We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch! Favorite Mexico Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Top Notch! Favorite Mexico Getaway!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our first time staying here. We usually do not frequent the same place twice but will HAVE TO now. We stayed in an ocean front Casita and it was FAB-U-LOUS. The service was outstanding, the accommodations were outstanding (except for the fact that we had to move our bed to avoid air conditioner condensation drips from above), the food was outstanding, the spa was outstanding, and the property in general was top notch! This is such a wonderful all inclusive for those who are discriminating and want peace and relaxation. I loved how quiet it was. How green it was. Loved the unique "moat-ness" about the property and that it mostly sits on lagoon. I loved the modern, minimalist design. LOVED the fact that we could sleep on our rooftop terrace with the ocean breezes and sounds of the waves and our very own dipping pool. SIDENOTE TO MANAGEMENT: There are just a couple of things that would make the stay here absolutely perfect. Figure out a way to fix the drip from AC condensation over the bed, and change the mattress to a higher quality or place a nice cushion topper on the mattress for top notch comfort. The bed did seem to make a little stiff after a few nights. Otherwise - WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovefrenchbulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    284
    106
    47
    35
See reviews for
78
1,049
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I’ve always been a little apprehensive about visiting Mexico, but am very happy that my first visit was at the Blue Diamond! This hotel is just really beautiful and the staff is very attentive, kind and helpful. In fact, we saw more staff than we saw guests! Here’s a run down of what to expect:

Arrival: We booked pick up/drop off from the Cancun airport through the hotel ($160 r/t). Once we walked out of the airport, we saw a lady holding a Blue Diamond sign with my name listed, and quickly moved into the A/C of the GMC Yukon. About 30 minutes later, we were at the hotel. At check-in we were provided cold towels and drinks as well as a very thorough explanation of the property (spa, restaurants, beach, gym, etc). We were a little early (room wasn’t ready yet), so decided to go eat lunch and were carted off through the property to the Aguamarina restaurant.

Food: There are a few places to eat on the property and range from super casual beach (Ceviche Cha Cha Cha) to middle of the road (Aguamarina) to more fancy (Ambar). We tried all of them during our stay. The food was REALLY GOOD. I’m surprised to see that other folks critiqued the quality, but I thought it was much better than my expectations. All a la carte with an extensive menu (which has components that change daily) and don’t be afraid to drink the water or eat raw veggies – I had no problem while at the restaurants on the property. Aguamarina was the most versatile restaurant (breakfast/lunch/dinner) and really had great food, especially breakfast. Plus it is right on the beach, so can’t beat the view. FYI – if they have BBQ Night, it’s really more “Grill” vs. “BBQ” and includes lobster tail, so definitely check it out. Ambar was good too, tho they have a “dress code” that really requires men to wear pants and a collar shirt (polo/long sleeve). The food there was really good as well, tho my only complaint is it was really hot in there (combination of high ceilings, thick table cloths, pants, and oh…it’s Mexico). We also did room service (which is free if it’s after 11pm or before 7am) which was right on time and pretty good.

Pool: While we were there, it was pretty empty, so had a ton of options and space. The main pool is near the beach and has a lot of chairs and even has some beds (definitely great for afternoon naps). Pretty shallow pool so was never cold. Oh and if you’re sitting in chairs, don’t choose the ones that are at the base of the side that’s closest to the beach as you will get splashed with “infinity pool” water whenever anyone jumps in.

Spa/Gym: The spa is definitely worth checking out. There’s a separate pool as well as an abundance of specialty rooms. There are a TON of massage types to choose from (we got hot stone and their specialty massage) and they were great. The massages are a bit pricey though ($170 for 80 minutes). They also have a separate yoga room (which was really nice) as well as pilates and gym equipment.


Room: We were there in August and it was HOT outside. The first room we were in (Cenote suite) was really warm (didn’t get cooler than about 77 F). We ended up having to change rooms and were upgraded to a Palafito suite. If I had to choose between the two, I would have stayed in the Cenote suite since it was a little larger and had an AMAZING bathroom. The nice thing about the Palafito tho was that it was VERY close to the beach/restaurants and also had a roof top patio. Definitely try to get a room closer to the beach. There was turndown service and a bottle of champagne on ice when we arrived. Also they have beach bags that you can use during your stay, which came in handy when going to the pool and beach areas. We used it when we went out on a Tulum excursion (which you can book through the hotel concierge). Make sure to reserve bikes on the property (can do it at check in, it’s included), it’s easiest way to get around and it adds to the beachy vibe of the property.

Overall: This was definitely a great hotel and experience. I would recommend this property for anyone wanting to stay in a nice, adult only, all inclusive in Riviera Maya. If I make it back down here, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the beach and put your name down to use their cruiser bikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AtlantaDvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful locale; the water is turquoise and it's a quiet romantic spot for couples. The grounds are maintained and everything is clean. Yes, the AC is not up to American standards, but the service is terrific and everything is done with a smile, which goes a long way in enjoyment of the hotel. The food, especially breakfast and lunch, is very good. Fresh made juices daily and top shelf liquor; just ask for it. Fancy dinners may not be their forte, but they try hard. Gabriella, the front desk manager, will do whatever it takes to make the trip enjoyable. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation in an upscale resort, this would be ideal. (Lots of honeymooners).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank francine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful rooms, friendly and well trained service, great pool, great beach and great food. What else would one want? There are cons, this resort is long and thin, so the least expensive rooms are far from the beach and pool. But bikes can be provided, and golf cart service is efficient. Service is slow for American standards, but it is friendly and really good. If you must have a beer RIGHT NOW, walk to the bar and ask for one... It is really not that hard. This was one of the best vacations I have been in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tomasz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The food is very good and the service is always with a smile. Cesar and Antonio made the beach feel like home for us everyday and Irving kept us coming back to the bar every night. Stayed for a week and only left the resort once to get some outstanding tacos at el fogon. Ignore the few bad reviews and go intent on having a good time and you surely will.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jesal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have been to numerous resorts throughout Mexico and South America for years and this was the greatest disappointment I have ever experienced! I went with several friends and we had booked the Presidential Suite for 5 nights in May. From the moment we arrived in the lobby we were talked down to and put off. It continued throughout our stay from every employee we encountered with the exception of our butler, Gabriel. As many people have stated, the service in the restaurant is horrible and we had to wait 45 minutes at the pool for a drink. The air conditioning was broken in the suite and although they attempted to fix it, it was NEVER cool. The resort is spread throughout the jungle and we had a beach front view but the majority of the rooms do not. The food was less than stellar and drinks were watered down at best. Good luck getting ice for them. When we returned home, I attempted to contact the ever elusive manager, Rodrigo. I spoke with him once and he was so apologetic and promised to call me back within a few days and said what he had to offer me would "make me smile". He never contacted me again. i have sent numerous emails and left multiple messages for him at the hotel but have yet to hear back from him. DO NOT waste your time and money going to this resort. The Grand Velas down the beach is a MUCH better choice!! The food, staff, accomodations, grounds, etc. are worlds better and definitely the 5 diamond rating the Grand Velas so deserves. The Blue Diamond is ONE STAR at best. The fact that I cannot get management to give me the time of day speaks volumes for their attention to customers. Can't say that I am surprised in the least. Anyone who gives this hotel a decent review, has not traveled much and doesn't have much to compare it to!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are back in the jungle with no view of the pool or ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the architecture, the scenery, and the kindness of the staff. We felt like royalty as we arrived in the lobby and checked in.
We had a Laguna room and it was wonderful; very clean and up to date. The bathroom was gorgeous with walk in rain showers and natural limestone tile just about everywhere. The air conditioning struggled a little to keep so the room was a little warm but my wife and I don't keep our air set low at home so this wasn't a big issue for us. If you're expecting 72 degrees in the room, that's not going to happen.
The beach and ocean are phenomenal. They have a wooden pier that extends a 100 of so yards into the ocean. We ended up spending most of our time on the pier as it got you out of the surf and the water was a little deeper for swimming. They would also provide drink and food service out there. It was very peaceful.
The food and drinks were great. With several dining choices and diversity of cuisine on each menu, there was always something wonderful to choose from. The Ambar (very nice dinner restaurant) was nice but we ended up eating all but one dinner at the Aguamarina on the beach because the evenings were so beautiful and we are typically more informal. The moon was full while we were there and it was spectacular to eat with the sound of the ocean, the cool breeze, and the moonlight reflecting off the water.
What can I say? We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
5.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,229 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,228 reviews
18.0 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Km. 298-816, Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Blue Diamond Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the pristine coast of the world famous Riviera Maya, Blue Diamond Riviera Maya is a sanctuary of breathtaking beauty and peace, surrounded by nature mixed with luxury. This exclusive hideaway is set in 36 acres of lush tropical jungle, well manicured gardens and a spectacular palm filled white sandy beaches along the turquoise – colored Caribbean Sea, offering unparalleled pampering and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing