We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This resort earns all of it's 5 stars! We actually went here last year in November and after just recently returning from another resort, we decided we would be going back to Blue Diamond next time and stay there! The food is amazing. The staff is amazing. The beach is amazing. The rooms are amazing. Everything about this place was so great.

We typically like to do nothing on beach vacations - just sit by the pool, read and eat good food. If you're looking for activities, this is not the resort for you... but relaxation and nice amenities - this is the best resort!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    283
    105
    47
    35
See reviews for
76
1,029
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Overall, I had a pleasant experience visiting Blue Diamond over Easter weekend of 2014. The very long and narrow property snakes through a jungle-like atmosphere down to the pool and beach. We stayed in the "300" section suites, somewhat closer to the main lobby and spa - the higher the room #, the closer to the pool/beach. The suite we stayed in was massive and apparently on the "smaller" side in comparison to other rooms. The room itself had a large king sized bed (although a little hard for my liking), a gigantic walk-in closet, and an open concept bathroom with 2 shower heads. The room itself opened up to a patio overlooking a river/lagoon that felt entirely private, albeit being adjacent to another patio. There was an outdoor bath, but found it somewhat useless because the water was cold by the time you returned to your room. The room felt modern and up to date, with a few minor repairs necessary (our AC thermostat was working but making the worst clicking noise, the blinds were becoming ripped because of the way they were rolled up, few cracks in the bathroom wall).

As mentioned, the property is long (about 1 mile), so bring your walking shoes or hop on one of the golf carts the staff use to navigate the property. It gets very got during the day, so the carts were a welcomed sight driving down the narrow path.

The main pool area is adjacent to a lunch/dinner restaurant and comes equipped with a free standing bar. It sits on top of a breakfast/lunch deck and then opens up to the beach. The pool area never felt that crowded despite being there over a holiday, and the staff was kind enough to set you up with towels, umbrellas and a drink. My wife and I ended up spending most afternoons up around the pool to take advantage of the sun.

I was somewhat disappointed with the beach area because the lounge chairs were right on top of your neighbor. We played the "get there early" game to take an end chair. The beach isn't that wide, but I feel that the hotel can do a better job of spreading people out. The water is beautiful, but the beach is a little rocky. However, it was much better than the surrounding hotels beach area. However, it was always clean thanks to the staff and I always seemed to have a cerveza nearby. You do get a lot of beach combing onlookers, so if you really want a ton of privacy, this may not be your best option.

The food for it being an all inclusive was very good - not your line up for buffet style you typically visualize at a mega resort in cancun. The 2 restaurants provided plenty of options for all types of appetites, but I really enjoyed a light lunch out on the main deck the best. The service was good, but sometimes felt a little lacking. I got a completely different dish one day, but didn't feel the need to complain because I wanted to try everything. One misstep was when eating outside next to the pool. There were several workers fixing the railing during the middle of dinner and made a big commotion. The waitstaff looked embarrassed, an the noise soon stopped but this is the difference between a top-notch, 5 star hotel and the step below.

So, to recap, it was a nice, quick getaway that provided for some fun in the sun, but it needed a little push to make it even better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Goran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First, the place is like a jungle- beautiful! The food is amazing and the personnel is super nice. Our waiter was the best (Jose) because he provided with A class service every time! You will not regret staying at the Blue Diamond Riviera Maya!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cesar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just recently returned from and eight day seven night stay in the Patio Suites. It was the most amazing room: super clean, private plunge pool, outdoor bath tub, and an amazing bathroom. The best part of the stay is the staff and food. Although there are only three restaurants the combination possibilities are endless. All food is prepared to order al la carte. My favorite meal was the Mexican menu at Aguamarina. This is where Gener and Victor did an exceptional job serving. The best part of the stay would have to be drinks and lunch served on the beach by Cesar. Cesar is the most unbelievable server and will go to great lengths to serve his guests and ensure a great time. You will see him take an order and run down the beach to fill it. If you finish your drinks and take a dip in the sea, he will have another round waiting. Last but not least is the beach setup. Antonio and the staff would personally setup your chaise lounge with towels, umbrellas, and small drink tables. Antonio had been so attentive after a few days, he knew right where to set us up. This is perfect resort of great food and total relaxation. If you are into crazy nightlife and loud bumping music this resort is not for you. Tip: an occasional $5 US tip goes a long way.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed in Laguna Cenote Jr Suite overlooking a Cenote pool and a back yard jungle. Room was great in all respects with no issues experienced at all during our 10 day stay. Grounds were very well kept and found the 3 minute golf cart ride from our room to the beach area very enjoyable. Never had to wait long for a ride. The quality of food and "liquids" were excellent. Even though we were staying during a so-called busy period, we never experienced any crowds anywhere on the property including the restaurants and pool areas which provided a feeling of semi privacy at all times. The service provided to us was always first rate with staff seemingly on top of their game all day/evening long ... from Omar (our butler) to Dago, Cesar, Irving, Alonso, Roman, Juan, Jesus, Mahoney, Nicalas, Julian, Victor, and all the others. Based on our very pleasant experience at this lovely property, with its enthusiastic and efficient staff, would definitely go back again ... we plan to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank close2good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

From the moment of arrival, we were treated like family. Every need, every want, every desire was met with a smile and cheerfulness. We have never experienced this level of service in any of our travels. The Aguamarina restaurant was our favorite hangout. Julian, along with his staff (Nicholas, Genner, David, Viktor, and Jesus (we met him on his first day!), always made us feel at home and laughed with us. The food was exceptional to say the least. There were many firsts with these menus (Mayan eggs, Double cream soup, tuna steaks (to die for!), and apple pizza (sounds crazy, but it was amazing!). This crew was spot on and we never lacked for anything during any dining experience. From the timing of the courses to the drink orders, it seemed to flow so naturally. This wait staff made their jobs LOOK easier than it truly is, based on experience.

We also dined at the Ambar (best wine ever!) and Roman made our special night so memorable. He made sure we had pictures of the 2 of us on our 25th anniversary. The food, the service, the conversation...who could have asked for a better night?

The room was beautiful and huge! We slept very well, which is not usually the case in a hotel bed. The patio is where we spent our mornings, talking over coffee, planning our day. Our evenings were spent in the outdoor tub, rinsing off the salt from a day on the beach. We have to send a note to our housekeepers (whom we never saw) that took very good care of us during our stay.

An open heart and an open mind will show you, as it did us, that the people in the resort are humble and hard working, They are the reason the Blue Diamond is the most incredible place to spend an anniversary.

Room Tip: This is purely a personal (and budget) choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngieandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After all the great reviews we've expected the best-our fault.
1.We have never had a more beautiful and privat room in all our travels-where there were/are many.
2."EARLY CHECKIN" was the first dissapointment, at 2.40pm our room wasn't ready (checkin-in is at 3pm). No big deal, we had a nice relaxing lunch at the pool while they got it ready and it was. They simply shouldn't promise if they cannot deliver.
3.We asked for bikes the first day, were put on a list and after following up the next day got 2 old rusted bikes where 1 was broken.
4.The room YES was stunning, the smell moldy and musty and only got 50% better the next day, that's the way it stayed for 3 days until we left.
6. TV was not working half of the time, neither was the telefone next to the bed and some of the outlets. Scale was broken.
7. outdoor bathtub we were told is the same as the pool with cold water-we didn't understand and didn't bother.
5.drinks and food quality good to mediocre, depending on the day.
6.Very Very friendly but a lot of the staff untrained. Wait times too long.
All in all-value and price do not match and we will not go back. We did however find our relaxation in our own very privet backyard with a smelly room.
We feel very disappointing about the fact that this place does not deliver the potential it could have since the architecture and location are stunning. A gem wasted on poor management.

Room Tip: room 358 was ours and the only one we know. We would choose it again if we'd go back which we do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank levin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#51 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,045 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
18.0 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing