service was always fast, efficient and with a smile. You can see right away how much emphasis is given to customer service at this place.
Food was simply outstanding and certainly exceeded our expectations from an all-inclusive resort. All meals are served with rich menus and the food is prepared to order and served to your table by waiters. No buffet!
Beach is beautiful. The pool is relatively small but great.
Only comment is that most rooms are far from the beach and restaurants. You can either walk for a few minutes down the scenic path, ride a bike to get around or call a golf cart to pick you up. If you are wiling to spend extra - get the rooms on the lake or the beach.
We certainly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for a 5-star quality getaway on the beach. We would love to stay again.

One more tip - take a day trip to Xcaret park which is 20 minutes away. The underground river and evening shows are a lot of fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Before we stay anywhere we do a lot research and only stay at 4 or 5 star resorts. Our research has always paid off and we have always had good to great experiences. There are so many fantastic resorts that we have yet to visit one more than once as we still look forward to new experiences.
However the Blue Diamond will be one we will visit again. The main reason was our room and the property. The bedroom alone was huge with a seating area and floor to ceiling glass doors overlooking a beautiful lagoon. Our bathroom also was amazing and large with an outdoor large granite bathtub. At no time did we burnout on our room nor feel like we were in a resort. Privacy is captured very well and we never closed our curtains and was able to experience the beauty of the lush grounds at all times. The layout does not cause others to see you so again very private.
Food was on par or better than other 5 star resorts we have visited and it is truly gourmet and very thoughtful with wide choices of interesting dishes. The Custom juice menu was also a nice touch at breakfast. The long shape of the property that provides all the privacy does result in some long distances so make sure you get the complimentary bikes. Riding the bikes also made this property very unique and fun.
We do not sugar coat our reviews. We had one miss that the hotel did make up for but it was unfortunate as it was an important part of our stay. I had ordered flowers through the hotel and confirmed several times they would be in our room but they were not there when we arrived. They were delivered the next day. However the hotel responded in an excellent manner and surprised us when we returned from dinner with a room full of rose petals and candles. This kind of action is why we would also go back! We also befriended two doctors from Atlanta who said this would also be the first resort they would return to again.
Great accommodations, food and service and number one a very unique and special property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balimom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Spent one week in Blue Diamond from the UK - which was about as far as you would want to go for a week, but I am very glad that I did.

The weather was changeable as it towards the end of the hurricane season (mid-November) but it didn't dampen the experience at all and I still have a good tan. It is all open air and we loved the fact that you can meander through the resort at your leisure - umbrellas were provided by the hotel!

My luggage was delayed in London by the airline and the hotel were amazing, they provided me with emergency items like tooth paste, face wash, toothbrush, hairbrush, etc.

I was worried that the place was not as amazing in real life as in the website but it actually exceeded my expectations!

Everywhere was very well maintained and kept - there were no issues with the suite we had and the cleanliness was second to none - inside and outside!

The three restaurants more than accommodated our needs - the food here is truly exceptional. As an official foodie I was not able to fault anything and would go back just for the guacamole and pico de gallo!

It is quiet in the resort but that is what we went for - luxury, peace, no children! We booked a day trip to Xel-ha - another place highly recommended, and spent a few hours having a great massage in the spa - also one to try (Blue Diamond Exclusive).

The service from the staff was excellent all week and they were super accommodating, knew us by name and ensured that all our needs were met - even down to the spanish menu for me and an english one for my partner!

Will definitely go back again - loved it. Best holiday I have had!

Room Tip: The villas laguna are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wurbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I visited in October and we had a fantastic time. The surrounding areas didn't look like other parts of Mexico that I've seen, nothing was run-down or in disrepair. The trip from the airport was a little long but the the highways were nice.

The thing that surprised me most about the resort was how quite it was. The first few days it felt like we were the only ones there. I'm used to cruising for vacations so it was a nice change not to feel crammed in with a few thousand other people and not having to go through cattle calls at meal time.

The rooms are awesome and had a huge bathroom and large closet. The mini bar in the room was great to have.

Complaints -
We got a note on our door that the concierge was missing some information from us. We went to see him and got duped into a sales presentation about joining a BlueBay vacation club. The hour long presentation stretched into three hours. We turned them down but did get a credit out of it that covered a couples massage.

Ice! You have to call to get them to deliver ice. It's not easy to come by so the drinks from our mini bar weren't always as cold as we would like.

Tips -
Ask for a bike when you check in. They are free but they don't have enough for everyone. We got tired of calling carts all of the time and I really enjoyed riding up and down the 'jungle' bike path to get to the beach.

Ask for top shelf. They have it and it's free but they reserve it for requests.

Befriend the bartender. One night we sat around at the pool bar and got to know the bar tender. He started making us different shots and drinks to try out. I wound up with a coconut concoction that was amazing.

Tip along the way. It didn't look like most people were tipping but we left our dinner waiter $20 after he had served us two meals in a row and after that he was falling all over himself to bring us top shelf sprits and extra food.

Take advantage of the free beach activities (snorkeling, paddle boarding, kayaking) and check out the excursions offered by the concierge office. We went to Tulum and snorkeled though the Cenotes and it was well worth the money.

Overall -
It's not a party place but it was perfect for us and we plan on coming back. The weather was perfect in October. It was hot enough to sit out on the beach and swim but not unbearable.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Casita's are the only rooms with a beach view. We want to try and stay there ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.9 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#55 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
18.1 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
24.7 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing