We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relaxing place”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #47 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
warrington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a relaxing place”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3rd to 17th January and had a wonderful time. We upgraded to privilidge and particularly enjoyed the comfort and service at the beach area (Yvonnes' service was fantastic - within two days she knew our names, what drinks we liked at which time of the day) The staff are certainly the best asset of the resort, they were pleasant, friendly but not over familiar our particular favorite was Allberto who served us breakfast in the main restaurant and then lunch by the pool. Sarai in the lobby bar who again very quickly learned how we liked our drinks served.
One thing we felt was missing from the resort was a quiet bar in the evening where you could enjoy a chat. One other small gripe was the need to hide our glasses in a drawer as the maid took them if we left them out and a minibar is not much use if you don't have a glass to drink from!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judithWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,458
    2,049
    646
    258
    158
See reviews for
584
4,124
57
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Jan 24-Jan 31. I am going to write this review in two sections. The first section will cover the "not so good qualities of the resort," whereas, the second section will highlight the "good qualities of the resort." I am reviewing in this way, because I want to demonstrate that the good does outweigh the not so good.

NOT SO GOOD QUALITIES OF THE RESORT:

The beach, or lack thereof, was disappointing to say the least. However, with that being said, it is not to be blamed upon the resort itself. Mother nature was in definite control.

Food: The food quality was average. Of the four restaurants, the Japanese, was our favorite. TIP: please make a reservation, as you will have to wait, depending upon how full the resort is

The opaque glass on the boardwalk prevented us from actually enjoying the view of the ocean. The boardwalk was a nice touch, just seemed odd that those in the privilege section couldn't even see the ocean.
And, the most obvious downfall of the privilege upgrade was that our room was the farthest away from the beach/ocean. That made no sense whatsoever to us!

.GOOD QUALITIES OF THE RESORT:

Staff: The staff is definitely the number one asset this resort has to offer. They were friendly, hard working, attentive, and went above and beyond. I would like to know in an email reply from someone on the management team, how these staff members are recognized when those on Trip Advisor write specific positive comments about particular staff (please advise). Ivonne in the privilege beach section definitely needs to be recognized for her hard work. She made us feel right at home.

Grounds: The grounds were plush, green, and highly aesthetic. Once again, the staff members were always working to maintain superior quality! Keep up the good work.

Bathroom around the "quiet" pool: The women's bathroom was spotless. The female staff (sorry, I did not get her name) was constantly cleaning and replenshing paper towels, etc. She worked nonstop!

Spa: I had a deep tissue massage and reflexology--OUTSTANDING. The spa was immaculate, and the 90 minute massage was less expensive than a comparable one in the U.S. The spa staff was outstanding. I would definitely visit the spa again if I were going to return to this resort.

Housekeeping (Anna)--room 106, was outstanding. She did a wonderful job with our room. The linens were clean and the bed was comfortable.

In summary, we would not recommend this resort to those who desire a large beach as a requirement for the ideal vacation. If, however, you are looking for excellent service, you will definitely find it at this resort. Service was impeccable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dwirick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I really apreciate your honest review with the posiitive points and also the things that needs atention. We will be taking care of those points. Regarding your quetion about what do we do with the staff mentioned on the reviews. Every month we make a meeting with all the staff and here we always pick up 3 employees of the month: front, back and supervisor. To choose these people we consider various things, but one of the most important things is when they are constantly mention on Tripadvisor, like Ivonne. When they win this award, they recieve the price in front of all the staff and the reward is a monetary price apart from the public recognition.

We hope to see you very soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Having read a number of reviews on trip advisor prior to our trip jan.24 thru feb 2, i will say the hotel was noticebly adressing the concerns which we had read about. For example, they had workers on the beach shoveling seaweed from the beach from sun up till sun down, i actually felt really bad for those poor guys cause some days it was just a losing battle.
Also from the reviews, we knew to ask for the mattress topper too, which i dont think i could have taken without...literally felt like you were sleeping on a box spring alone without.
There were animals everywhere which i didn't mind but some poeple were complaining about, but this is through no fault of the hotels, guests insist on feeding them constantly i observed, one lady practicly had a racoon in her lap one morning..idiot!
I observed many guest with their own thermal mugs which i wish i would have thought of...would have been great for the beach.
The bar was occasionally a wait in the day, my husband and i were happy with the selection of corona on tap, mojitos, and captain and cokes.
My husband arranged a 2 day trip for us during our stay in which we rented a car and stayed over one night in a charming little city. i would highly recomend this we were able to visit Coba which was amazing, chitzen itza, 6 different cenotes, and akmel, which we never would have been able to do so much had we gone by tours only and it was a third of the price from what they were charging for the tours.
***BRING BUG SPRAY*** you will need it. and over pack on sunscreen, it costs a fortune there. Also it downpoured about 30 minutes at least every night, so pack a travel umbrella, it will be nice to have if you get caught in.
We loved that it was adults only and will never do anything other than, there was a huge hotel next door that was packed with screaming kids and every last square inch of their beach was covered with people, we would not have enjoyed.
Only complaint about hotel was that the food was not consistent, it was good one meal, horrible another. And i know this is terrible to say but my husband had a sneaking suspicion that the steak served one night at the buffett was re-served a different way the following day... but this is only speculation.
Overall we had an amazing vacation, the weather was beautiful and thats all we needed overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great resort. We stayed there from Jan 26-Feb 2. We loved everything about the resort. Nothing to say negative. We really loved the size of the resort. It was on the smaller size, very compact has everthing you need, but we Iiked how the pools were right beside the ocean and beach. It was the best of both worlds. You could take a dip in the pool or ocean it was all right there. Our room was right in the middle of everything which was great, not too much walking. The entertainment staff were awesome. Ricardo, the best!! Friendly, approachable, made everyone feel at home and having fun. All staff were great. Others include: Fernie, Amy, Amanda with the enteraintment and Vincente and Mary at the buffet.
Food: Great food and selection at the buffet. We also went to the Italian restaurant twice and loved it.
Room: Very nice and clean
Staff: Everywhere was very nice and helpful
Loved the adults only. We will definitly do that again
Grounds: Lovely and well maintained
This resort does not have a disco but I actually like what they did instead. Most resorts have a disco and you are either in the mood to continue partying and dancing or not. Well at Ocean Maya after the evening's entertainment show everyone spills out onto the courtyard and lobby bar the entertainment staff have music themes every night where the dancing continues in the courtyard. You can either sit and enjoy with a drink or take part in the dancing. I really liked how it was outside in the lovely caribean evening air rather than a dark stuffy disco.
As many have mentioned the beach is not the greatest. I found that that there were red flags up several days and people in general were not going in the water the other days. The water was murky. We are not beach walkers so that is not a problem for us. I like to take a dip in the ocean and the pool so the layout with both right together was perfect.
We went to Playa del Carmen 5th Avenue twice. We did not take the hotel shuttle as it was at 10am and we did not want to miss out on sun shine time at the beach. Instead we went around 5pm so we had a bit of daylight and then the evening energy. It is a MUST do. It was a 20 USD cab ride about 10 minutes. I could not believe how much fun it was. So many people, shopping, restaurants. Lots of tours to choose from in the area but one that is not so common is the half day trip to Akumal to snorkel with the giant sea turtles. Ask about this one. Very cool and worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jtournour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that you liked so much all about the Hotel. Thank you for the complements to the entertainment staff, the grounds and the fact that we are only adults. As you say, the beach is something we can not control, but we do our best to maintain it on the best conditions.

We hope you come back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My friend and I stayed here from Feb. 12th -19th, our holiday was more than we had hoped for. What made it particularly enjoyable was the totally hospitable and friendly, warm feeling we got from all of the staff. Because it is one of the smaller hotels everything is more personal and we both felt comfortable and part of everything right from the start. The staff were very professional and everyone we encountered made us feel like they cared very much about making our stay a terrific one, and it was! The food was excellent and an extensive variety to choose from. The rooms were fresh, clean, spacious and beautiful. Our balcony was near the pool and ocean, we were in villa #36 and it was great. Room 3605. A fantastic saxaphone player played each night in the main courtyard and it was so enjoyable on a warm night to sit outside with a drink and listen to the music. I had a massage by the beach and it was one of the best I have had. There were two pools which was nice, a smaller one with a swim up bar and music and one just down from it which was larger and quieter in case you didn't want to have all the action around you. The best coconut ice cream EVER.
We liked that it was adult only as everything was geared towards us, a nice change.
There were games around the pool with the bar each afternoon if you wanted to partake. You could put your beach chair by the pool, on the sand, and even off by yourselves for a quieter day. The beach was small but the bottom was sandy and the swimming good. We walked a few hundred yards and swam at the neighbours beach a couple of times but the bottom was much nice at our own. Drinks were excellent and the food abundant. In the morning you can get cappuccino or lattes at the bar in the lobby, each morning we were warmly greeted with a big smile by Ignacio, we loved him. Quiet at night for sleeping. If you have any questions or to confirm what you would like e-mail Maria Lopez before you do, she will get right back to you and is a fantastic help. An absolutely perfect holiday at a perfect place. Thank you so much to all of the staff.

Room Tip: We were in villa #36, room 3605 and loved it. Right by the pool and an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12talbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It is really great to read that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel. Thank you for all the comments about the Hotel and the staff. Thank you for writing my name on the review, as you mention, I am really pleased to help anyone that writes to me before arriving to the Hotel.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We decided it was time for an all adult vacay and were not dissapointed at all! We were a group of 16 most of us had never been to mexico so were a bit uneasy. Once on the resort we quickly realized we were in great hands at this resort. Every detail the staff were sure to take care of us . I have nothing negatve to say from the activities/entertainment staff,bar staff and servers,front desk and grounds this resort was awesome!! Do bring bug spray no everyone got bites mosiquto but those who did were in rough shape wouldnt hurt to have an antihistimine just in case. Go have fun enjoy the drinks food and attention you will reciev.Thanks Ocean Maya for a wonderful vacation!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pardyx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am really happy to read that you and your group of 16 had a wonderful time at the Resort. Thank you also for all the good comments, we a great staff that works everyday to make this a wonderful holiday spot.

We hope to see you all soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Amy, Ricardo, and many of the entertainment staff were wonderful. They went out of their way to make me feel at home. Funny, beautiful people!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sunneydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Alejandro G, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. Thank you in the name of the entertainment, they do work hard everyday to make our guest´s holidays a wonderful time.

We hope you come back soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,280 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,650 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing